Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Kids had lots fun at indoor play Hyoung and water slides. Out door hot tub is also great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We booked for our child's birthday, it was expensive but we thought it would be worth it. We where sadly wrong, when we arrived the hotel staff where not friendly and very snappy towards me. Our room was clean and the bathroom was nice, but the beds where rock hard. When we went to the water slides there was so much chlorine in the pool that it burnt our noses and left within 15 mins. If we where to spend this kind of money for a room again this would not be where we pick. Very disappointed, hotel staff where still rude upon check out and I still have to received my $50 visa charge back for nothing being damaged in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place for families with kids.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Rooms with everything you need. Wood burning fireplace. Water slide for kids. Playground for kids. Outdoor hot tub. Location. Views.
Cons: Internet, shuttles.
Location: Skiing, hiking.
We stayed there in April 2015. It is not center located resort which could be a pro or con depending on your priorities. Having a car would be strongly recommended. Otherwise keep in mind shuttles shcedules. Public transportation is not very thought through and developed like in other big resorts. The only problem was poor internet. Consider you don't have any reliable internet in the resort. (-1 star in my review).
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Devon, AB

Older units but had pool and play park for kids

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Room cleanliness was poor. I phoned front desk about cans left on top of cupboards and fireplace ashes not cleaned. They didn't offer any type of compensation. For the fun the kids had we overlooked these things. There are no other hotels in Banff that have the water park and play park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for kids....

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I really like this place, especially with kids....but please put a nice new white duvee on the beds. Not a thin comforter that looks like it is still there from the 70's. I get that they aren't going to put a lot into the rooms, but a nice, clean and new looking bed is a must. The bed itself is great, as are the sheets, but get with the times and get a white duvee with sheets covering it. Also, put 4 pillows on a bed like every other hotel in the western hemisphere. I asked for two more pillows, and they came back with one (apparently "all they had available")....crazy.... If they could do these things, it would be 5 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Erika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terryfrom Three Hills AB

Awesome family getaway!

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
This is possibly the best family hotel ever! The rooms have kitchens which also helps our family budget in a big way. We have come here for many years and have never been disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mathewfrom Alberta

Great Family Getaway

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice little family resort in the beautiful mountains. Pool area's are great for kids Older, but clean and well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcfrom Edmonton

Great stay at Douglas Fir

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Awesome 3 night stay with my wife and 4 year old daughter. The playroom is a great feature and very big for a hotel which is good. My daughter had a blast. Great pool area. Pool was too cold to really enjoy but the water slides area was fun. Would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Arnoldfrom Calgary

Nice Experience

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
We went here first time and was surprised to know that even the hotel was kindda old it was very clean. Rooms are really clean. The only thing is the staff on the swimming area and front desk are not so friendly/accomodating (except for the male front desk staff in the morning shift when we check out who is really nice). HK staffs were all friendly and nice. On the other hand, DFR provides everything from cooking pot to plates and utensils to dishwashing liquid so u dont need to worry. Overall it was a real good experience and my kids love it. will surely comeback on the summer.