Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by colinj from London

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall it was good but the service a times could be better and the rooms must be better maintained as air conditioning breakdown seems to be quite common:-) also the breakfast must be a bit more varied. The dinner is quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aimee

Lovely hotel in must visit The Gambia.

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was absolutely lovely, the hotel and the room were clean and the scenery was beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not ideal for business

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Check in and check out very slow and frustrating experience even for African hotels. Lifts worked sometimes to some floors Wi fi didn't work for first day then patchy and slow at best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing Experience

Posted Nov 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our 5-day experience was like a month, I wished we had a chance a stay a little longer becuase our stay at the hotel was splendid. The rooms were so relaxing likewise d perfect oceanview where we watched the beauty of the sunset over the ocean. Although there could be some renovation needed in the surrounding, the warm and welcoming service made all d setbacks a workover Thank you sheraton and we look forward to another experience very soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the better standard hotels in Gambia

Posted Oct 17, 2012
Good quality hotel with all necessary faciliites for a good business stay. Wierdly there is no desk in the room whcih make working a little tricky but on the whole, a great hotel to stay if your on holiday or working! very comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Poor Reception service

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Reception hall, while lovely to look at, does not have sufficient ventilation / cooling. i had requested an airport shuttle on arrival - which never arrived and i had to take a cab to the hotel. Check-out took extremely long despite pre-payment via internet for accommodation - all that was required was to add up the extras. Because the systems were down, there was mass confusion
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lilia

Beautiful Place and very friendly stuff

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Such a good Welcome for the first day. We had a great time and enjoyed everything. Great place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by oly from lagos

Experience At the Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Pros: The swimming pool and the beach side
Cons: The Lunch Buffet
Location: The Sheraton is located at Serrekunda area. It is quiet and fun if you wish to jus swim and enjoy the sun.
The staff were pleasant but I guess overwhelmed by the number of guest they had. They need more hands.The lunch buffet was a sham but the breakfast buffet was okay. Room service takes forever so its better to go get things yourself at the reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Surrey, UK

Could do better

Posted Jan 1, 2012
Pros: The location
Cons: Complacency
Location: Couldn't be better, great beach.
OK it's Africa, so you cannot really compare a European 5*. But, it was definately a 4*+. Most things were good but then they fall down huge cracks (some in the walls). Drainage water flooding the pathways was (not) dealt with as normal'ish. Not cleaning the room until evening seemed acceptable (or at least to Starwood Hotels, as I was informed), but how can you clean a room then leave it without towels? The only day they wanted to clean before evening was of course the day we were leaving. The location is great, the local staff are very friendly and willing, and it is probably the best Hotel in the area. Trouble is they were pretty much fully booked and with little competition the urge to improve evaporates. My partner had some shoes go missiing in the room which was really ignored. The non-local management are at best complacent, as I discovered in conversation with them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Sheraton Resort-The Gambia

Posted Jul 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the staff accommodating. There were a few things that were disappointing given that the Sheraton is an international brand: there is a problem with cats and rats on the property and cockroaches in my room.The electric applicances are not regularly inspected to insure their safe use. I received severe burns to my finger when unplugging the hairdryer from the circuit. I requested an incident report form; there wasn't any. Lastly, it you are using a major credit card to settle your charges, be prepared to have the hotel staff determine your exchange rate instead of the financial institution. This was a first for me.