Ratings based on 976 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont Alberta

Great hotel. Can't beat the location.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location, price,very friendly.
Cons: Carpets in the rooms.
Location: It's right in the middle of everything. Even has a Tony Romas restaurant and bar. Had drinks at the bar, a little expensive but it is Banff.
Booked this last minute and got a great price. Free parking and wifi. Staff was excellent. Couldn't get the tv to work and there was no hair dryer in the bathroom. Called down to the desk and someone showed up to the room in less than five minutes. Hotel is right on the main strip. Read some reviews about the noise but we didn't hear anything. The only bad part was the carpets are very old and stained, maybe they will replace them in the near future. Would definitely go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Summer, never again ...winter, maybe

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Character, high ceilings (some rooms only) , friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Air conditioning and Wifi
Our stay began in a room with a king bed, window with a view of the roof top hvac unit and a window that didn't open...this was an issue since there was no AC or the AC didn't work. Our room was so warm and muggy that we asked for another room (our stay there was in July, but the outdoor temp was a cool 14C. I almost got the sense that since we booked through Expedia, we got the worst room in the hotel. Anyhow, on a positive note the front desk was very accommodating and moved us to another room. This room was much nicer...window view of The Banff strip, high ceilings and a ceiling fan. The windows in this room could be opened, which was critical for comfort since the AC didn't work in this room either. We left the windows open overnight which was fine until a party took to the street at some point around 2am - so much for a good night's sleep. One last problem is that WiFi was impossible to access except for a few hours early in the morning. Working AC or a stay in winter would have improved our experience significantly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No pool or fridge but good location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: fridge in room
Location: we enjoyed the nearby hikes and waterfalls and the hotsprings
We thought the room was nice but small and needed a fridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Celebrate Canada Day!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Downtown location, great for walking.
Location: Close to restaurants, shops, river walk, etc.
Convenient downtown location, with fireworks out the window on Canada Day. Crowds were rowdy pretty late. Helpful and friendly staff. It might be difficult for children to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto ontario

Perfect location

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Location location location!!! Also the man at counter was very nice. We arrived early and he accommodated us by letting us check in early.
Cons: Nothing it was a great stay
Location: Can walk anywhere. Shops, restaurants of all kinds, Starbucks, everything is right there.
Stayed 1 night in banff. Hotel is in perfect location - on Main Street close to everything. Nice sauna and whirl pool. Very nice rooms - so comfortable. Parking right out back. Restaurants right in lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Booked for 3 - Only 1 wash cloth. Noisy hallway. Front desk recommends Salt Lick restaurant (which was mediocre at best).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dil from calgary

excellent location n convenient for moving around

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: location, location and location
it was a decent hotel at heart of the city. very convenient to get buses, transits and bookings. lots of places to eat around n watch around
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Alberta

Close to downtown

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Downtown location.
Cons: Rooms need to be upgraded.
Right downtown and close to shops and dining. Free parking and easy walk to river trail system. Hotel is tired looking.
2 out of 5
by polonez from Seattle, WA

Average hotel, great location in Banff

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This hotel is outdated and looks worn out. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great, right in downtown Banff, walking distance to many restaurants and shops. If you spend most of the time outdoors, like I do, then this hotel might be good for you. But if you like staying inside, then it is not.
2 out of 5
by polonez from Seattle, WA

Average hotel, great location in Banff

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This hotel is outdated and looks worn out. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great, right in downtown Banff, walking distance to many restaurants and shops. If you spend most of the time outdoors, like I do, then this hotel might be good for you. But if you like staying inside, then it is not.