Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with a good scenic view

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Quick access to our room and the wifi.
Cons: If the room doors could be replaced and have better sound proofing. I could hear very clearly the neighbors socializing outside their room and smoking
Location: All amenities are close by. Lots of trails to go for a walk/run with beautiful scenery.
Stayed 1 night at the Drake Inn. Staff were friendly. Room was clean. Carpets clean, bathroom was clean and the bed was great! Room was very tidy and warm. I would stay here again as the price was awesome and I would recommend to others who are willing to stay in hotel with a low price and good standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Noisy and rundown

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: I left the do not disturb sign on the door for the entire time I was there and it was respected.
Cons: Nothing. Bad location, bad parking, bad facility.
Location: There are many amenities near the hotel but as a result there is a great deal of noise.
There was loud music playing Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday nights. I could not sleep until about 2:00 am. Overall a very disappointing experience. The money saved was not worth e experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Inn, Good price, pet friendly

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Cons: Removing all ashtrays from balconies and post signs outside suite doors forbidding smoking on the balconies
The hotel is a bit run down but the rooms are fine. Don't plan to be there during a hot spell because they do not have AC. If you have pets they want advance notice because apparently they only have certain rooms for pets. Expedia may say the room is pet friendly but if you don't let the hotel know they may put you in a room that is not pet friendly. There is a bar adjacent that has good food and beer. Just don't try and use the phone to pub line because they don't answer. The staircases are a good work out if you are on the third floor so make sure you request ground floor suites if you don't like stairs. The only part that really ruined it for me was that a smoker thought it was acceptable to smoke on the balcony outside his suite. Of course his smoke stunk up our suite while we were trying to sleep in our non smoking room. Half of the problem is that the stupid hotel still has ash tray buckets outside of the suite doors. Quite awful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Inn near the creek

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Cons: Maintenance, the paint job around the hotel was very poor.
The inn says you can order food from your room and then be notified when it is ready, however I rang the pub twice and had no answer. I found that rather irritating. The room was very warm and remained that way throughout the night even though we had the heat off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON Canada

Hotel, downtown, comfortable

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, dinner downstairs, parking and convenient for all the facilities and it was centrally located downtown.
Location: Hiking, biking, skiing, walking, lake activities and a pretty, smallish town in the Rockies not far from Lake Louise, and the glaciers too.
The Drake Hotel was very convenient, downtown, comfortable, nice and clean with parking outside and a nice pub type bar where we had a nice dinner. The town is lovely - great spot - handy for all the facilities and the town is very ice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jeffrey gohfrom edmonton ab

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
present stay with food outlets nearby and save on food supermarket
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Worst hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: The Pub should be closed. The hotel staff member should be well trained.
I stayed in this hotel for one night in August 2014 and my experience was horrible. This is the worst hotel that I have ever experienced among the countless number of hotels that I have stayed in the past 30 years or so. Here is my experience. At 10 pm, suddenly a loud low-pitch noise started to shake my bed and my room. Initially, I thought it was probably caused by loud music playing in downstairs room (my room was on the second floor). I checked and found that the loud noise was from a Pub next to the hotel building. Actually, the Pub is part of the hotel building and is owned by the same hotel management. The Pub was playing extremely loud music. I went to the hotel office, wanting to ask for room change. To my surprise, the office had already been closed at 10pm! I couldn't talk to anyone about the problem! I could not sleep until after 2am when the Pub was finally closed. I had only a few hours sleep that night, which ruined my Banff National Park tour in the days that followed. I spoke to the hotel staff next day who was not even sympathetic. She said that the hotel web already stated that "the hotel cannot be guaranteed to be quiet." Do not select this hotel if you want a quiet resting environment! Do not select this hotel if you do not want your tour to be ruined!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Canmore is a less costly and less crowded alternative to Banff. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown. It is clean and well maintained. It shows its age by the lack of air conditioning and card door locks. It gets hot inside in a summer afternoon. In a typical Canadian fashion, there aren’t enough parking stalls. This is a problem in a country with one of the lowest population density in the world. You have to be careful selecting your room, if you don’t want it facing a busy street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Travellerfrom Toronto

On main street

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
the room was small but clean and comfortable. Close to amenities..