Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong, Austra

Rustic but oozes character

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: It's' character, very relaxing.
Cons: It's' basicness is it's character so no need to change anything.
Location: Best location, walk to Lake Louise and Fairmont hotel..take a photo from the entry point of the restaurant looking out of the arched window..fantastic
Great location. Tiny very basic rooms and bathroom but lounge area and restaurant are fantastic, food is excellent and reasonably priced. Rooms don't have TV but you don't miss it. This place is full of character and very relaxing. Would stay there again definitely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong, Austra

Rustic but oozes character

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: It's' character, very relaxing.
Cons: It's' basicness is it's character so no need to change anything.
Location: Best location, walk to Lake Louise and Fairmont hotel..take a photo from the entry point of the restaurant looking out of the arched window..fantastic
Great location. Tiny very basic rooms and bathroom but lounge area and restaurant are fantastic, food is excellent and reasonably priced. Rooms don't have TV but you don't miss it. This place is full of character and very relaxing. Would stay there again definitely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, ok place

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Hard to see how, because it's "charm" is in its age, but because it was quite full this was hard to appreciate.
We were only here one night. The place was ok - clean room, and very close to the lake. It was pretty tired, and felt dark. The food was over priced, though the room rate wasn't too bad. One of the most disappointing of the 8 hotels we stayed in on our trip, but it suffered in comparison to some much newer places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Problems at Deer Lodge

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Large common areas for sitting in the evening, a requirement as the rooms are so small you do not want to spend time there except to sleep.
Cons: Service in the restaurant and better serviced morning coffee/tea facilities.
Location: Within walking distance of Lake Louise and not far from beautiful Moraine Lake
The facilities at this hotel were ok. It is different but adequate. However, it's proximity to Lake Louise doesn't compensate for its deficiencies. We would have liked a table lamp between the beds and the provision of face cloths in the bathroom that is the norm for hotels on this continent. Though we were checked in by welcoming staff, after that the level of service was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Australia

Small Room, great character

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Our room was tiny but functional. The common areas of the hotel are full of character and remind me of a comfortable English pub. Great value, considering it's expensive neighbour!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One Night Stay at Deer Lodge by Lake Louise

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Very clean and well kept.
Cons: For the price of the room, at least some form of continental breakfast should be included.
Stayed at the Deer Lodge as it was close to an event that was hosted at the The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. I only stayed for one night, so I did not get to experience all of the amenities. The stay was pleasant and enjoyable as far as the room goes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint older lodge with killer views.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Setting, views, staff.
Cons: The exterior needs a little sprucing up, although the winter must take it's toll on the siding and roof.
Location: Great local hiking. Hike to the Agnes Tea house, Larch Valley and Valley of the Ten Peaks from nearby Moraine Lake, but arrive early for parking.
My daughter and I just returned from a hiking trip in the Canadian Rockies. We very much enjoyed our stay at Deer Lodge and found the accomodations charming. It is set back somewhat from the Lake, but a short walk will take you to amazing views. We stayed in one of the newer rooms and found it very comfortable. We loved the roof top hot tub with killer views of the glacier and surrounding mountains. The staff was very accommodating, even faxing an important document for us to the US. We ate several times in the casual and formal dining room and found the food and staff to be delightful. The nearby Fairmont just doesn't feel right in this pristine setting as it is way too big, formal, and pretentious. We were very glad to be staying at the quaint Deer Lodge and would definitely return to it's old world charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from WP, CO

Charming but......

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The location and turn of the century charm was delightful.
Cons: A thorough cleaning of the entire place and then better management of the staff to keep it that way.
Location: A 4 minute walk to Lake Louise to enjoy its splendor early in the morning or in the evening without the crowds. Canoe, hike, or sit quietly and enjoy
I loved the charm of this hotel and was completely happy with the room decor and bathroom although there was nothing grand about it for the price, $350/night. They have a wonderful rooftop hot tub with a view of the Lake Louise glacier, fantastic. We enjoyed the balcony and the view and the sound of the river. The common areas of the hotel had a turn of the century style we found pleasing and we had two very good meals, one in the lounge and one in the dining room. However, that said, somebody with a clue needs to take charge of the hotel operations. The servers were nice but poorly trained, every time I went to the Lady Agnes room for morning coffee they were out of coffee and one time even out of cups. The level of cleanliness in the halls and common areas was poor. The same trash, dead flies and paper in the stairway window I saw on the first day was still there on the third. The room cleanliness was better but suspect. I gave an overall score of pleasing because I loved the hotels charm. It doesn't deserve that rating based on the condition and cleanliness. Please take better care of the place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming lodge however room was not what Internet

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: See above
I loved this historic charming lodge. I loved the rooftop hot tub However the rooms depicted on the internet did not show my room. I was shocked. It was so small, one plug, no lights by bed. The room was so small with water dripping in the sink & bathtub I don't know whether these rooms are saved for Expedia clients!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara. CA

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Room was very small, bathroom door would not close. We were at the end of the hall and heard people tramping up the stairs all night. Plus outside our window, on the ground floor was the smoking area. Had to close the window to breath. Did have a fabulous dinner in your dining room. But the second night we ate in the bar area. There is room for much improvement in that area. Staff were all over the place. One waitress didn't have a clue about her duties. While refilling a water glass half of the water landed on the table.She did not clean it up.