Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
very old and tired, if you need to stay there, you must ask for a room with balcony, is a must
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom München, Deutschland

Gute Lage des Hotels aber das Hotel ist renovierungsbedürftig und das Personal unkompetent.

Posted Dec 22, 2010
Ich dachte das Zimmer "Deluxe" hat Balkon und Blick auf den Fluß. Stattdessen lag das Zimmer seitlich zum Fluß (sogenannt "riverside") Gegen einen Aufpreise von 1000 Bath pro Nacht hätte ich das Zimmer mit Blick auf den Fluß "riverfront" buchen können. Das war uns dann doch zu teuer. In der Beschreibung des Hotels auf Expedia dachte ich, dass das gebuchte Zimmer "riverfront" ist. Das uns zugewiesene Zimmer hat extrem nach Klebstoff gerochen. Es wurde ein Laminatboden im Eingangsbereich des Zimmers verlegt. Auf Aufforderung hat man uns dann ein anderes Zimmer gegeben. Im Bad kam zunächst Rostwasser aus der Leitung. Das Personal konnte sehr schlecht Englisch. Die Kommunikation war deshalb sehr schwierig. Wir wurden beim Weg zum Frühstücksraum vom Personal angesprochen, ob wir Ausflüge buchen wollen. Man wollte uns auch ein Taxi zum Flughafen ohne Taximeter für 500 Bath aufschwatzen. Wir haben dies abgelehnt und dann ein Taxi mit Taximeter genommen. Zahlten dann nur 300 Baht. Vom Personal kam seltensten ein Lächeln rüber.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Not Happy

Posted Dec 15, 2010
We found the hotel staff really unfriendly and not very helpful. There is no maps given out of the area and little information regarding the hotel boat service. The normal river ferries travel frequently though and are near to the hotel. The food at the hotel was very expensive and luke warm. The internet changes were also very expensive. The prices at the hotel have shot up since our last visit but the quality has decreased. Will not stay there again. Too far from everywhere!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

" Good Hotel if you are going to Yan Hee International Hospital, better places to stay if not "

Posted Feb 12, 2010
Good hotel for the purpose of my trip, which was to be close to Yan Hee International Hospital. Apart from that there is nothing of interest whatsoever surronding the place. A riverside room is an absolute must, the river views are superb, the other rooms look out on shanty town ! My biggest gripe was the diabolical choice of TV channels, no Star Sport or Movie Channels. You are left with BBC World News and thats about it ! Second issue is the hotel mainly caters for large coach tours, particularly french tourists. If you dont get down early for breakfast ( which is excellent ) the croissants are gone ! I personally dont like hotels that cater for coach loads of people , one tends to feel over run and that special bit of holiday magic is not there . Good room, balcony is a bonus , our cleaner was lovely, other staff ok , although the receptionists are not particularly friendly. Finally a little bit of humour,asked a few taxi drivers to take us home, and often drew a blank. Sussed it out in the end, one must ask for the " Loyal Liver "!! To be honest for the money ,there are much better hotels in Bangkok than this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hannover

Das Hotel liegt direkt am Fluß und man hat einen wunderbaren Blick vom Balkon

Posted Feb 4, 2010
Die Deluxezimmer des Hotel Royal River Hotels haben einen großen Balkon und einen wunderbaren Blick auf die Stadt und das Treiben auf dem Fluß. Vom naheliegenden Pier kann man mit dem Expressboot alle wichtigen Punkte bequem und entspannt erreichen. Mit dem Taxi ca.150 Bath zur Innenstadt-auch kein Thema! Um sich vom Flug zu erholen und sich langsam in die wirbelnde Stadt Bangkok einzufühlen, ideal. Nach einem anstrengenden Tag in der Stadt kann man sich auf dem Balkon wunderbar entspannen, trotz des Verkehrs der nahegelegenen Brücke (Ist halt Bangkok) Das nahegelegenen Restaurants am Fluß ist gut und hat eine angenehme typhisch thailändische Atmosphäre, aber auch der Suppenstand neben Seven Eleven ist Spitze! Gutes Preis - Leistungsverhältnis durch die entspannte schöne Lage-nix für Dauershopper mit wenig Zeit, da etwas abseits vom Kauftrubel und Royal River ist auch keine moderne Luxusherberge und hat etwas dünne Wände - dadurch manchmal hörbar laute Wasserspülung und Dusche des Zimmernachbarn. Für uns aber "das preislich humanste Hotel in Bangkok" mit direktem Flußblick und der damit verbundenen tollen Atmosphäre und der dadurch gegebene angenehmen Fortbewegung durch die Expressboote!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bangkok, Thailand

Nice View but very old

Posted Jan 8, 2010
Good location Good river view Good breakfast Good service but the hotel is very old and need to be renovated !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Lahaina, Hawaii

O.K. for the price

Posted Dec 23, 2009
The Royal River Hotel was O.K. considering the low price. The breakfast was really good. The computers at the hotel were very slow and needed better anti-virus software. I would only recommend this hotel if you are on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom California

Loved the river view!

Posted Dec 16, 2009
The hotel overlooks the river, and we spent a great deal of time on our balcony watching the river traffic. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the River Express (which is very cheap to ride) and public buses (which we didn't try). The hotel served an excellent breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order and a variety of western and eastern dishes. Most tourist attractions require a cab-ride, several forms of public transit, or a tour - the hotel is not centrally located. If you stay there, spring for a riverview room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Bangkok

Pattra

Posted Nov 7, 2009
Hotel location is ok it near river Breakfast is nice and delicious for me i like