Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Penticton

Nice comfy hotel bed for long travels

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Conveniently located along Highway 1 in Canmore. Less expensive than Banff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was clean& Friendly staff

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Hotel was clean , rooms were a good size .. Highly recommend asking for rooms on opposite side as railway tracks . We were woke several times by the sounds of trains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We hope to be able to serve you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The hotel is a typical Ramada. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It is located next to the main CP Rail line, so trains go by every hour or so. The noise isn't too noticeable unless you open the window. There is a pool area with water slide but the water didn't seem too clean, so we avoided it. The breakfast buffet is available to guests for $6. It is average buffet food but convenient. There are several restaurants nearby. For $110/night, the hotel is a decent value for staying in the Canmore/Banff area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your latest stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and are happy to hear you found our hotel to offer a great value. We look forward to your next stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel and easy access

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, updated rooms
Cons: Complimentary breakfast rather than discounted breakfast.
Front desk staff were ok- not overly friendly but not horrible. We were given the impression that the breakfast was complimentary. When we arrived we found out we received a voucher for a discounted price ($6/breakfast for adults). Room was nicely updated and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that our front desk staff were not overly friendly. We will definitely look into it and we hope it will not deter you from staying with us again. We look forward to seeing you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Hotel too close to railway track

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: It was beside a good Indian restaurant; Spice Hut
Cons: Hotel staff could have been more helpful.
Our room was beside the railway track and it kept us up almost all night. It was to be a special celebration and so it was disappointed. The sheets on one of the bed did not looked changed. It was crumpled. The other bed was pressed and cleaned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loud near the train tracks

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean!
Cons: I think it should be a free breakfast, most places offer this but this hotel only lowered the price for you.
Location: We had to drive everywhere we went because there wasn't many stores or restaurants around.
When we were checking in we over heard them offering a free upgrade to the man in front of us to stay on the quiet side of the hotel (not near the train tracks). We were told we couldn't have that but if it was bad during our sleep they would move us. I was there on my first trip away from my son to have a good sleep and a relaxing visit and the sleep part did not happen. The train definitely woke me up multiple times and I was not about to move rooms in the middle of the night. I think if they have rooms available on the quiet side they should offer them to all the people staying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and your Guest Room. We have had such great comments on our Hot Breakfast Buffet, which if you are a guest you are charged a very nominal fee. We certainly could have had the charge included on your room bill for your convenience. Yes our hotel as well as many others are located on the train track side as well as the road side. Some people are not bothered by the train noise at all. Upon check in, we do offer a small upgrade fee to the road side if you are particularly a soft sleeper. Our hotel’s location is great for other restaurants, grocery stores and shopping, all located within one or two blocks of the hotel. On your next visit, please choose a room on the road side of the hotel, and ask our Front desk agents to assist you with directions to restaurants and stores that are close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canmore Alberta

Impressed w staff

Posted Dec 8, 2014
They called up when we arrived to make sure everything was ok w our room! I was impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Please note it is our standard procedure to call each guest when they arrive in their room to ensure that everything is satisfactory We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Weary traveller!!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
The check-in staff were warm, friendly and welcoming at 10:30 at night. I was exhausted after a grueling 10 hrs on the road thru the Rogers Pass. My daughter booked the room for me, as I was on the road and she recommended I pull over in Canmore. My only complaint is that I was told it was an Expedia booking, therefore I needed to pay for comp breakfast, albeit $5.99 as opposed to $14. The room cost $90 and I did not think the difference in booking should affect a breakfast that is a given for other folks. The breakfast is buffet style and unremarkable. I certainly did not eat $6 worth of food at 6:30 in the morning. So, although, I was grateful for a "port in a storm" and a comfortable one at that, it is my recommendation there be NO distinction between Expedia bookings and other bookings. Obviously, The Ramada Inn throws their empty rooms in the pool, so people can stay there when they need a bed. Thanks for being there and thank you for the opportunity to give you feedback.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you found the Ramada Inn & Suites to be a suitable to your needs during one of the largest snow storm in years. It also sounds like you were misinformed as we do not offer a complimentary breakfast. We make it up by charging a nominal fee for a hot breakfast buffet. We look forward to your next visit and we hope for it to be under better circumstance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Comfy, clean room. Close to some nice restaraunts, within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location to area activities

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness.
Hotel was busy. Staff were ok however the room was not as clean as expected. The hide a bed wasn't made up. We doubt it had been changed from the last occupant. The bedding was a mess and nit made up when we open bed the bed for the night. The front desk was busy when we tried to talk to them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are extremely sorry if your room was not cleaned properly and find it troubling that you were unable to inform the front desk. This was clearly an oversight and not a proper representation of our cleaning standards. We pride ourselves on offering a pleasant and carefree experience and we hope you will give us another chance so that we can deliver on that promise.