Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sandra and Ric from Washington State

Spruce it up!

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is absolutely stunning but this hotel needs some basic upgrading. Just a little would really help. Get rid of the horrible bedspreads, redo the bathroom which has pealing paint and is very dated. Carpets make it look dirty and old.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Steve from Cambridge, MA

Disappointed! Changed hotels.

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked this hotel at the last minute for the Mount Desert Island Marathon. I was pressed for time and looking for something reasonably priced near the expo. This place had a decent picture and rate, so I booked it. When I showed up, it was a motel, which wasn't clear from the ad. The room was very old and run-down, but not charming -- not how it looked in the picture online. It wasn't dirty per se, but it was so old and worn down that it did not feel clean. The room was spartan, and the heat was either off (freezing) or on (hot and humid). I would have been satisfied if I'd paid $80, but for $150+, I was very disappointed. We found a charming inn in downtown Bar Harbor for about $90 and switched. Thankfully, Hotels.com was very accommodating in allowing us to refund our reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by aprilshowers from halifax nova scotia

beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a combination of one motel and one hotel - which we did not know before arriving. The motel check-in was closed with a note to go register at the Hotel. Because we arrived after dark it was not easy to find where to check in and we ended up trying to find someone on the grounds to tell us where to check in. The Hotel part of this establishment was beautiful. The Motel section where we stayed was OK too - just not as nice. For the price that we paid it was more than exceptable. We would stay again and would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rusty Cullom from Greenwood

Old and nice

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was nice size, but needs updated. TV and refrigerator on the dresser. TV is old. Bathroom clean but could use some updating. Plus the water was very hot. It is within walking distance to town. Bed was very comfortable. They do have coffee in the lobby in the morning, plus a microwave. Wifi worked great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Janet/Philip Lane from Bar Harbor Maine

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
over all it was a very good stay. the shuttle system down town worked very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gael from Quebec

Close to almost everything

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The overall quality of the room was correct, one king bed with a view on the courtyard. We really appreciated the location : about 10min walking from the sea-shore and the "village-green" neighborhood of Bar Harbor. Very convenient !
2 out of 5
by first time to a from W.A. Kansas

Not as preceived

Posted Oct 9, 2013
1950 style hotel clean but not worth the 135 a night. Problems with water closee lamp had a short in the wiring and blew two bulbs. Sign out front said rooms for 89 a night on line they were 135 plus tax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not worth the trouble

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: See above. Its setting.
Cons: At least one of the staff and, certainly, a good upgrade.
Location: All that Acadia National Park is.
It promises much more than it delivers. Photos on Expedia are flattering but misleading. Rooms are antiquated (at least mine was). Sink too small for an average adult (I kept banging my head on shelf while washing). Mattress very uncomfortable. TV old and placed in a very odd location. It's a shame, as its park like location is really beautiful. Lobby (where only coffee is served) supposed to open at 6:30 but did not until after 7 (i am an early bird so it was important to me).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JE from Memphis,TN

Clean room, good location

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is an older property, but is well maintained. On a larger plot of land, so it is away from traffic noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristen from Hoffman Estates IL

Dated but charming motel.

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was really pleasantly surprised by the size of our room, the lovely view, and the cleanliness. My only complaints are that the bed was very uncomfortable and that the rooms are definitely not sound proof. Being able to use the pool and spa at the neighboring Bluenose Inn was awesome. One of the cleanest and prettiest indoor pools and hot tubs I have ever seen.