Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to beach, shops, on bus route.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Was across from the beach. Staff was friendly, clean rooms.
Location: Great location. We didn't sightsee this time but across from a very nice beach, restaurants next door if you prefer and close to grocery stores.
Hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, clean, great location and staff.

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: The room, staff and location
Cons: Housekeeping could be a little more tuned to the guests time out of the room.
Location: Right on main thoroughfare and across from Rockley beach. Nice little mall with restaurants next door.
Perfect location right across from Rockley Beach and on main thoroughfare. Staff very accommodating and professional. Room comfortable and quite large, with nice size kitchenette. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Perfect location !

Posted May 5, 2013
The hotel was great! Location is perfect! Great restaurants close by. Right across from Accra beach. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We've been here twice and haven't been disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aly from Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

Pleasant hotel for a solo getaway

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: The layout of the room. It was very functional and pleasant. I also loved the cool pool!
Cons: The problems with the internet access. The food I had was extremely mediocre.
Location: Great location if you want to be near to all the South coast action. No need to rent a car, you can walk or jump on a bus.
I went to Barbados on my own over Easter to have a relaxing atmosphere to study for my final year law exams. Since I wanted a hotel which had wireless internet, and studio facilities (kitchenette, living room suite, table etc) which was in the Accra Beach area, I decided to stay at South Beach. I was pleased with my reception and the general attitude of the staff. The room, whilst it did not have "high end" finishes was very pleasant and functional and suited my purposes. The maintenance of the room and the hotel common areas was well executed on a daily basis. My big gripe with South Beach was the intermittent and interrupted internet access which persisted all through the weekend. This was a huge problem for me as I needed to be on line and I wasted quite a bit of time trying to get this sorted. The techie staff were pleasant but the problem never really went away. For the traveler who needs to be in touch for study or work this would be a significant issue. For those who are just coming on holiday this would not be a difficulty. I only ate at their restaurant once and I was not impressed. However, the locale of the hotel makes it a great jumping off point for the lovely restaurants and take away establishments in the near by plaza. I loved their funky pool and I loved my balcony with its great view of Accra. I had a peaceful and productive time and I would go back again after my exams to just relax! No need to worry about internet then!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish from Central Ontario

Not too fancy - just right!

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: The staff.
Cons: No dinner restaurant but lots close by
Location: Easy to get to, lots of things withing walking distance.
The room was large and comfortable with a separate bedroom with king bed and 2 person jacuzzi. The staff were always very, very happy to help - they arranged our tours and taxi rides and offered suggestions for meals, etc. Location was great right across from Accra Beach. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil

It's ok!

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Much better on the pics. Did receive some renovations recently, but some still is required (specially on the bathrooms).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bee from New York, NY, USA

South Beach!!!

Posted May 25, 2012
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Located on busy traffic street.
Location: Good places to eat located very near by.
Nice hotel, friendly staff. Located across the street from the beach and ten minutes from St. Lawrence Gap ( where all the action is). All they need is a bar, which I believe they were building while I was there. Overall very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pet from Miami, FL, USA

I would give a 5 overall.

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: The cleanliness,friendly staff.
Location: great beach across the street
We enjoy our stay at the South Beach Hotel. The suite was clean and comfortable,the staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angles

Thump thump thump

Posted May 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
Every hotel has its good points and its bad points. I would have to say that this one is probably right in the middle. In a nutshell, the good points are the staff, the location, and rooms, and the main bad point was the never ending disco thumping from the avant-garde restaurant at the base of the hotel. It’s not as if there was a dance club downstairs, they just kept the volume up at the open air bar. The restaurant is an Asian influenced bistro but we tried only the appetizers with drinks, so I don’t know what dinner is like. In my view, the music and the restaurant are not exactly co-mingling as far as vibe goes. The design of the place is modern and well conceived but it is clear that the building was renovated as some of the older things are still around dragging the place down a little. The kitchenettes are older but well stocked with dishes, glasses and utensils. The Pool is minimalist to say the least, but with the stunningly azure Caribbean accross the street, who really cares? I don’t like to read reviews that nit pick and bash, bash, bash but I have a few peeves that brought the rating down. Like the saying goes; “it’s the little things” There is a coffee maker in the room that takes coffee packets, but they don’t provide the coffee packets! Instant only bah!! Cream? Forget it! The tub USED to be a whirlpool, but ours had long since been disabled. They CHARGE to use the computer and internet access. Come on, it’s 2011! Who waits to check in at the airport? Not only that, the computer is a 486 mhz. (Just Kidding) And finally, I asked for an extra set of towels, for the morning as we were checking out early and the towels provided were used up after post beach showers. The staff person actually said that this was not possible! We would need to wait till the next day! Did I mention we were checking out early? All in all it was a decent place and I would probably recommend it to others who travel with a packet or two of coffee.