Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom From Calgary

Cozy pet friendly hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Went there for my husband's birthday. Check in was quick and the staff were very friendly compared to hotels in town. Room was nice as was the hot tub. We had breakfast delivered to our room from the Bistro- literally the best breakfast of our lives! We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Juniper Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Very quaint location with outstanding views of Vermillion Lakes and the Spray Lake Valley - in particular at dusk & dawn. Rooms are standard ....but the hotel itself carries a unique aura. If you do one thing at the Juniper, eat at the Bistro!! French & German chefs make the kitchen here faboulous ...meat & cheese board, duck wings (confit drumette), rabbitt rillettes and mussels superb!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

The best value in Banff

Posted Jan 26, 2015
I've stayed at the Juniper close to a half dozen times now. It's always a great experience. It's a old building on the edge of town, but the inside has been completely gutted and redone with a attractive modern eco-theme. Easily as nice of room as you get at the very top tier places in town, but at less than half the price. The only difference is the exterior of the building isn't as fancy. The on site restaurant is top notch chef prepared food, at a really decent price for the area. They have a perfect cover outdoor hot tub setup to soak your sore muscles after you spend your day conquering the surrounding mountains. I've stayed at most of the hotels in town and this is without any doubt my pick and the one I recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was very friendly and very helpful

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Only thing i can add is a vending machines other than that beautiful hotel with terrific staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique & Cozy Hotel Experience

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: I loved the view from our room and the staff.
Cons: The room was very modern, however it felt a bit cramped with two double beds as compared to other hotels that I have stayed in.
Location: Location is just minutes away from Banff Avenue and is very easy to find from the main highway.
Overall, the hotel had great service and the staff were willing to accommodate all of our requests. The view from our room was amazing and made the experience even better. My only critique would be the size of the rooms, as they are very small with two double beds. Also, it would be nice if the outdoor hot tub was made larger, or if another hot tub was added to the hotel as I found it quite small and space was limited in the evenings if you wanted to enjoy it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Juniper GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us and providing us with feedback. Unfortunately our rooms do vary in size due to the building's original layout plan from the 1950's! That is good feedback on the hot tub, we do hope to renovate that in the next few years. It's good to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We hope to host you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Loved the view from our room.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The views are beautiful. The king suit has lot of room, loved the bathroom,
Cons: Need dinner menu's in the room for room serivces.
It was a very pleasant stay, was able to get a room upgrade without a problem, the only problem was that it was a little far from banff but the view we got was worth the distance from banff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Juniper GM, Hotel Management
Hello Maggie, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear you had a pleasant stay. We hope you stay with us again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Beautiful view from this hotel.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly especially in the restaurant where they had a very nice menu. We only had breakfast and it was very good.
Cons: Needs upgrading to make it more of a "lodge-feel" and give it some charm. Otherwise it is a convenient place to stay if skiing at Mt Norquay only.
Location: Only skiing at Mt. Norquay. Probably can snowshoe or cross country ski. Otherwise nothing close by within walking distance. Need to drive into Banff.
We were very disappointed with this hotel. We thought for the price it put the hotel in a certain category . Although the lobby area is quite nice we found our room disappointing as to the size given that there is no area in the hotel where you can sit and read or sit by a fireplace. There is a fireplace but it is located in the Bar/restaurant which is very nice but we brought our own wine but had to sit on our bed and watch an old style TV. there is a small bathroom with a tub that would not encourage anyone to have a bath. One small chair without arms. Great view though. Room is cold in winter and there is no carpeting on the floor so feels very cold and drafty. Hot tub is very small and we did not want to use it.. We were on main floor which we heard every footstep of people above us and going down the hall because no carpeting..oh and hearing our neighbour being sick in the bathroom at 2:00 a.m. We won't stay again or recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Juniper GM, Hotel Management
Hi Sam, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valuable to us knowing where we need to improve. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do offer suites that allow guests a space to relax in their rooms however our standard rooms do not come with a fireplace. We are however planning to replace the TV's this year. We are also working on getting new carpets and better insulation to mitigate some of the issues you highlighted above. We hope you give us a chance to change your opinion of us in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I Expected

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: staff were pleasant.
Cons: room smell. price point for what you receive.
Location: nothing that near.
Room smelt like urine, very noisy hallways, disappointing experience and location. across the highway from the village and inconvenient in that sense. High cost, not a great experience. Wouldn't go back nor recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Juniper GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am very surprised to hear that you found the room had a strange odour. I can assure you this is not typical. I apologize for the noise as well, we are working on installing better soundproofing in the new year to help mitigate some of the noise travel. We do pride ourselves in our more secluded and natural location just a short 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the centre of town and apologize if that was not communicated clearly enough to you prior to your visit. I hope we are able to change your opinion of us one day but thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great gettaway!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The Juniper has amazing views of the mountains, and very well kept up rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Juniper GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us! It's good to hear you enjoyed the views and our rooms. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel just out of town

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The hotel was clean and was just far enough off the beaten track to make it feel secluded. The hotel staff didn't seem to be focused I.e. Our waiter forgot a few things we ordered and the front desk clerk seemed distracted at check in. Regardless of the small hiccups it was a good room and rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Juniper GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us! Sorry to hear that you found our staff a little distracted, I can assure you that is not typical. It is great to hear that you did enjoy our location though! We hope you stay with us again soon!