Ratings based on 1,117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide

Iconic hotel. Breath taking setting

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Hot pool. Setting. Quiet rooms
Cons: Would have liked a cold fridge for food and drinks
Location: Set in beautiful Banff. Backdrop of snow capped mountains. Short walk into town. Many walking tracks close by.
Loved sitting in the hot outdoor pool after a day of hiking or skiing looking up at snow covered mountains. Incredible. Lovely spacious room. Friendly helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Breaux Bridge, LA

Fabulous Experience at The Fairmont Banff Springs!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
From arrival to departure our we were pampered at The Fairmont Banff Springs! The hotel staff bent over backwards to meet all of our needs. An added perk was the no tipping policy for valet and housekeeping. It took a while to stop offering a tip every time we retrieved our car, but not having to worry about cash for tipping was wonderful. The Hotel had Old World Charm and a wonderful history not found everywhere. The scenery was beyond measure and the late afternoon visits from the elk on the golf course was something we looked forward to daily. The Fairmont at Banff Springs is on my list of places to revisit in future travels!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by The Fairmont Banff Springs, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed engaging service from our team and we hope to see you again soon. The Fairmont Banff Springs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Started with a bang and ended with a whimper

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Great staff and views from hotel. Nice outdoor pool...with deer at pools edge!
Cons: Room service food was awful and hotel should not put people in the Thompson wing without first mentioning issues with air conditioning.
Location: Make sure to visit Johnson's Canyon and drive the Icefields Parkway.
First family trip to Banff and knew we had to stay at Fairmont given its prestige and old-world charm. The first 4 nights were amazing. Had room in the main hotel on 8th floor with amazing views of mountains to south and east. The staff was great and we enjoyed drinks each night in the Rundle Room and loved the outdoor heated pool. Only complaint during first four nights was really bad room service food. We decided to extend our stay a 5th night. The cost of room was less but even that was too much given what we got. The room was half the size of previous room and located in the Thompson wing; not in the main hotel. The room was hot as it was unseasonably warm outside. We tried to cool down the room with the thermostat which did nothing. Called the front desk who said there was no air conditioning in that wing and that it's a "known problem" and that we should use the portable fan located in the closet. The fan didn't work so they moved us to another room in same wing with more windows which helped marginally but still warm; interestingly, the people across from us also moved rooms for the same reason. Overall, a great hotel with great staff but make sure you get room in main hotel and don't order room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by The Fairmont Banff Springs, Hotel Management
We are truly disappointed to learn of the shortfalls in your stay on your 5th night, given the previous nights had been so enjoyable. We will share your review with our team and will use these comments to our best constructive use. We do apologize again and hope you will return.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom peak district uk

Large corporate hotel on the outskirts of town

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The samurai sushi restaurant. The ski locker. The views.
Location: Situated a short walk from the town and the nearby bow falls this is a great location for exploring Banff town and surrounds.
A disappointing stay in a mock castle hotel which needs an upgrade. Room was old fashioned, with tired decor and out of date facilities. The bars, restaurant areas and lobbies are also jaded and dark. The additional $25 a day car park charge is tiresome, especially as there is no alternative. The hotel is geared more towards the conference goer who wants to fit in some skiing rather than the holiday maker seeking relaxation. The fairmont brand did not meet its fine reputation at this potentially superb location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by The Fairmont Banff Springs , Hotel Management
We are truly sorry to have received your review. The Fairmont Banff Springs, and our owners, work diligently on capital projects that will enhance all of our guest's experiences. We do apologize that you left feeling as you did, and your review will be shared. The Fairmont Banff Springs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Historic... majestic... ghosts? ......

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: the rooms were very quiet ,, the view was specular.. and very clean and comfortable.
Location: Banff springs hotel is 3 kilometers away .. the town of Banff is a good but nice walk into town.
Enjoyed staying at this hotel.. this hotel is probably the oldest hotel around Banff. Built and opened in June 1888, you will notice as you enter the hotel the woods, the décor.. doors are all from the 1800's.. although newly redecorated over the years , you can still feel the ambience and the history of this beautiful hotel.. And yes ..ghosts are said to roam around the hotel ! I would like to add the valet service . for a mere 35.00 for your stay.. no need to worry about parking your car and having your car returned. Fantastic service! take note.. no tipping the valet service and drivers. ( not allowed)... this hotel is not for people on a budget.. food is expensive and so is your stay. However the hotel offers many amenities right at the hotel., golf, . tennis.. swimming...( in and out door pools) ..not to mention the Spa/Wellness . take a hike around the hotel.. or just relax.. Its worth the stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by The Fairmont Banff Springs, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance of the castle and hope you will return. The Fairmont Banff Springs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Excellent!!! Simply exceptional. Great service, wonderful staff, a real winner
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by The Fairmont Banff Springs , Hotel Management
We truly appreciate your feedback and the 5 star rating. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Family friendly

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Hotel staff are fantastic. On my check out date, lift not working. An staff working in engineering dept help me the luggages. Hotel reception also upgrade my room and suggest me to sign up president club to get free wifi. This hotel is by far the best experience I have in Canada.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by The Fairmont Banff Springs, Hotel Management
We are delighted to see your review and know how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing. The Fairmont Banff Springs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Not worth the money....................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by The Fairmont Banff Springs , Hotel Management
We are sorry to see your review and that your stay fell short. We do hope that you shared your feedback more specifically with our colleagues so we can learn and improve, which is our standard to do. The Fairmont Banff Springs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta

Great hotel, a bit expensive

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Beautiful room, gorgeous hotel. It's a little walk from town (about 20 min) but everything you need is on site. The hotel houses several shops, restaurants and even a spa. It's a great place to stay :) Only downside is the price, even for what you get, it's quite expensive. On top of the room you need to pay for parking and wifi. On weekends they offer a breakfast buffer which is $40 per person. Too much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by the Fairmont Banff Springs , Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments and will share them with our team. Wifi is now complimentary in our lobby and restaurants, and always included in our loyalty program. We hope you will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: We loved the history of the hotel and the pictures that preserved memories of days gone by.
Cons: Maybe a lower end price restaurant....
Location: Hiking trails, skiing, shopping
Nice hotel. Comfortable. Outdoor pool was very relaxing after a day of skiing. Easy access to area hiking trails along the river and also into mountains. Short walk to the city center for shopping. The staff was very accommodating and the concierge was very helpful on several occasions. We liked the idea of booking our skiing and transportation as a combo deal (saving $5 per person). We skiied at Lake Louise and Sunshine Village. Both had nice runs for "Beginners" and "Intermediates", although Sunshine Village is more family oriented and there were a lot of children on the "green" slopes that you had to watch out for. We were surprised that the Canadian Rockies were so much steeper (or so it seemed) than the Colorado Rockies (which we have skied several times). We did have to step our skiing up a notch as some of the runs were narrower than we expected. The ski storage was excellent at the Banff Fairmont and well-run. Tours from the hotel were also easy to arrange. We enjoyed the ice walk tour at night - the evening sky was beautiful, the group small (we were all given head lamps which we could use and then take home), the guide knowlegeable and the waterfalls spectacular! We learned a lot on our tour! Overall experience was wonderful and relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by the Fairmont Banff Springs, Hotel Management
Thank you Jan. We will share with our concierge and guest services team your comments regarding your recent visit. The Fairmont Banff Springs