Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgetown ON

Great value if you are prepared for rustic

Posted Apr 6, 2015
It is expensive for food and accommodation in any national park. Deer Lodge offers great value, friendly staff, great food and is only a few minutes easy walk to the shore of Lake Louise and opulence of the Fairmont Lake Louise and its amenities (eg shopping). Rooms are small with no TV or a/c, but you're not here to hide in your room! There are many "public" areas to cozy up with a book, we enjoyed the lounge with fireplace, big armchairs, mounted Buffalo head and historic photos. Food was good/good value and staff friendly and helpful. Room was warm and rads banged a bit, we just opened the window and enjoyed the fresh mountain air! Really enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The room didn't have TV, mini-fridge, no trash can in the washroom, no phone, and shower didn't work properly..
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Not worth this price

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Much worse than on pictures, staff not helpful. I expected much more for this price. Not recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Old style hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Location and dining experience
Cons: Soundproof rooms, don't overheat the building, update faucets
Location: Situated right at Lake Louise so it's close to great skiing, great hikes and impressive scenery
We stayed as a couple for a night, had a great dinner at the restaurant. Room was too warm and we had to keep the windows open all night to cool it enough (outside temperature was -5 degrees celsius). Floors are creaky and you can hear anybody walking by or above you so a good rest depends on how noisy other guests are. We would not recommend the Deer Lodge for an extended stay but one night or two is ok. Short walk to Lake Louise and room rates are quite a bit lower than the adjacent Chateau Lake Louise, still a bit high considering how basic our room was.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: Cleanliness.
Very nice staff and great hot tub, but room was not very clean. Carpet needed vacuuming, moldy shower curtain and rod, dusty blinds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Que.

Very well located, a few steps from Lake Louise

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Food and service are great !!
Cons: A small fridge should be added to the rooms.
Location: Lake Louise ski hill is located 5 minutes away. Banff is +/- 30-40 minutes away.
Really enjoyed our stay at the Deer Lodge. Very quiet and rustic Lodge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Easy to find off the highway. Thought this place would be in much better condition than it was. I used the hairdryer in our room for about 5 minutes and it tripped all the lights and wall sockets. Luckily we only needed to stay there for 1 night. There are definitely better options out there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely different hotel from one room to another

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Bed, Decorations, Location
Cons: Some rooms are absolutely unsuitable due to proximity to lounge and loud areas. Avoid "Tower" rooms at all costs! They should strive for consistency.
I booked a room for a single night with my wife. I'm 26 and from Edmonton, Alberta and have visited Banff, Jasper, etc. MANY times ever since I was a child, so I have a good idea of what the standards are and what to expect from accommodation in these areas. I chose this hotel because of the location, star rating, and historic character. Paid just over $200 for the one night. I read lots of reviews ahead of time, and this hotel confused me based on some very positive reviews and some very negative... and now I understand why. The room class I booked placed us in "The Tower" which is, I suppose, part of the original 1920s structure. The rooms here are directly above the lounge area where very large and loud groups socialize (after the hot tub is closed at 10 or 11pm). It sounded like they were right outside the door. We tried to sleep for two hours until I finally realized that these people were not going to bed any time soon. I called the front desk and asked if that area closes at a certain time and he said it's open all night, but he'd ask someone to see if they could quiet them down--I knew this wouldn't have any effect. I asked for another room and he at first tried to give me the run around, saying no other rooms of that class were open, to which I responded saying he will give me a higher class room then, unless he things spending $200 for one night and not being able to sleep is reasonable. We got a room on the other side of the hotel. Completely different and better
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lake Louise

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pro's: Location is good, hotel has older charm, food is good, rooftop hot tub is awesome! We got a premium room and it was good, beds were super comfy. Con's: Balcony door kept sticking, our neighbours decided to throw a party at 1am. Reception guy apologized but didn't really know what to say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel close to the Chateau and Lake Louise

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Location is great. Quaint with character.
Location: Location is perfect. Close to the Chateau and Lake Louise. Skating, hiking, dog sledding, skiing, etc.
Quaint and cute hotel. Comfortable beds however, the walls are not very sound proof so bring ear plugs if you want to sleep in!