Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient to highway and restaurants

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: cleanliness, friendly staff, breakfast
Location: Woodson's great place to eat.
Great hotel. Staff friendly, room clean and comfortable. Puppy stayed with us and there is plenty of room to walk the dog. Only issue is that for rooms on the highway side, there is some noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Linda from Dracut, ma

Ok hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was ok thought the price was high. We couldn't eat at the breakfast too many people and only 4 tables way too small of a room to accommodate all the guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Krista K from New Brunswick

Great Place to Stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed the atmosphere and comfort at this hotel. Less than 10 mins. from the Bangor Mall. Very close to everything. Staff is kind and personable. Rates are very reasonable as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Nashua

Great hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was extremely clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LT from NH

Needs soundproofing against rude & restless guests

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were placed in a 1st floor room ( you get what you pay for I guess). The folks above didn't sleep a wink and therefore neither did I. You can hear everything! The beds were too firm also, they could certainly use a pillow-top mattress pad or something. It was difficult to fully block out the lights from the parking lot as the room darkening panels didn't really overlap unless there was excess in the middle leaving gaps on the sides. I won't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from New Brunswick,Ca

Short Drive From Bangor Mall

Posted Nov 13, 2013
First time staying at Black Bear,was a little concerned about the distance from the mall but was pleasantly surprised how close it was, just 7 kilometers on Stillwater and your there. The hotel was very nice,clean and the staff were excellent. There was breakfast in the morning which was nice. Would have liked a pool though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave & Marcia Sloan from Mapleton, ME

Relief for late flights in

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Black Bear Inn is not only a welcome sight with all it's endearing amenities of Maine in the lobby but continues right into the room with the warm woodsy bear quilts on a chilly tiring night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vince from Dacono, CO

Black Bear Inn, Orono, ME, Review

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Beautiful grounds and stately hotel. Nicely furnished. Great for the price. Large rooms. Large bathrooms. Two sinks. Quiet. No kids.
Cons: Breakfast is free, but no hot food and not much variety. Little skimpy. No room amenities like water.
Location: Right outside Bangor and less than an hour from the Main Coast and Acada National Park. Many boat excursions near by. Good dinner theater in Bangor.
Very beautiful place--mansion style. Semi-rural location, nice grounds with large, manicured lawns and outdoor patio and picnic area. Rooms are beautifully furnished. No free amenities like water in the room. No pool, but exercise room. Good coffee maker and space in the room. Breakfast was okay, not great. Staff was accommodating. No kids and very old clients made it a quiet and restful place. Not for everyone, but great for retirement age.
2 out of 5
by jo from southern vermont

Poor choice

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: The hotel rooms need to be cleaned after a dog has been in the room. I strongly feel that people should also be asked if they have a dog allergy.
Location: There is nothing to do in the area and the restaurants were a poor selection
My husband and I should have been suspicious when we saw three dehumidifiers in the hallway. Not only was the room musty but our clothes were covered with dog hair and we had not brought a dog with us. We seemed to be the only people in this first floor hallway. The hotel was not busy so I am not sure why we were put at this end of the hotel. We certainly would not return.