Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice, expensive, both a good experience.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: the building, and history.
it was a great nights sleep. had a great time touring the castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from Alberta

Grand Old Hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself is beautiful and the setting is breathtaking.The restaurants are first class and the wine selection is very good.
Location: No end of activities from skiing etc in winter and golf and hiking in summer.
This is a hotel with a grand history covering 150 plus years. The pool is always fun especially when it is cool outside and you can enjoy the the comfort of the heated water. The food was excellent in Grape Restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Banff springs overrated

Posted Feb 18, 2014
We paid a lot of money per night for a room for 3 adults and 1 child. When we arrived, the room only had one bed. The other place to sleep for the adult and child was a pull out couch (very poor quality with springs sticking into your ribs). If you book a room for 4 people, I think there should be top-notch beds for 4 people, especially when paying top dollar. Overall, a big disappointment.
3 out of 5
by meg from vancouver

Small rooms

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Fabulous location and history. Staff was also very helpful
Cons: Internet service and gym use should be included in the price.
The rooms and particularly the bathroom are very small, despite being expensive. Also, it costs extra to use the gym. Extra charges for parking is expected, but normally internet and gym use are included -- they are not here. One other issue: the food is o.k., but not better than that -- even in the most expensive restaurants. The Italian restaurant had good servers, but there was a 50 minute wait between when we were finished with the first course and received the second. Also, the veal was quite tough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Castle Bliss

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Its an amazing castle, whats not to like
Cons: They didn't have a open hot springs for the guest unless you paid for a spa pass.
Location: There is so much to do in the heart of Banff. I would recommend visiting Banff's website because they held a winter festival while we were there.
The stay was pleasant, they started off by upgrading our view. We visited one of their classy small restaurants that was very nice but expensive. We visited the small stores down stairs and the attendants were so friendly and nice. We did all for room service just before midnight but had closed the kitchen which we were a little upset about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from Red Deer

Absolutely decadent ! Worth every penny !!

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: I loved everything about this hotel !
Location: Located in Banff National Park. There is skiing, skating, sledding, shopping, swimming, hiking, dining...and more !
Fabulous hotel. My husband and I found so much to see and do here that we didn't really feel the need to leave the grounds ! The pool is amazing and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We would go back tomorrow !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tim from saskatoon.sask

Excellent way to pamper yourself

Posted Feb 3, 2014
this is an excellent example of what a classy hotel stay should be. Very nice hotel, with excellent and friendly staff. It is a majestic place to explore, with great stores and facilities. It is a short drive to Sulfer mountain, and the hotsprings source. It is not a cheap hotel.....so do your research......but if you can afford it.....it is very much worth the stay. The breakfast.....though be it pricey....is exceptional......you will NOT have better anywhere else, it was well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wife / hubby from North Carolina

Beautiful "castle" !

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous hotel built in the 1800's; the stonework is incredible.
Cons: HELLO do not price a bottle of chardonnay that sells in the hotel wine shop for $39.95 for $89/bottle, $21/glass!! in the dining room(S)!!!
Location: Know about shuttle to lower "15th hole restaurant", but it wasn't great. Sister hotel on Lake Louise, enjoyed, but not as spectacular.
Enjoyed the views, the ambience, oh, and the hot springs fed outdoor pool ... so relaxing!! There's a large indoor pool and hot tub too. Enjoy just walking around this beautiful structure to see all of the open rooms and spaces, really enjoy looking at the beautiful stonework. Did not enjoy our room. Did not have a king (could have had one on the only un-refurbished floor-4), agreed to queen on upper floor. Good view, but alcove ceiling made it necessary to "duck" head every time to walk around the bed & room. One day we were gone all day and room was not serviced, phone did not work, had to go down from high level to not get apology, but "service is still on site and will do room". huh? Coffee/tea, frig in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for family... Just expensive

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Great time, will be back to spend more time in Banff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014