Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

for one night = okay

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: rooms were too warm
Location: Banff, Gondola, Lake Louise, Lake Mouraine, Canmore, hiking, shopping
nice guets, good breakfast, free parking and free WiFi
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unchanged in 40 years

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing much has changed here since I last visited in 1974
See my comments below. The room was very hot, which must be a blessing in winter, but even with 2 fans going it remained stuffy through the night.
3 out of 5
by ExperiencedTrvl from Edmonton AB

Location is good & price is low

Posted Jun 21, 2014
We booked this place by mistake as it's name is very close to Banff International Hotel. The Hostel is fit for students who have limited budget. We were surprised that they don't provide any room amenities, even no soap、shampoo or towers. Parking is limited and required skill. Breakfast is for free. The room is clean and have a good view. It's also close to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from winnipeg

Kinda cool cause it 's near downtown

Posted May 3, 2014
I got a private room so it was quite comfy. Internet connection is poor though. And I did not enjoy the free breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Yashasvi Purwar from Banff

Cold room

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed just for one night and felt room was cold and not adequate blankets were provided.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Shannon from Calgary, AB

Great for a group

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed, good location, well-priced, friendly staff.
Cons: Room was very cold. Perhaps a towel service -- nowhere to dry your hands in the lavatories.
Location: Outdoor paradise -- summer/winter sports, some nightlife.
We were looking for a place to stay the night in Banff that wouldn't break the bank. Although we consider ourselves a little bit outside the typical hostel demographic (ok, we're getting old), we thought we'd give it a try. The room was clean (if a little cold) and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and it was a nice, quiet stay. All in all, we quite enjoyed it. The hostel would be absolutely excellent for budget-conscious packs of young travellers, and the atmosphere in the common areas in the morning was very social: a great opportunity to meet people and make friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good location and quiet enough for sleeping

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was traveling / on skiing holiday and the location is good for that. Ski bus stops are nearby and it's not too far away from the city center. Staff was mostly nice and the rooms were clean. I liked the atmosphere of a small hostel here. I think the fact that they haven´t got a bar is only good and you can sleep at night without too much noise around. I would recommend this to anyone traveling with a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Callum from Alberta

Favourite hostel in Banff

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Always great value for money, clean, free breakfast and good wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jeff from Calgary

Great value

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall this was a great stay , rooms were clean , great place to meet people especially when travelling alone , finding someone to ski/ board with was easy . One of the better hostels I've stayed in .. Rooms were large and pleasant to stay in even with 8 beds , 10 minute walk to bars and restaurants.. One thing they could incorporate as some other hostels have is a hot tub .. Great people !! Great stay !! Great value !! And continental breakfast !! Highly recommended for people travelling alone or in two's anymore than 2 you might want to split on hotel room instead for the value only