Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home Away From Home

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Great location and the rooms are great. It is so nice to have high quality full furnishings in the room.
Cons: The only improvement necessary is the wifi signal in the rooms.
It was a very good place to stay in Canmore. We have stayed at a number of locations in Canmore and this is one of the best. The 2 bedroom suite we had was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

it was good

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: all
Cons: nothing
I love Alberta, I love Canmore!! and I want to come back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Everything was perfect except no outdoor hot tubs

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Our two bedroom condo was perfect
Cons: They need outdoor hot tubs.
Location: Loved Canmore and all its walking trails, where the condo was situated was perfect for the walk into town and convenience of the Fas gas across road w
Our experience was perfect. Loved the Resort except for no outdoor hottubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Solara Resort and Spa

Posted May 7, 2015
Honestly, the hotel was more than I had expected. The room was beautiful and clean with alot of space. The staff were friendly. And the location in Canmore was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

A pretty tired resort

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The beds in the bedrooms themselves were comfortable.
Cons: See above.
Location: A ten-minute walk to anything, which is fine. They did have bikes for guest use.
Adequate but nothing special. As well, a number of the amenities are overdue for revamp--hot tub not hot, ceilings peeling; "theatre" uncomfortable, unclean, and popcorn machine not working. Water in showers only reached warm, never hot. Couch not comfortable for sitting; pullout completely unacceptable for sleeping on. It was a very noisy weekend, with parties going all night, and children running and screaming down hallways throughout the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Very mixed review

Posted May 1, 2015
Cons: Noise level. I could hear people in the hall from the bedroom at the back of the condo.
Check in was stressful as reception told us that our credit card had been declined. We tried another and were told it had been declined. We tried a third, from another member of our party and it was declined. They moved us to a different computer and again all three cards were declined. After 15 minutes of assuming all cards were being declined, someone finally figured out that the person at reception was missing something during input. When it was finally done we received our key cards and proceeded to the room in another building. When we got there the neither card would work. The response from reception was that the cards must have been near a cell phone. I had carried them in my hand the entire time and they were no where near my phone. I would feel better about the stay had reception been a little more receptive and, perhaps, apologetic. Clearly both incidents were mistakes on their end. It is embarrassing to be at the reception desk to be told, in front of other guests waiting in line, that your cards have been declined. After that frustration it is also annoying to finally get to the room, find that the cards don't work and then be told that you must have had them too close to your phone. Not a good way to start. Housekeeping never did clean the room, which we have always experienced at other similar hotels. On a positive note, the room is very nicely appointed and was very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

old untidy furniture

Posted Apr 9, 2015
i booked this hotel on line,pictures posted were amazing, when i reached thier i cauldnt stay more than 10 minutes its like "snakes and ladder" game many doors and ways to reach your room. bed we have is very old you even can see the coils of the matress, curtunes were very old with holes in it :(( very bad experience , dont recomend to families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Consistently a nice place to stay

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location. Décor. Staff. Pet policy.
Cons: The master bedroom has the smaller bed and less luxurious shower than the main bathroom. Wish larger bed/better shower were together in the ensuite.
Location: It is located walking distance to shopping in Canmore but far enough away from the train and highway. Check out the Iron Goat restaurant in Canmore!
We have stayed at Solara on one other occasion. We travel with our small dog and we find that it is a very convenient place to hang out when we head to the mountains. The front desk will lend out Playstation games (they have a console in the rooms) but they have a very limited amount so I suggest that you bring your own from home. We wish that Solara had an outdoor pool or hot tub - but we end up going to the Banff Hot Springs anyways so it isn't really a big deal that they don't. We love the décor of the rooms - cork floors, granite or cement counters, high end appliances - and the patio area to enjoy outside of each room. We will stay at Solara again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but could be great

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The decor
Cons: Noise level and supplies
Location: Elevation place for swimming and climbing. We did some geocaching.
We requested a non ground floor two bedroom suite as last year we had a very noisy family above us. We were given a ground floor suite once again and had jumping overhead all weekend. The suite is beautiful but we had to phone down for sheets and blankets for pull out and there weren't any cloths at all in the kitchen and only three mugs but four of other things. Movie theatre was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Generally a decent condo rental. Living room furniture was industrial strength uncomfortable but the beds were great. Wireless internet was sporatic. If you need to tap into work from the room best do it early in the morning when the internet usage is down. Kitchen was good. Refrigerator ice machine was disconnected. Minor inconvenience but one none the less. Pool facilities more suited to young kids than teens although the near by recreation center in town is great.