Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sylvia from Dallas, TX

Watch where they put you.

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
We were looking forward to staying at the Asticou Inn but when we arrived we were put in a "topsider," a freestanding building on an elevated foundation. The cell phone and wireless service in the topsider was non-existent or very spotty, whereas the same service in the hotel was good. While the room had a fabulous view of the Northeast Harbor, it was in poor condition. The freezer in the fridge was frozen solid with over 4" of ice, a wall socket near the bottom of the wall had no wall plate, the toilet didn't flush without holding down the handle and it rocked because it was not seated properly to the floor, lights were out in the bedroom. The items for cooking were inconsistent. Lots of dishes and flatware but only 1 frying pan (and two lids for saucepans that were missing). With good management of the cleaning and repair crew and a checklist of items that needed repair or replacing, this would have been a much nicer accommodation, but as it was it was just annoying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
We only got to stay one night but it was very nice. The building dates back to 1883 but has been kept in great shape or renovated to still be in excellent condition. We visited in October but in the summer it looks like there are tennis courts and a swimming pool as well as an azalea garden within easy walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Needs some maintenance

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
This Inn has all the basics but isn't for those who expect perfection. An example would be the condition of the windows and screens.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint & Charming Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: It is located in Northeast Harbor which is less busy vs. Bar Harbor (much more touristy).
Location: Arcadia National Park (via the Stanley Brook Entrance) is nearby & is fantastic. Would recommend to head to Bar Harbor for food & shops.
The hotel is actually comprised of several properties/ buildings. We did not stay at the main building (where the lobby is located at). The room was cozy but the decoration and overall condition of the building probably require some repairs/ improvements. It was also very warm (cannot adjust temperature), we kept the window open & had to use a portable fan which was available in the closet in room. However, it was comfortable and we had a nice view of the bay & hotel property from the balcony. Our room had a TV but internet connection was not the best. I really liked the location in Northeast Harbor. It does not have as many tourists which I found refreshing. However, if having restaurants, bars and shops nearby is important, stay at Bar Harbor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary from Conrwall, UK

Excellent get-away-from-it-all hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
This was just what we wanted, an olde worlde American hotel to contrast what we had experienced in New York and Boston. Some elements were a bit cranky - the reception staff blew a bit hot and cold - but in general we would highly recommend it. We had a large apartment style room in a lodge building that had three such rooms in it. !00 metres away from the main hotel and there are chalets in the grounds which it would be a good idea to request those if that appeals. Restaurant food was very high quality and the surrounding area of North East harbour and the little islands just off it were all well worth a visit.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Don't trust a booking here

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
I booked a Sat night here in August, but when I got to the hotel they had erroneously cancelled it. And had no rooms available!! Imagine my concern and surprised given it was a Sat night in high season. After first not seeming to believe that I actually had a reservation, with a confirmation number, they realized it was their mistake. They did find us another place to stay, but it was not nearly the same level of hotel and we were extremely disappointed. It put a big damper on the holiday. I would never trust them again and suggest others don't either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by George from Florida

Post Card Beautiful

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
Service and accommodations were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good for Acadia visitors

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
You can walk right out the lobby and up into Acadia National Park. Breakfast was delicious. Bar deck is lovely for cocktails. However, don't expect to bide the rainy days away with a TV (there are none in the rooms). And careful about sleeping with the windows open because we were eaten alive by mosquitoes. The bed was hard too: Kept me tossing and turning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by MP, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for your kind remarks. We certainly are blessed to have a special location so close to Acadia; we are glad you enjoyed the Park. In lasting adherence to the history of the Inn, the rooms in Main building do not have TV; however the rooms in the cottages do. We hope you may be able to visit us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels