Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Basic Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise on some nights from Songkran celebrations.
Location: In Chinatown near the subway terminus.
Basic accomodation but adequate. The air conditioning worked and the room was made up each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Cheap and ok

Posted Aug 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
OK hotel for the price, it´s cheap, old, looks like an old hospital, but clean and works out fine for 1 night. Would not spend more time there tyhan one night, see it as a hostel more than a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Dec 30, 2010 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not impressed with New Empire Bangkok

Posted Jul 4, 2008
The condition of the New Empire hotel Bangkok was below average. The condition of the bedroom was not the best. Wallpaper was piling off the wall in places but the room itself was clean. Although the bathroom was not up to even a 2 star hotels standard. The toliet leaked when flushed and the shower area had flee like creatures living in it. I was not impressed at all with this hotel and was glad I was only there for one evening. AVOID
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Newport, NC

Not impressed, but priced fairly for what was there

Posted Jul 2, 2008
Great front desk and maid service and has a good central location in China Town. The free meal was a waste of time for food and service. The overall condition of the Hotel reflected its age and badly needs a paint job. I would stay there again but not with my wife or family. The room was ok good bed and AC but needed paint.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, WA

Do not stay here unless you have no other option!!

Posted Feb 9, 2008
Hotel is old smells weird room had black sticky stains on carpet bathroom was even worse tub was old and water had no control over hot/cold functions also beds had stains worst hotel yet.. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone no matter what kind of deal you get on it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Chinatown economy

Posted May 30, 2007
This hotel had a few rough edges mostly related to maintenance. A few signs of past water damage in room and some need of maintenance to windows in stairway area. Housekeeping removed towels and did not replace them until contacted. Hotel was overall well managed with competent professional staff - with excellent English. A real interest in being helpful. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from the Netherlands

Great location

Posted Feb 7, 2007
Very friendly people in the reception, we felt very welcome! We had a wonderful stay in Chinatown, thanks to you. We definitely come back!