Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Spent 5 days at this resort with my family including 2 kids and there is so much that can be said but I will keep it short. Food was tasty, room was clean and comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly. The kids had a wonderful time including being at the kids club. Take advantage of the free tours available and book this as early as you reach. The glass bottom boat tour is fun and swimming with turtles is absolutely amazing. The only bad thing though is the cable channels are limited, only 13 channels. Overall it's worth the money and I give it 4 stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Go for beach not for hotel. 3 stars at best

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Beach is beautiful but hotel is not upto par with all inclusive standards in caribbean. Food choices are limited with limited hours and must have reservations for dinner at only two resturants. Some hours in a day have no meal options at all. No non motor sports except kayaks. Half of the hotel is closed. This hotel should not be sold as all inclusive. Three stars at best. Will not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom surrey

Hotel is on the beach.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly. Good facilities and evening music provided. Trip to eat at Sugar Cane Club was fun.
We had a great time. The trips included by the hotel were excellent. Water sports available on the beach. Food was good and plenty of choice. No complaints at all. Room looked over the sea .facilities were good. Nice bathroom and huge bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom miami

nice hotel close to the beach with very nice staff

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: location, snorkeling, nice staff
Cons: the comfort and cleanliness of room, bathroom, and towels/bedding, TV channels were not working properly either
Location: not much except jewelry shopping nearby, snorkeling and diving is pretty much it
Noisy room. dirty towels, or torn, cheap shampoo, soap, damaged plumbing fixtures, nice restaurant, nice staff, beautiful shores, nice beach, snorkeling, free tour on glass bottom boat, free drinks and good wine and coffee and cooking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom surrey GB

Excellent beachside position

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: We liked that you would not really need to leave this resort for anything, it has a relaxed laid back atmosphere
Cons: I suppose the hotel could do with some refurbishment but it is being taken over by Sandals next June... Management confirmed that this is a done deal.
Location: Short stroll to Speightstown but really nothing much to do or see there. We hired a car for some of our stay. ps you must do Oistins on Friday evening
We usually stay in 5* hotels... Mostly Marriott or Hilton chain so I was a little dubious about staying here especially after reading the many negative reviews... I might add that I have never before written a review but really we had a lovely stay here, the positioning is lovely, directly on the beach. The 3 restaurants all had sea/beach views... Off the resort you are likely to pay upwards of £70 each for 2 course evening meal in a beachside restaurant in Barbados not including drinks. When we arrived the first impression was that it was a little tired but after a couple of days we didn't really notice that any more... In fact it adds to its charm. Breakfast and lunch are mostly buffet style with evening meals being served.... You do need to book your chosen restaurant for evening meals which was no problem as we just booked at breakfast or lunch. We paid extra and stayed in a superior sea view room but to be honest I think wherever you stay on this resort it would be fine as there are a few pools. The stay included some activities for free and are well worth doing, boat trips with opportunity to swim with turtles... All snorkelling equipment provided... Island safari tour... Island sightseeing tour etc... But book early. Non motorised watersports are also included...snorkelling, Kayaking, Cattamaran sail boat, Body boarding with all equipment. There is also a pitch and putt course, a crazy golf, tennis courts, gym, etc. it's great here
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

Food is not up to standard

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Good beach location Friendly staff
Cons: Food Room refurbishments
Location: In Speightstown within walking distance of town Within easy access to Holetown and Bridgetown by Bus
We were a party of six stayed for 14 days. Lovely beach location friendly staff all round. Weather was not ideal lots of wind and rain unfortunately. We were very disappointed with the quality and standard of food. Not much choice, and not very well cooked. Vegetables need to be peeled and cooked a little bit longer not just dipped in Luke warm water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Really beautiful, great food and beach

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Overall just exactly what you want!
Cons: More flexibility on eating times (you need to reserve a slot each day for dinner).
Location: Mullins bar is a walk... would recommend!
The hotel photos don't really do it justice and we were really pleasantly surprised. The manicured lawns, the beautiful beach, the hotel is nicely laid out and very clean. The room is gorgeous. The bar is well-stocked with a great selection. Really lovely. And if you have children there is a little playground within spitting distance from the beach where they can frolic. Its really charming. Also a lovely selection of free activities run from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Stayed 16 Nights February into March and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing Atmosphere and included excursions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place! Don't expect to be pampered

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The ocean and sunset. The glass bottom excursion which was free was pretty good. You will definitely swim with turtles and see some beautiful coral.
Cons: breakfast times to 11 am. Food, drink service on beach,add music on the beach, add some entertainment,stock room with bottled water, room service.
Location: Speightstown is walking distance It's Boring and people are rude. Bridgetown is an hour cab ride. Fishpot restaurant is delicious,close and saved us
We stayed at almond beach for a week vacation. When we arrived our expectations we're disappointing. The resort is old and dated with no beautiful decor or lush foliage. The room was clean but the mattress was old and hard. The pillows were flat. I dreaded bed every night knowing I would wake up with a backache! Thank god for Advil and alcohol. The food was a disgrace. Breakfast is from 7am until 10am which is always a buffet. So if you like to sleep late (which I like to do on vacation) you better set your alarm clock if you want to make it to breakfast! If not you can not eat until noon which is lunch. There are only 2 restaurants to eat! One is at sit down and the other is a buffet! We felt like we were in prison because they served the same food every day for every meal...and everything is cooked with the same spice whether it is chicken, fish or beef...yuck!!!! After day two we had enough of the food and started eating out..and Barbados restaurants are not cheap! There is absolutely no entertainment in the day or after dinner on this resort. I'm all about relaxing on vacation but some sort of entertainment would be appreciated. When you arrive, your room refrigerator is stocked with 2 sodas and 2 bottles of water. If you want more water for your room you have to buy it from the gift shop right on the resort??? Or you can walk to the bar and fill up a plastic cup of water from the beverage dispenser.. I have never heard of this! Only Banks beer is offered
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice spacious hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2015
A very big spaced out hotel. My room was a 2 minute walk to the beach. Fantastic. Free tours with the hotel, three restaurants to choose from, endless drinks and even tea btw 4pm and 5pm. There are reviews that complain about it being old fashioned etc but you have to realise the the climate is different and yes it does have a certain out date feel but the hotel is clean and trust me you only go back to the hotel room to sleep mostly.