Ratings based on 916 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Close to everything!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: How close it was to downtown and the rustic look.
Location: It was close to all the restaurants and shops. There was lots to do. The gondola lift, the hot springs, eating beaver tails!
The room and parking were great. Because our visit was in April there wasn't enough people to prepare a buffet, instead we could order whatever we wanted and in any quantity for our complimentary breakfast, the server was very friendly and didn't mind chatting when we had questions about Banff. Great Experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sherwood Park, AB

Banff Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: A little difficult to maneuver within the hotel hallways and elevators.
Location: Location is great as it is a 2 minute walk to downtown Banff with all the shopping and restaurants.
The hotel is in a great location really close to downtown Banff and all the shops and restaurants and night life.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta

Within walking distance to downtown

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Hot buffet breakfast included with our stay, but restaurant couldn't accommodate all the guests, long line, long wait.
Cons: Rooms need serious upgrading. Superior room didn't have a small fridge in it. Beds need new mattresses.
Location: At the edge of downtown but within walking distance to grocery store, shopping and restaurants.
A bit disappointing and won't stay there again until the hotel rooms are upgraded.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stratford ON

Construction Noise Beside Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Close to Banff Townsite
Cons: Warn anyone booking that daily construction is happening beside this hotel and there WILL be noise starting at 7am!
We were very disappointed when we cheked in and found loud construction noise outside our room window. There was no mention of this when we booked. We were looking forward to a nice quiett relaxing stay in the mountains. Staff tried to relocate us to other rooms but it wasn't possible to get away from the noise. Very Disappointing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Needs some upgrades, but overall, very good value.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The service was great. Super hot breakfast and they didn't skimp on the quality. Very good meal. Very helpful staff.
Cons: The hotel needs upgrading such as new comforters, shower curtains and the bed I slept on slumped in the middle.
Location: Excellent location and central in Banff. Easy access to all restaurants. You can park the car and walk anywhere.
The rooms were dated and need some upgrades, but the location, hot breakfast, and underground parking was very convenient. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Pet Friendly!!!!!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Pet Friendly, breakfast included
Cons: Cleanliness along the base of the bed on the floor could be improved. Unfortunately, my dog found many little treasures under there including plastic
Location: EXCELLENT location
Because we were bringing our dog, I wanted a pet friendly hotel. Hard to find!! I was very happy we stayed at the Ptarmigan. It has been one of our favorite hotels in Banff. And to see how they include animals by providing a nice bed, water bowl AND a toy, was amazing!!! Definitely returning in the future especially knowing we can bring along our dog.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Short Walk to shopping / restaurants

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Location, free Wi-Fi, free parking and appearance, grocery around corner
Cons: Fix the heating system
Location: Three ski areas in the area, Bow river falls, Mt vista views in every direction
Location is very convenient to central Banff. Adequate indoor parking was free. Wi-Fi was also no charge and except for early evening when everyone was on line it was very accessible. The hot breakfast was certainly better than cold cereal but when you stay a week you can always eat out at one of the fine restaurants. As we read in other reviews our room was very hot and we used a combination of an open window and fan (provided) to keep it comfortable. For skiers there is a waxing room downstairs adjacent to the ski lockers. Ski shuttle picks up at the front door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
For the price you pay I feel like the room could have been cleaner. The room are a bit dated. over all it was a comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Proximity to downtown, quiet hours observed by hotel guests - but I guess that can change in an instant.
Cons: We could not get the room to cool down below 22 C with the heat off so we had to open the windows ! No exhaust fans in bathrooms :()
Location: All the restaurants you want within easy walking distance, natural hot springs just 5 minutes away by car. Saw a movie theater but didn't go in.
Everything was acceptable. Staff were competent and facility was clean, just a little tired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Stay was good. Enjoyed the breakfast. Walking distance to town was very convenient.