Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cochrane, alberta

Clean

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Very clean, comfortable beds and friendly staff. No complaints. Will bring my family here even though no pool, as the town rec center is walking distance as is everything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

2nd room was nicer than the first...

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We stayed two nights a week apart and the first room was pretty bare bones and the bed was uncomfortable. The second room was beautiful, clean, and spacious but 4 of the 6 light bulbs in the bathroom and adjacent "kitchen" area were burned out. The beds (RM 232) were very comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The price
Great value rooms clean, great location to the mountains
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

Disappointing stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Easy to find.
Cons: Front door night security. Coffee in room as it was not made until the desk clerk came in at 7 am.
Location: gas station train tracks and hwy.
Toilet dripped all night. Noise from hall and room above heard very clearly. Not staffed at night and no security for front door. No coffee in the room. Room decor very run down and old. Broken chair in room not safe for sitting on. Very disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Great for a stop-over in beautiful Canmore!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: We would recommend increasing the security of the door locks for the hotel room. Even just replacing them so they lock more easily would be great.
Location: We attended wedding, so we didn't do any sight-seeing, however everything is near by, it is extremely convenient.
We attended a wedding at the Cornerstone Theatre, and the Mountain View Inn was right beside it, so extremely convenient for us. The room was clean, the staff was friendly. A one-night stay was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Affordable for family and the room is spacious with two queen beds. Could easily add a cot if needed.
Close and convenient to many venues. However, the hotel is starting to show its age and could use some updates with regard to room carpets. Also, switches on lamps were missing on a couple units in our room. Pillows very soft. Would like to have option of one soft and one firmer pillow for choice. However, the mattresses were comfortable. We will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Its ok, one night stay is ok if not much else.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Easy to get to off the highway.
Cons: New mattresses would make a huge difference.
Location: Order pizza from construction pizza which was very good.
Bed was very uncomfortable which is the biggest negative for me. There is absolutely no sound proofing so I did not get a good nights rest as you can hear everything. Itwas affordable, but no frills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great value

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Price and proximity to downtown.
Cons: A general update to the decor.
Location: Elevation place is a short walk away as is downtown. Also the path that goes across the highway is easily accessible.
This hotel is conveniently located close to downtown and the highway. The path runs along the front of the hotel making it easy to walk to downtown and other places. This hotel isn't fancy and I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic getaway or girls vacation. If you need a place to "crash" for the night, this is your best bet. The staff was very friendly and the room and hotel in general were very clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Okay-ish place if you're on a budget

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The only good thing about this place was the location and price.
Cons: Decor, cleanliness, bed comfort, tv selection, maybe some wifi.............picture tube tv and no wifi? The 90's are over man.
I knew going in that this hotel had a 2 star rating, but we just needed somewhere to sleep that was close to the hospital as my wife had an early surgery. The room had an odor, and the toilet seemed to have been overlooked by the cleaning staff. The decor is out of 1991, the shower had barely any pressure and hot water (it was lukewarm on the hottest setting), and you get the bare minimum of amenities . If you are traveling through and need someplace just to sleep, or are on a budget and want a cheap room, then this place is good for you. If you have any sort of standards for cleanliness I'd suggest looking elswhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Spot For a Short Stay

Posted Mar 9, 2015
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mountain View Inn for one night. We weren't looking for anything fancy, just somewhere to stay after a day of dogsledding. The staff were kind enough to let us check in two hours early which was great. The room rate was great, especially for two queen beds. The rooms themselves have everything you need, but probably aren't going to win any Best Decor Awards. One thing to note, the room rates are low because they don't have cleaning staff come in every day. Just on check-out. So while the room was mostly tidy, I wouldn't call it clean. There was a used towel behind one of the desks (I don't want to know why it was there) and when we moved the beds together (for a superbed!) quite a bit of dust was kicked up. My girlfriend sneezed a lot while we were there. She doesn't really have any allergies so we attributed it to the dust. But these are small complaints for a budget hotel. Overall the stay was lovely, great location within walking distance of Canmore's main strip.