Ratings based on 2,397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa

Spend $50 and get a place next to inner harbour

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Its cheap compared to other places, but still would rather spend some more more money for a better place
Entire place smells like an old carpet. Bed and pillows are very uncomfortable.Free breakfast i had was the most disgusting that I had in a while
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel in Baltimore.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Great location. Excellent service. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel closet to where we were visiting

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Parking under building
Cons: Improve the breakfast
Hotel was clean, room service was friendly Food at cafe was disappointing. We had free breakfast which came with our reservation. However, it was the same food service to other reservations also. We were there during there mid morning serve. Scrambled eggs were ok, potatoes puffs were cold, very small sausage pattie and they gave you one (I asked for a second pattie and they complied. Then there were no rolls or bagels in basket, I asked for one and they told me they only fill basket once... It was mid morning and other people were still coming in........really!! I would stay again but they should not offer such a terrible breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ball Game Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location to Camden Yards and price
Cons: Fix TV remote.
Location: Right on the fringes of the shady part of Baltimore, but was safe area while we were there.
Hotel was nothing spectacular, but served its purpose. No remote for TV was annoying. Breakfast was ok, but ran out of some cereal for my son...Housekeeping cleaned our room while at breakfast and didn't leave more towels. We Showered after breakfast, and this left us with no fresh towels for later. Nothing critical, but was a bit annoying as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Ok for the cost

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: I only really liked the so so breakfast
Cons: The hotel needs a huge upgrade and they need to start with the beds...extremely HARD!!!
Location: It is a short walk to the inner harbor site but the walk back is up hill..so be prepared for a hike back.
The hotel looks old and needs an update. The bed was like laying on a piece of ply wood. The free breakfast in the morning was so so (eggs, tater tots, sausage patties, and grits...you got toast and/or bagel and yogurt, coffee, tea, and juice) The breakfast staff was extremely friendly & nice. Asked for towels around 7:30, as they did not return with them when cleaning the room, and it took almost an hour to get them. The garage at $15 a night was extremely small and I could barely park my Toyota Corolla. For the price you pay for the room, it was ok due to it was close to my destination for staying in Baltimore. However, I think next time, I will spend a little more money and stay in a more reputable place even closer to my destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance from Inner Harbor

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Enjoyed the stay. Staff was helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was nice.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Do not use EXPEDIA. They do not honor their "low price gaurantee" as advertised at point of purchase
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, MD

Location and Affordability

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Proximity and the hotel staff
Cons: Attention to the small details in maintenance and sprucing up.
Location: Just north of the inner harbor (within a 15-20 walk). Less than 10 minute walk to a variety of restaurants. Quick access to main routes.
In looking for a hotel with affordable rates and on short notice, I came across the Mt. Vernon Hotel. After reviewing other reviews I booked the hotel and am glad I did. There was room availability, it was close to where I needed to be for a conference (I walked), and while limited there was off street parking available (if you are going to park and need to be able to go in and out with your car it is priced reasonably). While the hotel is showing its age in spots, it was clean, otherwise well kept, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was good and there was plenty of seating room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Clean, Welcoming, and Inexpensive

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: -Amazing staff, super friendly and welcoming. -Very spacious rooms that are exceptionally clean. -Very affordable.
Cons: -The complimentary breakfast was less then spectacular. -Rooms lack a mini-fridge.
Came down from NYC in August with some college buddies to spend a few days in Baltimore and check out one of the conventions at the Baltimore Convention Center. We planned this trip last minute and honestly opted to pick the Mt. Vernon due to financial constraints; I admit we were a tad hesitant due to the average reviews and distance to the Inner Harbor, but wow were we pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the rooms were large and very clean, and a constant supply of taxis passing the hotel made traveling very easy. Overall, my college friends and I were very impressed with the Mt. Vernon and it definitely deserves a better rating then it currently has.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, CA

Downtown BWI

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Consistency with room cleaning
Location: Waterfront, Edgar Allen Poe house, museums, Ft. McHenry, Star Spangled Banner house
Experience was good overall. Only reason it was not rated higher was because the room was not cleaned 2 of the 4 days we were there (notified staff on the first occurrence and the room still wasn't cleaned on the 2nd day). The free breakfast was actually pretty good - very cheerful server. Good mid-range hotel more or less in the center of the downtown attractions.