Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Magical

Posted Aug 12, 2014
If you want an amazing view, there is no better. This place radiates romance. The walks are spectacular. A few negatives, in the summer it is busy with tourists. You hear them from morning until early evening. Skip the breakfast, far too busy and noisy. The formal dining room is great for a romantic dinner and the waiter really is superb, so knowledgable and professional whilst maintaining the right amount of charm. Not the place if you want complete solitude but once the tourists leave, Emerald Lake can be described as magical.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful lake in the wilderness

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The lake , and the scenery
Location: Walk around the lake an enjoy the stillness and amazing views
Highly recommend a stay here .. The rooms were fine and the fire was a treat which added to the atmosphere The food was fine and what a treat to have breakfast overlooking such a beautiful lake
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

A view alone isn't worth it.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The view was lovely - but you can drive to the lake and do the hike.
Cons: Per above, a thorough review of guest services and restaurants - introduce some managerial oversight.
Location: Surrounding area is a hiker and nature lovers delight.
We decided to stay at Emerald Lake Lodge as part of our tour of the Rockies. Given the price-point for this hotel ($400 per night), we had expected professional service, up to date accommodations and an overall good experience. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. A few issues: - Room floor wasn't vacuumed when we arrived (lint, threads and bits everywhere) - Filthy (browned) shower curtain - Unfinished renovation in the bathroom - Some exceptionally rude staff - Balcony table in the main lodge covered (the entire table) with mouse droppings three days in a row (not too pleasant when wanting to have a drink on the upper balcony - Food quality was not equivalent to the associated price-point (later in our trip we had dinner at the Terrace at Mission HIll - same price point and outstanding service and a wonderful meal) - Bar and restaurant staff are very young and not particularly well-trained - Seemed that there was no managerial oversight at the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chemainus bc

Interesting history lovely settings

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Main area beautiful , cabins starting to show age. Our bed needs replacing desperately the sleepy hollow
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

The Nightmare Hotel in Paradise

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything.
Location is a MUST see, but the Hotel is deplorable, have not painted or dusted since 1980. Creeky floors very noisy. Restaurant by the lake good food, but way overpriced, sample dinner Barbecue Chicken entree consisted of one piece of chicken, corn on the cob was substituted with 4 STRANDS of asparagus, and generous side of home fries, plus an appetizer portion order of brushetta topped with goat cheese and shrimp delicious, that with a $15 martini, not generously poured, and a seltzer with splash of Cranberry, (oops they used OJ) came to $80. Would not recommend staying here - caution, pictures on internet do not indicate the state of disrepair. Rustic with cap R. Not worth it folks. Visit and stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shawna from Calgary,Alberta

The scenery was spectacular.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The scenery and being able to canoe around the lake.
Cons: Parking of vehicles a little closer instead of having to get people to come and get us at 330 in the morning.
Location: We just stayed at the hotel and used the amenities there.
It was hard not to bring your own liquor in,everything was very expensive.The food was outstanding and compliments to the chef.We were on a tight schedule when we left and although we made arrangements to have a vehicle up to take us tio parking lot it was late so was late getting home.That was the only inconvience it would be nicer to have your vehicles closer.The staff was great and very helpful and room service was prompt.I enjoyed very much although it was a bit out of my price range but would do for a special occasion in the future..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arctic explorer from Iqaluit Nunavut

comfortable room with a beautiful view

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Peace and quiet and unbelievable scenery.
Cons: The lodge was too hot at times and there could be better air circulation in the games room.
Location: It is in a superb location with no other lodges and feels very private. It has lots of hiking trails and a nice hot tub.
Weather cooperated and we had two beautiful days of peace and tranquility. It was truly a spiritual experience. Service at dining room was good and food was good. Had good service having luggage delivered to room but there was some kind of problem on leaving and we had to bring our luggage across the bridge to the shuttle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were there for our 50th wedding anniversary,

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The setting and the location. The hot tub, firepit, canoeing and hiking is awesome.
Cons: The beds and mattresses.
We were a total of 11, and each were very disappointed with the service and some of the staff was very inefficient as we had to wait nearly 2 hours for our meal. The kitchen staff obvious spent too much time on fancy presentations rather than supplying a wholesome meal in a timely manner.,The rooms were very pleasing but its time to update the mattresses ....stone hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

amazing location on lakeside

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: everything, especially indivdiual rooms with open fires
Cons: Delivery of luggage direct to room
Truly magical even at end of winter with ice on lake and snow on hills