Ratings based on 1,230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Outdated hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The location and large room size.
Cons: The whole place needs an update.
Location: It is on a quiet side street in Banff - perfect location.
I arrived at the hotel 8 months pregnant and they gave me the worst room in the place - next to the elevator and main lobby. I did ask to be moved and they did move me which was good but wish they hadn't put me in a bad room to start with. The hotel is in a great location but the rooms and facilities are really dated and there a scratches, pulls, and stains on some of the furniture.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom griffen

I booked king bed but it was 2queen bed .

Posted May 1, 2015
I booked king bed but it was 2queen bed . No view just wall. But spa excellent !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and great location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Had a wonderful stay! Enjoyed the great location close to shopping and restaurants ! We enjoyed the balcony and the views will definitely come back !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Drumheller

Location, location, location and great hotel.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Clean and friendly best way to describe the place. Resent upgrades and well maintained facility make for an enjoyable stay.
Cons: Not a thing. We reviewed another hotel inn (of) Banff that made us realize how much we appreciate BPL.
Location: Close to downtown shopping and nightlife. Short drive or long walk to some of the other museum areas and the gondola
Love the Banff Park Lodge (BPL) for its location. Close to downtown with its shops and night life. The staff are very attentive and help as much as they can. We need some wine glasses and they made sure we got some. Its just a couple of blocks to Wild Bill's where we went to see The Brent Lee Band. They are a great country band that also does old rock and some original songs. Great place to dance and have a great time. Only 1.6 kms to the Cave and Basin Centre which is the location of the original hot spring that started the park. Great trails and interpretive signage make it a enjoyable family area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pleasant hotel with friendly staff in beautiful Banff in the Rockies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 台灣

Posted Apr 26, 2015
很乾淨,離市中心很近。從 Calgary 機場過去有數家 Shuttle 可訂(要付費,每人大約 50-60 加幣)。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
They want you to pay for everything including wifi and bathrobes for the pool. They will only give you one pack of coffee in your room.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom G

Outdated and Overpriced

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Although the website photos look great, the hotel is outdated. Bed linens are frayed, chairs are worn and the bathrooms were likely nice 15 years ago. Funky smells in the halls and stairways. *the pool area is very nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Close to downtown Banff

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location Friendly staff
Cons: Minor detail:maybe lighten up the colour scheme.But then again,I imagine the dark colours add to make a cozy atmosphere during the cold winter mos.
Location: Easily walkable (less than 10 mins) to downtown Banff.
Banff Park Lodge is in a great location. It was easily walkable to downtown Banff. I only stayed for the night and since the weather was great, I didn't really spend a lot of time in this hotel. I was mostly out and about. What I did experience is very helpful and friendly staff (like getting directions from the front desk) and an easy check-in/check-out experience. I went on a not-so-busy day (weekday, and ski-snowboard season dying down) so it wasn't overly crowded. I think there was a conference happening. But since there seemed to be vacancies, it was fine. I enjoyed my stay. Would definitely recommend to others.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AB Canada

I won't be staying here again!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Walking in to the banff lodge hotel can be extremely misleading. One first impression by looking, you assume that it's going to be a comfortable space with modern rooms. Think again. Our first bad experience was with one young girl at the check in desk. She was extremely rude and unprofessional in her manner. There was a mix up with the rooms that we booked, we didn't end up getting the rooms that we had expected and the other couple traveling with us ended up staying in the different wing! She was incapable of solving the problem presented to her, we left feeling disappointed with the service we'd just received. When you finally arrive at your room, you are once again disappointed. You look like you have just been transported back to the 90's. Green carpet with stains on it, a couch once again with stains (I would not even touch that thing), the comforter with holes in it. Then the bathroom. Firstly, it's so small you have to squeeze round the door just to use the toilet. The tiled floor looks like old swimming pool tile, the shower is so short (good luck anyone over 6 feet) and there's water damaged celling tiles. The next disappointment comes with the parking. In a hotel that charges for parking, you expect there to be a parking spot. There wasn't, on two separate occasions, no parking space. Lastly is the internet. It's 2015 and they are still charging for Internet! I reccomend staying somewhere else!