Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnny from Fareham, UK

A special place

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The location, overlooking the rocky Atlantic coast, and the friendly helpful staff.
Location: Bathsheba Beach, great for ocean side strolls, but not swimming, the Soupbowl is a classic surfing locality. Hunte's Gardens are a slice of paradise
A stay at the Sea-U gives you a completely different experience of Barbados compared with the upmarket glitz of the west coast and the all-inclusive fun of the south coast. The island's east coast, and Bathsheba in particular, is wild and unspoilt and Sea-U fits perfectly into this ambiance with its traditionally built wooden buildings and relaxed atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, really enjoyed our stay there. Staff was wonderful and helpful. Location is quite far from oistens and beach is rough to swim in. Bathing pools were nice at bathseba. Recommend renting a car if staying here since bus is frequent but a long long long scenic ride. Dinner at hotel was okay liked eating and meeting other guests (family style) but the food was pretty bland for the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jen and chris

A paradise in Bathsheba

Posted Feb 23, 2014
The SeaU was unforgettable. The staff made you feel at home ...ask for SeaCat to tell you about beach excursions. The most beautiful location imaginable. Perfect vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Poll from UK

stunning views

Posted Jan 14, 2014
A lovely location making this a relaxing holiday Friendly staff and amazing views made our time in Bathsheba feel special
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Surfer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim

Amazing place to stay

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was really good. The staff was always helpful. The spot was so peaceful. I could have stayed there forever!
Cons: I would put a screen on the doors so the bugs couldn't get in. Or have something like the mosquito net available to drape over the door.
Location: Bathsheba is a pretty quiet place. However, if you rent a car, you can get to the furthest possible destination in the country in less than an hour.
You know when you picture something in your mind and cannot wait to see if that picture is what you thought it would be? The sea-u is what you picture plus more. The constant breeze from the ocean and the sound of the waves are heard all day and night. The view is breathtaking. I was so impressed with it. Upon arrival it is one of those things which put you in an instant state of awe. We traveled all around the country and saw much. I think this is a great place to stay because it is so quiet and away from it all. You could still get to the west side beaches or Bridgetown in 30-40 minutes. The driving there is kind of insane because there aren't really street signs as many westerners would be used too. However, if you just relax and accept that is the way it is you will find your way. I love sea-u. I would definitely stay there again, but I would never rent a moke again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Top Spot

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: Authentic peaceful guest house with large rooms, great decor and a huge terrace with hammocks to relax.
Location: A place to watch some of the best surfers in the world and see another side of the caribbean island.
A wonderful oasis to relax and let the day pass by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Hampshire, UK

A slice of tropical paradise

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Location, natural shade, cooling breezes, style and ethos.
Cons: The food is adequate but not outstanding.
The Sea-U typifies the unhurried, relaxed lifestyle of the east coast of the island. If you are looking for a peaceful, laid back holiday then look no further. I won't add 'quiet' to that description, the sound of Atlantic surf breaking on the rocks is an ever present back drop. This is not luxury accommodation, trade air conditioning for a gentle breeze through the shutters and a mosquito net, but the location and the friendly, helpful staff ensure you will take away delightful memories and a firm conviction to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Russ and Cathy

A lovely lead-in to a trip of a lifetime!

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was lovely, to wind-down, read in the hammocks (balcony and garden), to walk the old rail-trail along the beach, to walk in the Andromeda Botanic Garden. And there was guarding your breakfast from the bullfinches and listening to the booming surf at night! And meeting people from so many different parts of the world over family-style dinner (I'm fixing the baked plantains for dinner tonight here in cold, snowy NH!) all of this made the Sea-U a memorable part of our visit to Barbados. In fact, it was up there with the rest of our trip, sailing on the Sea Cloud, but that's another story...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drew from Brooklyn, NY, USA

Caribbean Answer to Big Sur

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: Being away from tourists, the intimacy, the friendliness of the staff, the food, and the spectacular location would be what come to mind.
Cons: I had to repeat what it is I couldn't eat and the wifi was spotty; the latter actually was, at times, a plus!
I wanted somewhere away from it all--and I got it! The East coast of Barbados reminds this native Californian of the Caribbean answer to Big Sur...and the low-key, mellow vibe is created by the upscale, boho atmosphere. Breakfast and dinners there were wonderful...one guest described it as "like home- cooked, but better! There's plenty to see nearby--the rock formations in the wild, beautiful Atlantic are breathtaking and the nearby Andromeda Botanic Gardens are a wonder. Met several people who had been there many times before...I certainly plan on going back!