Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax, NS

Hotel needs major upgrades.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Avoid this hotel. When we first arrived a sign at the desk ask us to call Guest Services, we did & informed her we were checking in, she just hung up and arrived a few minutes later. The room was deplorable, curtains were falling off and torn, the floor was sloped and carpet was stained and burned. To top it off live music was in the bar 2 floors below that could be heard through the entire place. The breakfast was not very good. Terrible stay for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom maine

Our adventure.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Filthy
Cons: Renovations
Location: Plenty of bars around and but there is lots of construction.
We were accused of trying to "dine and dash" by the hotel manager. We were drinking wine and decided to leave so I went up to the bar and asked what I owed him. He told me $35 so I paid him $35 and left him a $10 tip and we were on our way. The next morning we were met by the hotel manager who was threatening to call the police because we did not pay our bar tab. I told him I did so he checked the receipts and saw that I did pay what I told him I paid but he still wanted another $50. We did not drink $85 worth of wine but felt the only way to diffuse the situation was to pay him the money. It was clear they have their handful with the place falling apart around them. It was filthy. We will not be staying there again anytime soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson AZ

Terrible conditions of the square around the hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: It is in the middle of the town, close to shops, restaurants and bars
Cons: Close it down until all roadwork is completed
Location: Many shops, restaurants and bars
The hotel is really a bare-bones accommodation. Not even a bottle of mineral water can be obtained. The access to it is EXTREMELY problematic, since VERY extensive roadwork goes on immediately around the hotel. In the space of about 10 minutes, while I was bringing the luggage from the car to the hotel (I had no alternative to where to park) l got a parking ticket. The hotel concierge says they will take care of it. Unbearable machinery noise goes on from about 6am to 6pm. NO sleeping after about 6am. Nowhere to stop the car and unload the luggage, due to roadwork. The parking lot is 3 blocks away, validated by the hotel, so at no cost, but quite un-practical. One has to walk through unpaved roads. I suggest Expedia takes this hotel out of the list until the radwork is completed, probably months from now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Historic hotel near the waterfront.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere of old hotel added to the experience..
Cons: Water flow into sink was slow.
Location: Centrally located near waterfront, many pubs, casino, museums etc.
We stayed only one night after a family reunion, went back home the next day. enjoyed the old hotel, furnishings were old -fashioned, quiet between rooms. In the central square of town, so noisy pubs and cafes but did not bother too much. we would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Disappointedfrom Charleston SC

Poorly Maintained Aging Property

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Walked out after waiting 25 minutes at the Front Desk for attendant to show up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Brunswick Canada

Central location at a reasonable rate.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Hotel is vintage but still has modern conveniences. Great central location with access to many interesting restaurants and attractions.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Way too expensive for what it is. We felt we overpaid for a great location within walking distance to the concert. I would NEVER stay here again...ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Overall nice room BUT didn't know about construction going on all night in front of the inn when booking. Parking was an obstacle and only had about five channels available on the tv. Service here was great and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Next to bars

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
You can expect some noise around 11-12pm but everything else is good/clean. The lady at the reception thought we had to pay the room once we arrived and tried to charge us again. I told her otherwise and showed her a confirmation from my credit card company as proof that hotels.com had charged me already.