Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Beautiful

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Our room faced the pool and had a nice balcony.
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Beautiful location by the river. Still close to shopping and restaurants.
This hotel is a little bit dated;however, this is more than made up for by the beautiful setting, cleanliness, friendly staff, and nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I spent a week-end in Orono (early June) to visit my daughter who is attending U-Maine. The Inn is very close to the campus and to Orono. The staff is very pleasant, and the room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was a big surprise! I wasn't expecting so much variety in the choices offered. Try to book as early as possible since the place is apparently very popular! This was my third trip to Orono, and the very first time I was able to find a room available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent for the price

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Proximity to U Maine. Nice view. Accommodating staff. Breakfast included. The price was right. A decent value.
Cons: One ice machine, in the lobby. Asked for drinking glasses and was told only plastic in the rooms. Floorboards creak in the hallway.
Location: U Maine nearby. Orono, a very tiny town with a good rib joint, across the river.
Clean, in-room fridge and microwave. Nice view of the river from one side of the building. Nothing fancy, but the price was right. Close to U Maine. Breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathleen from staten island, ny

Perfect location to visit the university.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Even though you couldn't smoke inside, all the rooms had sliding glass doors and a patio with chairs.
It was very clean and smelled brand new. Nice lake view from our room and an excellent breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rob

Would stay here again

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The hotel was very comfortable, the staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The hotel itself is a little bit worn on the edges, but you could tell it was well taken care of. The shower was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The University Inn is a nice motel within walking distance of the University of Maine. It has a beautiful location overlooking the river. The building is older, but the rooms were pleasant and clean. There was a Keurig Machine and refrigerator in our room. Breakfast was included.
2 out of 5
by Jack from Maine

Convenient to University

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast!
Cons: Overall maintenance.
Location: Convenient to Orono restaurants and nightlife.
Hotel is being renovated. No wall paper in halls, carpet is a mess. "Fitness center" consists of 1 treadmill, 1 stairclimber and 1 eliptical which was out of order. Strong mildew odor in breakfast/fitness area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fellow Innkeeper from Alna, Maine

Very Pleasant Surprise!

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I own a B & B, and am always reticent about staying in a hotel. Clean, very clean is a must for me, and ambience is always lacking at breakfast…however, University Inn has created a space that is pleasant and "bistro like" to set up the continental breakfast. While breakfast has the standard fare, the presentation is very well done!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014