Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Cons: Bad internet connection
We had a great stay with friendly staff. close to the beach, in St. Lawrence gap with lots of good restaurants and night life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgetown guyana

Really nice hotel..love the view & the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Its was my fist trip to Barbados with my best friend,visited just for 4 nights ..and it was wonderful...we loved the view from the deck and the access to reach other beaches .😊😄..the pool was inviting also ... we will be definitely visiting this hotel again...hats off to the staff at the hotel good customer service...especially Mary from activitys department...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Location: Great Location
Great experience, no complaints, room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zwolle, The Netherlands

Good friendly hotel on a budget

Posted Jun 23, 2015
If you are on a budget and don't need perfection, this hotel is great to book. The food was good to excellent, the room was clean and spacious and the personel of Dover Beach Hotel is very friendly. They upgraded our room free of charge to Oceanview because of our honeymoon, and the overall experience is to make you feel very welcome. Every Tuesdaynight there's free Rumpunch for guests, they assist with transportation and activities and everyone I spoke was friendly and polite. On the downside, a housekeeper broke our souvenir without notice or excuse, and not everything on the menu was always available, although the offered alternatives were very good as well. And the entrance to the public beach is crowded with vendors trying to sell you stuff. Be aware of them and ignore if possible. It is actually a downside of Barbados in general. Clean towels and sheets were always available, the water is drinkable (not very tasty, but fine for brushing your teeth) and the prices in the bar and restaurant were very reasonable. A convenient store is very nearby if you like to cook something for yourself. So if you don't need to settle for perfection go to Dover Beach. I would recommend to not take an all-inclusive deal when going to Barbados because the local foods are very good and clean. For a budget hotel, this is a very friendly place to go and feel comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SKN

Great, intimate hotel right on the beach

Posted Jun 21, 2015
I visited on the off season for tourism so the hotel was not as populated, which allowed me to really explore the property at my own leisure. As soon as I arrived, the staff greeted me with smiles and wonderful pleasantries. The security took our bags to our room, but when we arrived to the newly constructed or refurbished secondary building, the room I booked on Expedia did not have a kitchenette and she insisted on having one! The front desk gladly changed our rooms and gave us accommodation in the main building at no extra charge, even though it was no fault of theirs. Talk about wonderful customer service! By the time we got back from getting lunch from one of the many restaurants in the area, the new room was clean and ready for us with our bags already waiting inside. The WiFi gave me problems as I was situated near the pool, and the pool specific wifi had issues, but I was able to go on the neighbouring hotel's wifi in the times where my hotel's Internet gave me hassles. The pool area was lovely and the beach even lovelier! The beach chairs are very comfortable and there were numerous of them available (maybe that would be different if there were a lot of tourists). The beach is lovely to go outside and relax and talk with your partner at night. Very safe. The accommodations and staff made my stay extremely enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Ocean front living...
Location: Very Touristy area.
Great Business Trip and wonderful stay... Very clean and neat surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta canada

Great location. Ok pool. Nice view on higher leve

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: On water and location close to restaurants on St Lawrence gap
Cons: Sweep. Around pool and veranda overlooking the beach
Location: Right on the beach. Great views. Hear the waves and at the end of sy Lawrence gap and 10 min walk to the main road for the bus
The location was great at the end of St Lawrence gap with all the restaurants and grocery stores. We had a suite with a. Kitchen on the top floor. Great view of the beach and close (10 minute walk) to the main road for the bus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

The deal was an excellent one.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The staff, food, accommodation, location and price.
Cons: Greater discounts.
Location: The location is excellent, with its being "on the beach"; St. Lawrence Gap is a hive of activity.
The staff was simply fantastic. The food was great. The accommodation was very good. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Good hotel, excellent location

Posted May 27, 2015
The hotel is situated in St Lawrence Gap which has all the facilities required for a stay in Barbados
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Cool hotel, great location.

Posted May 16, 2015
The hotel is average and the location on the beach is great. My only complaint is that the staff disturb me almost every morning. They talk too loud amongst each other, therefore I woke up each day way too early.