Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, CT

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Home made muffins for breakfast are delicious. Room is clean, just old. Nevertheless, perfect for one or two nights stand.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Must be closed by authorities

Posted Jul 18, 2015
The motel is in terrible condition. The room was smelling mildew.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Closeness to Bar Harbor. About 20 minutes.
Cons: In need of major renovations.
We were there for the 4th of July weekend 2015. Everything was booked so we ended up to this motel. Have to say that it was very clean. (Don't let the hotel buildings mislead you on this point) the office was in need of a good clean up though. Owner was very nice and made us feel welcomed. I have to admit that this motel/cottages are in a need of renovations. All this being said, for the price, it was as expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Close to Bar Harbor and 1-1/2 hrs from Campobello

Posted May 26, 2015
Staff very good and the motel is a homey little mom and pop style that aren't many left around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
just stayed 1 night one the way to another destination. clean, friendly staff, dated, window screens torn. good value for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trust the reviews

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The location near Bar Harbor was a plus. It reminded me of grandma's house - the grandma who wasn't rich or a good house keeper.
Cons: The door needs to be fix, all amenities need updating.
Location: The town is lovely...the ice cream place is delicious...we enjoyed worshiping at the UCC church.
We weren't expecting much given other reviews so it met our expectations. The rooms are old but clean. The door was sticky and we had to push hard to get it opened or closed. It was the kind of room which you got a good night's sleep but little more. It reminded me of staying at my grandmother's house. Welcoming but dreary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

great town

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: very very clean
Cons: water damage floors were very unsterdy and mold in the ceiling
The owners were extremely nice . The room was very clean but very out dated they need new rugs a newer tv and to fix the water damage because there was mold but would stay there again !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnville, ME

Cheap...

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cheap hotel close to downtown Ellsworth. 35 minutes from bar harbor and Acadia. The hotel itself looks worn down and could use a coat of paint and replacement screen doors. The room smelled like Lysol and the ceilings were stained. The bathroom door did not shut as the room was built sideways. Next time I'll book further in advance and spend a little more to just stay in bar harbor...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend IN

Worn but cozy

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: You will feel like the owner has adopted you & your family. Also, the quality of the towels is marvelous.
Cons: The Internet is not reliable & the interior of the rooms needs to be updated.
Location: Acadia National Park is just under 20 miles away.
The motel is very dated but the current owner is attempting to renovate the property. Think of lodging in the 50's & you'll be right at home here. The owner is very personable & goes out of his way to please the guests by providing a breakfast that includes homemade jam & muffins which you enjoy in his 1810 home. He is also eager to provide assistance if you're heading to downtown Ellsworth or over to Acadia National Park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

What a waste of money!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Go out of business. and t tear it down. Don't know how it got 2.9 in the ratings. Must have been submitted by owner!
We have never stayed in a place so bad. Can't believe you had it on your website. Slept in our clothes; didn't use the shower. Left at 5 AM. Furnishings were sparse and from the '50's. NOTHING to recommend it.