Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Halifax Canada

Great small hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: small and right on the beach
Location: The location was perfect, it is in the quite end of St. Lawrence Gap, which could get a little noisy at night...we heard nothing!
We had an Oceanfront room with a well stocked kitchenette. The view was incredible, sunrise from our spacious deck and sunset from our main door. Paying extra for that was well worth it. We are already booked for next year! The hotel staff were all very friendly especially Mary, the activities coordinator, she was so helpful when I hurt my back by arranging a massage as well as an Osteopath. The hotel restaurant was good, however we only ate there once. There are roughly 20 restaurants within a 15 minute walk, so we made our own breakfast and lunch, the went to a different restaurant every night. The hotel was very quite and right on a beautiful beach with lots of waves to body surf in.
3 out of 5
by Tim from Fergus Falls, Minnesota

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Better front desk service; better bar; upgrade the rooms (esp. the TV); enough poolside chairs for everyone
Location: Dover Beach is a pretty good location: within easy walking distance of many bars, restaurants and markets. The beach itself is decent, not great.
First, the hotel was not so easy to find from the airport: while it is in fact on the waterfront, we struggled to locate it initially, as it is kind of tucked away on a back street. It seems to have been built in the 1960s: well-worn, not necessarily run-down. It does not have its own beach, but is adjacent to a public beach. There is a small open-air bar near the pool, where the drinks are expensive and mediocre. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, others were not. An older woman (probably the service manager) was welcoming and able to give us good directions around town, but another desk person shrugged off our repeated, unsuccessful requests for extra pillows and beach towels. The rooms themselves are fairly Spartan (not much for furnishings), but clean. Ours had a refrigerator and fully equipped kitchenette; housekeeping did the dishes, which was nice. Overall, I'd say that it met realistic expectations for a mid-price range, non-inclusive hotel stay. It was primarily a place to sleep, neither positive nor overly negative.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Niagara on the Lake

Disappointing Stay

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Other than the restaurant, the staff were really friendly, however much preferred the Butterfly Beach Hotel where we had stayed previously.
Cons: Constructing the gardens during the off closed season, not in the peak tourist season of January andbetter water pressure for the shower which was low
Location: Was within walking distance of St Lawrence Gap and the local supermarket and within easy reach of Oistins fish market and Friday fish fry.
We booked a garden room, upon arrival we were shown to the Flower Block - removed from the main hotel and surrounded on 3 sides by an access road. The lush surrounding gardens advertised had all but gone due to fence construction and mid stay by a Bobcat excavator which removed an additional 2 large tree shrubs and piled up the topsoil for us to look at the now construction site. The road provided access to Dover Beach and Oceans2 hotels deliveries, we were at the end of the block in room 226 so were subjected to Oceans 2 early morning deliveries - before 6am on some mornings as well as garbage trucks, provisioning trucks as well as a sanitary sucker truck Yuk!As well Ocean2 were renovating an adjacent bungalow so we had constant construction noise. The room TV remote failed 4 times - was fixed 3 times so in the end we changed channels manually . The Resteraunt staff were rude and condescending on our only visit- we ordered a flying fish club sandwich which came with dry toasted bread - so we removed the bread to the side of the plate , when finished we were told we shouldnt waste food and should of ordered the fish cutter roll instead.!! The main hotel was much better than our block with rooms surrounding the pool with ocean views - do not stay in the Garden block it was very disappointing.Dover has a rock embedment sea wall with no beach out front , but a good beach exists to the east in front of Turtle Beach Hotel and Sandals - beware though of the large waves
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mandy from london

Dover Beach Hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Small hotel, in 3 buildings. Close to sea. Great rep, Mary, always willing to sort things for you. Small restaurant, somewhat limited choice of food. All staff very friendly. Close to restaurants and bars. Only drawback was no beds on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Suzanne Hamilton from Virginia

A Gem of a find

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was everything they portrayed it as. It was clean. The pool area was great with grass all around it. Hotel was on the beach. The restaurant food was very average. It was easy walking distance of some good restaurants though. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean. Very helpful concierge lady in lobby. Couldn't have been more accomodating. Computers downstairs worked fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yanina from NYC

Now I can survive winter in NYC :)

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Overall, nice hotel but bathroom facilities need TLC. We had room 221 . It's coner one bedroom apartment with nice balcony. Plenty of space , small caffe right across the street with great coffee , pastries and smoothies.
3 out of 5
by Saidat from Dover beach hotel Barbados

Posted Dec 3, 2013
The hotel was very basic. The food in the restaurant was ok nothing special. The staff were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dwjc from South Wales

fourth visit

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
very enjoyable, as always
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was close to what I was expecting

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: The staff was good.
Cons: The comfort of the bed- oh so hard..
I guess I have been spoiled in the past.. I'm used to staying at places like the Westin and Mariotts, I knew this place wasn't anywhere as nice as those places- reality hit when I was there. I am now realizing I have turned into a bit of a snob. The Dover Beach Hotel was fine, it reminded me of a beach house type of place> I really liked that it was right on the beach- didn't like that I couldn't get a chair on the beach- I walked to another beach about 1/2 a mile away and got a chair, table, and umbrella to lay on- that worked out well. the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, the room was very clean and the staff there was great. For a cost effective vacation I would stay there again.