Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Al from Wilmington, DE

Nice Cosy place. Has Harbor View if you are lucky.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Shower gels, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.
Cons: Doesn't have a TV. But I don't really care about that, as long as the wi-fi works.
Location: It's close to northeast harbor, which is a very nice recreational area: golfing, sailing, maybe fishing? And it is about 20min drive to Acadia.
I was transferred to this hotel by Expedia. It turned out pretty nice, nicer than I expected. I love its shower supplies, very classy shampoo and lotion. The only bad experience was a moth got in the room and I hate those things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We are happy you were pleased with your stay and the amenities. And I whole heartily agree with you on the moth!! Sorry for any inconvenience. Please come see us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Will from Brooklyn

Fantastic experience

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really excellent find. We were there before the "season" I guess, so the main resteraunt was closed but the food in the bar/lounge area was great. Stayed in a cabin, beautiful views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by MP, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for posting this kind review. Glad you were able to find us! It is a pleasure when our guests are satisfied with their visit. Our culinary team has worked to provide food that well received; happy to hear you enjoyed the lounge. Please come see us again. Thanks again for your time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Pleasanton, Ca

Quiant hotel at a beautiful location

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Quaint is the best word to describe this Inn. It's old fashion and feels and looks more like a bed and breakfast. Nice location to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, and there's a nice garden across the street. Nice view of harbor from the patio and dining room. The food was good, but pricey. Our room was very quaint and resembled a bedroom in someone's house. The only thing I'd wish the room had was a TV, especially since there was a wedding that night and the bar and lounging room was being occupied. I reccomend this place for a couple rather than a family with children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Cons: Our room was not ready upon arrival
Overall good experience. Wish we would've tried the restaurant. Heard it was great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Please do visit again. You heard correct: the dining room is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maureen from Sewell, New Jersey

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Absolutely loved this hotel! Service was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2013 by MP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased to see our hard work pay-off with happy guests. We look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by juancarlos casas from new york

wonderful location on southeast harbor area

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
lovely place, very quaint and well manicured all around...very comfy cozy location with a beautiful views of the harbor/marina south.... the restaurant was very surprisingly nice and quality superb.... perhaps a little pretentious with the whole french style cuisine and service....the food speaks for it self and we thought the service could be less stuffy/ more relax fun not like im in paris dining with the king.... all good though and would stay there again !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2013 by MP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. We certainly agree that the location is unmatched. The dining room staff and the chef have worked hard to produce a dining experience unlike any other on the Island. Granted, we weren't striving for the "dining with the king" level, but a standard of service that represents Asticou quality. I do value your input, and will consider it as we move forward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
great hotel!! Good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2013 by MP, Hotel Management
We are delighted you are happy with your stay. Please come visit us again. Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by EK from NY

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel. Clean. Nice rooms. Friendly staff. Beautiful view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2013 by MP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your favorable review. Our staff has worked hard all season to ensure our guests leave feeling satisfied and relaxed. Hope to see to you again.
3 out of 5
by Te

Beautiful building but no comfort!

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Pool and view.
Cons: Rooms need serious upgrading.
Location: Azalea garden is walking distance.
Although Asticou is walking distance to beautiful Azalia park , it is far from everything else, I would have preferred to stay closer to the town of Bar Harbor, this hotel is good 25 minutes drive from everything. The hotel building is beautiful , the pool is nice , rooms are old and uncomfortable , no airconditioning or TV . Houskeeping didnt bother to replenish bottled water , soap or shampoo in the room ! Upon arrival we were not offered help to walk the luggage up the stairs as the hotel has no elevator. Coffee was served between 3pm and 5pm , how about morning coffee ? It doesn't take much to make guests happy but in my opinion this hotel didn't care. Me and my family have repeadeately been guests in some other properties that are run by the same management , and there is no comparison in the quailty of board and service. We will not return here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable that you were not completely satisfied. The issues raised are very important to me. Addressing the no A/C in the rooms is a top priority of owners and management team. Our housekeeping department has done a outstanding job all season, but please accept my apology for the neglect towards your room. The hotel does have an elevator and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning by 6:00am. Customer care is paramount to us; I am sorry you felt unattended to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

"Charming: but missing a few modern touches

Posted Oct 11, 2010 on Hotels.com
My wife still raves about how wonderful it was, especially nice to have a two room suite with the bathroom connecting in the middle. On the other hand, I would have preferred a TV in the room, and the hotel lacked a self-servce elevator. I could have bothered the desk person to operate the elevator but he was busy and I didn't want to disturb him. Elegant hotel but lacking a few modern touches. Good continental breakfast included with the room.