Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure how this hotel got a 3.5 rating

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: it was cheap
Cons: everything from top to bottom
Location: close to the main attractions of Canmore
The hotel used to be the Raddison, and is now the Coast Canmore. It is old, run down and in dire need of a reno. walls need to be painted/repaired, the flooring need to be replaced...i was affraid to go barefoot, lights not working. House keeping came to clean my room & left me 'clean' towels, I noticed 2 towels that were given to me dirty. I went down to the front desk to inform them I wanted to return the dirty towels i was given, and got a response of 'ewww'., nothing more was done about the matter. Front desk staff didnt awknowledge me when you entered the hotel, it wasnt many guests during our visit...and i can see why. This is far from a 3.5 star...rather a 1.5 at the very most.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of the mountains!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Very nice hotel! Comfortable and also has a great restaurant! Just be aware that not all rooms have mini fridges in them to store food items in, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dundurn

one night in Canmore

Posted Oct 27, 2014
the room was okay, a bit on the musty smelling side. It would have been nice to know at booking time that the hottub was down for renovations, as we went to hang out and spend an evening in Canmore and then onto Banff the next day. Hottub would have been great aftetr 9 1/2 hours in the car.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

This was the worst I ever stayed.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Earlier this hotel was with Radisson group. This was very professional at that time. But now Coast has taken over and providing worst service.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Disappointing -- Never again!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Room cleanliness. Rooms, you can here everyone.
Location: Good location. Close to downtown.
Hotel terrible. Private patio? More like a cement pad with no chairs. Mountain view? Parking lot and trees. Room wasn't the cleanest. But beds were comfortable. Three times front desk came to say we were too loud but We were barley talking? Are the walls that paper thin? Fridge turned off and musty smell? Renovations so power was off but Didn't turn the fridges back on? Gross. Not impressed. Not worth my money for a weekend in the mountains.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta

Barely mediocre

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel was being renovated, but we were noy aware of that before we made reservations. Also, it would have been nice to know the hot tub was not working either, as thats something we look forward to at hotels. All in all,the hotel itself was just mediocre. The service in the restaurant was terrible, even when they werent busy.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Under Major Renovations

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: I should not have to fight this hard to have my money returned to me. The hotel should have to disclose that they are renovating.
Location: Hiking
The whole hotel is under major renovations, they are rewiring and redecorating. Rugs ripped out, concrete floors in the lobby. The elevator sensors kept malfunctioning due to construction dust. The hot tub is out of order. Our room was okay. I had to request light bulbs for two of the side table lamps as they were burned out. The toilet had a loose seat. The rooms had the smallest shampoo bottles I have ever seen (about an fluid oz). Had to request more. Minimal coffee supplies in the room. The staff were helpful in responding to my requests. They recommended Elevation Place for swimming and hot tub but I did not want to have to pay another 30 dollars to sit in a hot tub. The worst thing that happened was that the hotel charged my VISA a damage deposit and for two additional nights accommodations. Although I complained right away that I had prepaid I am still waiting for the hotel to reimburse me. The delay is apparently due to the long weekend. The manager was apologetic but I'm still waiting! Getting charged again defeats the purpose of booking with expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds uk

Could have been better.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Location: The location was great just opposite A&W.
Although check in wasn't until 4 pm, our room was ready when we arrived in the morning which was great as we wanted to drop our bags before driving to Banff. After a busy day in Banff we returned to the hotel looking forward to a swim and a dip in the hot-tub. On arrival we saw a note on the door leading to the pool & gym building stating that the hot tub was closed due to maintenance. Huge disappointment. Nothing was mentioned at the time of booking if it had we may have booked somewhere else. Later we went to the restaurant and although it seemed fairly quiet we were asked to wait in the lounge so a table could be sorted for our party of 6. The drinks menu listed draught beer, when my uncle asked if he could try one of the selection; the bar man informed him that there was no draught beer on tap. We then decided to leave and eat somewhere else. The receptionist directed us towards the Rose and Crown, pub and restaurant which was excellent. I would recommend it to any brit living in Canada missing home traditional English food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK if nothing else is available

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor Restaurant did not offer much for breakfast options on a Saturday morning. Very light buffet only, no full service in a full service place.
Location: Near Banff
Very noisy neighbours, could hear them talking quite loudly for some time. Hotel did step up and ask them to keep it down. Hallway carpets were very stained throughout the main floor. Decor is a bit dated now.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Disappointing for Coast Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location to downtown Canmore was good.
Cons: Needs a major over haul.
Location: Hiking
Hallway carpet was extremely stained and dirty. Dishes sat on floor in hallway all day and over night. Beds were very hard with faulty Sleep remotes. Rooms were not well cared for...went to plug a phone charger in and the dust behind the night stand was thick!! We had 2 queen beds and one had a bed skirt for a king and it was laying on the floor and was extremely wrinkled or had been stepped on for weeks. When I mentioned this to the hotel staff in the morning she said "I know isn't it bad!". She told me it changed ownership and changes were coming soon. However, I felt it was way over priced. We decided to spend a bit more this weekend and booked a high end room!!!