Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, but somewhat dated already

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Staff were super friendly in getting us anything we needed, two thumbs up for that. Wood fireplace was lots of fun and kept us warm.
Cons: The rooms/units are a bit old, windows don't insulate very well (nasty draft), it could do with a renovation.
Was there with Family, total of 6 people, 4 adults and 2 kids. Was very nice to see the wildlife walking through the parking lots, chopping my own wood was fun and we generally enjoyed ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Assen, Netherlands

Beautiful location with views.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
We have stayed at the Douglas Fir Hotel a few times and always enjoy the experience. The log burning fireplace is a bonus and the kitchen is useful for preparing meals. It is a nice place to come and stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Allen, LA

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Great Facility ! Great Staff ! No issues at all. All the conveniences were close if needed. Will be sure to stay there again on my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great family vacation spot.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
The staff is terrific and service is great. The hotel is not luxurious and perhaps a little dated, but they have been upgrading over the past year. It's well maintained and very clean, great for families with the water slides and play zone. Note that when we were there, the indoor hot tub next to the slides and the steam room were under construction. This makes the slide area a little more crowded. It looks like they are going to finish everything by mid December, though. The new outdoor hot tub area on the deck is really nicely done too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good family retreat.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Climbing wall at Banff Centre, main street in Banff
Room was clean, staff was friendly, some construction on kiddie pool and inside hot tub, but that has to happen sometime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

fun place for families

Posted Oct 18, 2014
we had a few restless nights from the wind howling down the fireplace and the pull out sofa was not comfy at all. the kitchenette had a broken door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Taiwan

Ok hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Its size
Cons: cleanness
Location: Need a car to drive to Banff downtown
Doesn't look that clean when we first walked in, and there are dust on the table.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Old favourite showing it's age

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Plenty of space, beds, the bus stop just outside are all pluses for DFR
Cons: Kitchen, curtains, carpet need to be updated
Location: It's Banff...lots of stuff to do if you like the outdoors.
This was the first time in 10 years I've stayed in the loft condos at the DFR. I don't think they have had much work done on them since then. It's mainly the kitchen that was disappointing...old, warped doors, elements on the stove that don't work, missing cooking utensils, banged up toaster, awkward electric plug to name most of the concerns. If you're expecting a sparkling new suite you may be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Torrance, CA

Nice comfortable for the price.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Kitchen, comfortable beds,
Cons: housekeeping and housekeeping staff
Location: there's a lot of things to do in Banff, from hiking, to boat cruises, etc.
the hotel was pretty nice and comfortable for the price. I would say we had a great time and the kitchen help us a lot so that we don't have to be eating out every day. Banff is kind of expensive for everything. I would recommend this hotel for a family that wants to have the comfort of a home. The only fall back we had is that the room was never cleaned during our 3 days stay. The second morning that we were there, the housekeeping people knock on our door and ask us if we want our room clean and we said yes and even gave them a $20 tip. We came home that night and nothing was clean. Even that trash was not taken out. Bed are not fixed and nothing has been clean. I complained to the front desk the next day on our way to check out and they were very apologetic and told us that we should have called that night. But besides that our stay was pretty cool and good.