Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Haven of elegance and tranquility in a crazy city

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Room lighting - especially in the bathroom could be better
Location: The hotel ferry runs to quay 13 (close to Khao San) and we used the river ferries to get everywhere in Bangkok
If you want a a bog standard hotel - don't chose Praya Palazzo ... it is a totally unique experience:from the time you arrive on the hotel ferry. We felt that we were house guests, enjoying a personal service in a grand house. The house is beautifully restored, comfortable rooms, magnificent dining room and all the facilities you need. Staff really looked after us as individuals - not just guests. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

The Haven

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The tranquility, friendly staff, setting, proximity to all facilities, its decor.
Cons: We found the bath/shower combination uncomfortable and would prefer a shower screen to prevent water spraying everywhere. Bar service needs improving.
Location: Great location with easy boat access to everything in Bangkok right at the front door. Would not hesitate to stay again and this hotel.
This hotel is a tranquil interlude from the hustle of Bangkok but only a short boat trip away. The boat transfers were so efficient and the staff fantastic. The hotel itself is like staying in a museum, a comfortable museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katefrom Philadelphia

Super charming

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is beautiful and the entire staff was amazing. I loved the mansion and overall feeling of the hotel. I had read that the boat ride to and from Bangkok was a hassle, but I disagree. They made it very easy and quick. I love this place so much and would gladly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leefrom Warwick, UK

Tranquility in the heart of Bangkok

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Free WiFi and friendly staff
Cons: Breakfast is slightly limited if staying for longer than a few days.
Location: Close to Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Khosan Road.
As the hotel itself is only accessible by boat I was a bit nervous about how practical it would be but in reality it works really well. We were lucky as by chance the boat was heading to the pier as we arrived otherwise you need to call the hotel to arrange being picked up. But on arrival you're issued with a mobile phone and it takes no more than 5 minutes for the boat to reach the pier. As the boat operates 24/7 there is no inconvenience, quite the opposite, being across the river takes you away from the hustle and bustle. The building is a former mansion and is surrounded by well maintained gardens. There is a swimming pool which gives a great option to cool off and relax. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful and whilst not expected, the staff operating the ferry were incredibly appreciative of any tips given. There is free WiFi which was very quick and reliable all the time we were there. The hotel itself is close to the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and Khosan Road. From the pier opposite there is a frequent and cheap ferry service along the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jackfrom England

outdated bathroom

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic hotel let down slightly by lack of shower and small bedroom. Maybe we were just unlucky with allocated room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Fantastic setting, great staff, THANKS!

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, beautiful property, amazing staff. Absolute delight. Do not expect all modern features. Definitely one of the highlights of staying in Bangkok!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I can not say enough about Praya Plazzo! The service was wonderful and the room great! They even asked what our agenda was each day and provided wonderful comments and assistance in changing the schedule to maximize our time. The personal assistance was great! We could not ask for more! The location was also wonderful as it was not in the commercial hub of Bangkok but easy to get wherever you were going. I actually liked that they provided a cell phone for pick up from the dock. You always knew you had a easy contact in Bangkok to provide help if there were ever any issues. Which there were not during our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariafrom London

Woberfull Hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: The staff, the facilities, the gardens, the quietness of the place.
Cons: The boat from the hotel would take us to pier 13 and from there we got a boat to every major attraction in Bangkok.
Location: The hotel is just 15 minutes walking distance from a street with loads of bars with life music and restaurants.
We stayed in this hotel from December 22nd 2013 to the 27th. Hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful and it's a quiet place to stay, just five minutes away from the buzz of the city. We were given a mobile phone to call whenever we wanted to come back. Private boat ride everyday. We always had breakfast by the swimming pool overlooking the river. We really enjoyed it and hopefully we will be back soon.
3 out of 5
by ltinneyfrom Santa Barbara, CA

Good location but not as peaceful as we hoped

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Staff was amazing, very helpful. Liked having the cell phone for assistance
Cons: Better Lunch/Dinner options. Drink and wine prices were overpriced, more than at other hotels on the river.
This hotel is located across the river from Santichaiprakarn Park. We were there three nights, two night there was a festival in the park that kept us awake, the third night a wedding. Not the hotels fault, but none the less we did not get much rest. We paid over $200 a night thinking we were getting something special, that was really just an average experience. The only exception was the Guest Service manager, Charan, he was exceptional or my hotel scoring would be less. Bangkok has lots of options that are exceptional in that range. We will choose a different hotel next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Clarafrom Lebanon

Excellent outdoors average indoor

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We spent 2 nights my husband and I in this hotel and liked the gardens area a lot and the service is excellent and the praya river is a plus plus plus as the hotel looks at the praya river. What we didn't like is the isolation very bad between rooms as we kept hearing noises from other rooms which prevent us from sleeping an entire night completely