Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from New Brunswick,Ca

Short Drive From Bangor Mall

Posted Nov 13, 2013
First time staying at Black Bear,was a little concerned about the distance from the mall but was pleasantly surprised how close it was, just 7 kilometers on Stillwater and your there. The hotel was very nice,clean and the staff were excellent. There was breakfast in the morning which was nice. Would have liked a pool though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vince from Dacono, CO

Black Bear Inn, Orono, ME, Review

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Beautiful grounds and stately hotel. Nicely furnished. Great for the price. Large rooms. Large bathrooms. Two sinks. Quiet. No kids.
Cons: Breakfast is free, but no hot food and not much variety. Little skimpy. No room amenities like water.
Location: Right outside Bangor and less than an hour from the Main Coast and Acada National Park. Many boat excursions near by. Good dinner theater in Bangor.
Very beautiful place--mansion style. Semi-rural location, nice grounds with large, manicured lawns and outdoor patio and picnic area. Rooms are beautifully furnished. No free amenities like water in the room. No pool, but exercise room. Good coffee maker and space in the room. Breakfast was okay, not great. Staff was accommodating. No kids and very old clients made it a quiet and restful place. Not for everyone, but great for retirement age.
2 out of 5
by jo from southern vermont

Poor choice

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: The hotel rooms need to be cleaned after a dog has been in the room. I strongly feel that people should also be asked if they have a dog allergy.
Location: There is nothing to do in the area and the restaurants were a poor selection
My husband and I should have been suspicious when we saw three dehumidifiers in the hallway. Not only was the room musty but our clothes were covered with dog hair and we had not brought a dog with us. We seemed to be the only people in this first floor hallway. The hotel was not busy so I am not sure why we were put at this end of the hotel. We certainly would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luther from Beals, ME, USA

Great Place to Stay

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Pros: Clean attractive rooms with friendly service.
Cons: Only one box of facial tissues.
Location: Located near many events especially The Colins Fine Arts Center
We found this hotel to be very good from the friendly welcoming smile and ease of check in to check out. Our room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the extra pillows and ease of Internet connection. The little cafe was excellent. We had a great dinner and an ample breakfast. This is a nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place to stay for UMaine visit

Posted Apr 17, 2013
great place to stay for UMaine visit. Nice room, great breakfast. friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt from Newtown, CT

Clean, comfortable and convenient

Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Black Bear Inn met out needs perfectly. We needed a place that was reasonably close to U Maine that was reasonably priced and would provide a comfortable stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by FOUR TIRED GIRLS from North of Boston

NOISE NOISE NOISE NOISE

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
My teenagers and I stayed to attend a tour of UMaine. The room was overwhelmed with a ridiculously big, unnecessary dresser, a double decker desk, large chair. Without all the excess furniture, the room space would have been sufficient but instead it felt cramped. Beds were fine, reasonably comfortable, the bear quilts were very Maine-like and dark so who knows how dirty they may be. Sheets were clean and fresh. We arrived on Easter and were all set to get room service and chill after a long drive only to find out that there is not Room Service on Sundays. (At check in the reception attendant failed to tell us that breakfast was offered and what time the hours for breakfast were - we went to Dunkin Donuts. Turned lights off at 10 and proceeded to stay awake for hours due to highway noise (Rm 220 faces the highway right next door); followed by an incredibly loud heater system - we ultimately just turned it off as it couldn’t be ignored; followed by guests upstairs who walked back and forth over and over and other guests in the halls - the walls are paper thin; then our neighbor took a noisy shower; then traffic died down, upstairs went to bed, heat was off, but the fridge motor kicked in & we couldn't unplug it. All in all UMaine was great but if my daughter enrolls there we will stay overnight elsewhere. Black Bear is just a hokey highway motel and not the nice conference center that it appears to be in the photos. We all got about 3-4 hours sleep overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Satisfied custo

Great family place

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: atmosphere
Location: great
Convenient, quiet and great for families. We had all the things we neded like a fridge, a microwave and two sinks. We liked that feature since there were four of us in a room. Everything was neat and tidy and liked the added touch of the bears everywhere. The staff were friendly, perceptive and helpful. We'll go again if we are in that area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ademac

Really liked this hotel, would stay there again

Posted Dec 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room was very comfortable. Was able to book it last minute as our original trip plans changed. Would definitely stay there again. Great staff and amenities.