Ratings based on 1,854 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Best place to stay in Banff

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Outdoor hot tub
Location: Snowhsoeing, skiing, hiking, hot pools,
Great feel to this place and excellent service. Service food ad wine were all great. The meat platter in the lounge was a little bland but overall still good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Beautiful view - terrible parking

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Lovely interior, amazing views even from cheaper room, nice pool area
Cons: Parking!!!!
The hotel is beautiful and the view is stunning. The rooms are nice - clean, comfortable, and modern. Not spectacular but the view is worth the price. The pool and hot tub area is very nice too. However, being charged $22 for parking (for one night) in a very expensive hotel was ridiculous. It seems like a small thing, but it was very off-putting right at check-in to be told I had to pay even more. Even worse when we couldn't find a spot and eventually found a tiny one that took 10 minutes to get into - others in the parkade didn't find spots at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatchewan

great view, friendly staff

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: good sized room and very clean
Cons: room could use a microwave
Location: located 5 mins out away from downtown Banff and walking distance from the hot springs. town bus stops right at the hotel if required.
beautiful hotel located close to the upper hot springs, the staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. food prices for restaurant and room service was reasonable great hot tub and fitness center.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Good and Bad

Posted Jan 9, 2015
I booked a room at the Rimrock via Expedia. A week before our arrival date I called to make sure that we were in a room with a view as we were going there to celebrate our anniversary. The lady that answered the phone assured me that we would have a great view. We arrived January 1st about 23:00, and checked in. The room which we were assigned overlooked the entrance into the hotel therefore was not much of a view. The next day I inquired at the front desk about having a room with a view. The gentleman was very abrupt and stated that this is the room that I had booked. If I wanted a room with a view it would be an additional $50.00 per night. I was already paying over $300 a night and did not find it feasible to spend more than I already was. POSITIVES: The hotel itself was very clean and regal. The staff, (minus the gentleman at the front desk) were very pleasant and polite. Service personnel greeted you at every opportunity with smiles on their faces. The door man was very courteous and happy to chat about anything. The room was very spacious, but this also acted negatively as there was a lot of empty space which made things echo. The restaurants had very good food and service. Very professional. Underground parking was great especially since the weather was cold. Pool, hot tub and sauna were very clean. Massages at Spa Centre on floor #3 were great. Very professional staff. NEGATIVES: Parking was $21 per day for self park. There was a charge for Premium internet as regular
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Attentive & Friendly Service

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Service & Ambience
Cons: Bathroom looking a little tired
Stayed before and service was just as good as previous. Shame about the children running up and down the corridors though. Stayed Jan 2nd to 4th 2015.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff but not worth the money

Posted Jan 5, 2015
They had a really nice wine reception on Christmas Eve and that was the highlight of our stay. The room was freezing, we asked someone to show us how to turn up th heat and even when we did it would start to warm up and then temperature would drop again. On Christmas Day we were looking forward to to the buffet, however the food was cold. When we brought it to their attention they realized that the burners were out. They were kind enough to offer us another meal or to heat up our food, but it left a bad taste in our mouths and we just were not able to enjoy dinner. The room had mold in the tile of the shower, hairs were left in the bathtub and the glasses were dirty. Overall, fancy hotel with a beautiful view, but did not feel like to was worth the cost for the standard that was expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the mountains

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Location: The Gondola and hot springs are within walking distance
We were here during the Christmas Holidays and it was quite lively and busy. Many things within the hotel. Had a couple drinks and dinner at the Primorse Restaurant. The drive is only about 5 minutes away from the town No complaints on my end
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Very nice hotel with spotty service.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Housekeeping and room service.
Cons: Food and customer service.
Location: It's a bit far from Banff's town center. You have to drive or take the bus.
We did receive some excellent service. The waiter in the bar was great and an expert on wine. The waitress we had for breakfast was really helpful. Room service was quick. The housekeeping was exceptional. But the food was inconsistent. One of our dinners was less than mediocre. The waitress was extremely slow. And we felt the manager was pushing us to leave. The only reason we lingered was the slow service. Concierge was useless. He offered to find us a reservation on New Year's Eve and never called us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
We spent 4 nights with our children here over New Years while we skied at Sunshine and Lake Louise. My husband and I had a spectacular dinner at Eden while our kids enjoyed room service. The entire family enjoyed two lovely dinners at Primrose. The complementary bus service into town is very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the Banff Hot Springs

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Location: Banff Hot Springs Gondola
Had a relaxing stay with lots of activities and options to do at the hotel. Room was clean, and the staff were very friendly.