Ratings based on 1,446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Not That Great! Getting Too old and Stinky

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Buffet breakfast at Keg always good..
Cons: Update rooms add air conditioning, remove some furniture in rooms , improve ventilation of rooms, rooms are way to hot both summer and winter.
Location: Location is good, short walk downtown, or to walking paths etc...
Found rooms are run down and not well maintained, too hot, no air conditioning or air flow, too much furniture in room making it congested, too many sheets and covers for conditions, too expensive for what you get,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Meh, if you aren't expecting much, it'll do

Posted Jun 18, 2015
The staff are wonderful, I feel guilty saying I wouldn't recommend the Hotel to others because they are the best thing about the Caribou Lodge. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. The facilities feel like someone put a new veneer on an aging and outdated structure. Elevators are slow. While I used the tub, the shower knob came off [I didn't even touch it] and the shower started spraying my towel and clothes. Yay. Only one mirror, the one in the cramped bathroom and I couldn't see myself below the waist, you can't back up far enough to use it to check you whole appearance. There is only heat, no AC, and it wouldn't let me turn on a fan to circulate air without turning on the heat; only one window opens, about 12 inches and provided no real exchange of air. I could go on, but what would be the point? It was disappointing overall. Great staff though, as good as the best anywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Jun 17, 2015
The hotel is well situated to town without being in the middle of it. The lobby had the lodge feel we were hoping for and the hot pool was a great way to relax after a day of hiking and sightseeing. The staff were friendly and helpful, the wifi connection was very good. The room was a little crowded because of all the furnishings and there is no individual temperature control for the room. The thermostat says "heat only", but the heat had been turned off to the hotel for the season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed sleeping with the balcony door open.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Cons: Bedding ....ie sheets are getting old
I usually find hotel rooms to be terribly stuffy. The hot pool was lovely, hot and large.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Quiet and relaxing. Close enough to walk downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2015
My daughter and I decided to do a last minute get away, and the Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa was perfect! Still right on Banff Avenue, but a little further away from the really busy part of the strip. So it was an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants, but a little quieter for when we were ready to retreat back to our hotel. Every staff member from beginning to end was very courteous and friendly, including on the phone, cleaning, and the room service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcactle ont.

Posted May 29, 2015
Very noisy room. Alot of outside noise being over receiving doors. Tv in room did not work. When they came to fix it said it couldn't be fixed. Did not replace. When told by front desk. Too bad not their problem it was Shaws problem. Not really impressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta

Change the bathroom lighting!

Posted May 28, 2015
Second time I've stayed here and the bathroom lighting is atrocious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,AB

good location, wi-fi is not great.

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was great. smiling and very helpful and pleasent.
Cons: realy need to get a better wi-fi.
Location: very easy to get around.
Good location easy to get around, loved all the vintage pictures in the hallway. Made a point to walk to my room in different way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Nice hotel close to downtown Banff, delicious Keg!

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: Screen doors fixed, a deal with the Keg to eat there
Location: Hot springs, downtown shops
This our second time staying here and I would recommend it to all my friends and family.myou must have a balcony to get the views. The only complaint would be we didn't have a screen door going out to the balcony so couldn't leave door open while sleeping.