Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old building that has been upgraded.

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Staff were very pleasant, the morning breakfast was superb. Our room was beautiful and the bed comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave and Lisa from Galesburg, Illinois

Comfortable and cozy

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was an amazing stay, with great accommodations and wonderful service. All of the staff were friendly and concerned with our every need. the Primrose is a lovely place that we would recommend to anyone going to Bar Harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bonnie from California

We'll be back!

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
A perfectly delightful inn close to town and Acadia sights. Owners and staff friendly and more than accommodating. Breakfasts were great and afternoon tea and treats not to be missed. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janice from Austin TX

Primrose Inn - a memorable experience.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, delicious breakfast and afternoon tea!
Cons: Hard to improve on perfection!
Location: Perfect location within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor!
The Primrose Inn is just wonderful, a prefect resting spot on a long day at Acadia National Park. The owner provided information on what to see and do in Acadia. Since the park was technically closed during our stay, it was very helpful to know where we could park our car and walk into the various lakes, lookouts, etc. A truly memorable B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Laurie W from US

Beautiful Inn, but not very restful

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really, really would like to give this inn five stars. It is absolutely beautiful, our room was very spacious, with a separate sitting area in addition to the actual bedroom. Our hostess was very helpful in suggesting things to see and do, and many amenities are provided, e.g., flashlights for nighttime strolls, GPS units for use in sightseeing, e-readers with newspapers downloaded daily, the local paper delivered to your door early each morning, a refrigerator with drinks or for chilling your own wine bottles, snacks, DVDs to watch in your room, a delicious breakfast each morning. The location is perfect, just a few blocks from the waterfront and downtown shops and restaurants. The one drawback is noise. We were bothered by noise from the people in the room above us walking around loudly and apparently moving stuff around (suitcases? furniture?) until 11 PM and starting up again at 5 AM. both nights that we were there. We also heard snoring and voices from the room next to ours, although this was not as disruptive to our sleep and the stomping and thumping from upstairs. If you stay here, try to get a room upstairs. If not for this one issue, the Primrose Inn would get five stars from me easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jfb from Hampshire

Best hotel on our trip

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Professionally run with great attention to detail. The inn had a great atmosphere. Breakfasts and afternoon teas were excellent. DVDs to watch on the TV in your room. Rocking chairs on the veranda. Restaurants just a short walk into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adrian from Suffolk

Perfection

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!!,
Cons: Truly nothing.
Location: Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor and the surrounding coastline and the lobster.
If we could we would have given the Primrose 10 stars as the accomodation has everything and more. The rooms, the location, our host Melissa and her staff, the breakfasts were all superb. There were also lots of little extra touches that made it stand out from the ordinary and even the very good.refreshemnts on tap and free 24/7 and free. Sat Navs with points of interest already loaded and available free of charge we an excellent touch. The only downside was having to leave! But we will definitely be back and for longer. When we arrived the Acadia National Park was closed because of the US Government shut down but Melissa knew how we could still access many of the good parts and was very knowledgeable about this and the entire area. The breakfasts were tasty and inventive and set you up for the day. We cannot recommend the Primrose Inn more highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Scottsdale, AZ

Quaint Victorian mansion converted to an Inn B&B.

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. A lot of tools ( like a free GPS for restaurants ). Free chilled water & soft drinks, DVDs & books on local attractions.
Cons: Firmer bed & lighter, warmer blankets
Location: Bar Harbor restaurants , harbor area, shops. Acadia National Park.
The staff were marvelous. This place really had its act together with amenities & service. Coffee & cold drinks & water available round the clock. Delicious breakfasts with a choice of two entrees. Really clean with modern facilities. Very convenient to Bar Harbor center. Our room had a nice separate "study" with two comfortable chairs & a table. My only quibbles were that the bed was too soft for my back and one of the blankets was made of thin cotton but weighed a ton on our bodies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

wonderful Property

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rob cannot do enough and provides a homely feel while being professional, a great combination