Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Wonderful Carribean inland setting

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Setting, size and atmosphere
Cons: Hotel directory strangely shy about communicating some benefits for guests!!
Location: Carribean rural peace and splendour yet beaches so accessible. Range of sports and activities. Virtually all places readily reached for sightseeing.
The Sugar Cane Hotel is in an idyllic peaceful, luxuriant setting, and it is just minutes away by complimentary bus from a lovely beach which fronts a sister hotel whose facilities, including meals and drinks, are freely available daily to all-inclusive guests. Visitors therefore can get a doubly enriched experience. You will feel cosseted by a friendly and attentive staff and the" home from home" feeling is further assured by the fact that the Hotel is small in scale. Rooms are thoughtfully and delightfully appointed to serve domestic comforts Yet its size does not prevent it from offering a range of services and facilities. Variety is also a feature of the food on offer, whose appeal is invariably enhanced by a carribean touch. If you want to relax and unwind, then body, mind and spirit can hardly be better served than by this Hotel. The only trouble is too many people will read this review !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Friendly staff, nice food - hotel needs some work

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The staff, quality of food in the restaurant, nice grounds surrounding the hotel, pool was a good size.
Cons: The apartments - they need refurbishing.
Location: If you are looking for things to do/places to visit, Sugar Cane Club isn't ideal at all.
We visited the Sugar Cane Club for our honeymoon. The hotel itself is ok, but in need of some refurbishment in places - the apartments bathrooms, for example. We were welcomed with a rum punch, which was a nice touch and we couldn't fault the staff - most were incredibly friendly and actually made the visit better for us. Looking back, we probably weren't the target demographic for this hotel (we are in our early 30s). It is perfect for more mature guests who aren't looking to leave the hotel during their holiday. We were more keen to explore the island, which involved a lot of driving/organising trips than we might have liked. However, the hotel staff were more than happy to help with this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Racine WI

Sugar cane is absolutely unbelievable.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing. Its perfect
Location: Bridgetown, The Garrison will open your eyes to the history of Barbados. Beaches are phenominal along with the turtles that you can swim with
The staff at Sugar Cane can not do enough for you. Large rooms are perfect and the scenery is fantastic. Pool is large and has a bar next to it for convenience and the staff will bring you your drinks if you prefer. All meals are delicious (tuna sandwhich for lunch is amazing) I've been a lot of places in the world and Sugar Cane Club Hotel and Spa is in my top 3 for sure. staff that stood out are Neil, Roy and Ricardo who are bartenders and would bend over backwards to help you. Julie on the front desk who is a delight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dora et Manufrom guadeloupe

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel intimiste, cependant je conseil à tous de faire attention au mois du séjour. Quelques averses nous ont laissés un petit gout amer car la configuration de cet hotel etant des plus ouvert laissait pénétré l'eau. La salle du buffet du petit déjeuner etait parfois parsemé de flac. Certaines chambres sont accéssible par escalier non couvert..... (je vous laisse deviné)Néanmoins cet hotel est bien entretenue la piscine impec les jardin idem. Pour les touristes FRANCAIS, Il y a néanmoins une réceptionniste extra prénomé julie qui comprend très bien le français!!!! En gros se fut unséjour formidable avec des barbadiens très ouvert et fot symphatique toujours prêt à rendre service et qui ont la main sur le coeur!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Couple friendly. Excellent value all-inclusive

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Very beautful, quiet all-inclusive. Fairly old crowd, mostly couples but within easy taxi ride of some more lively spots. The food was excellent with a la carte menus twice daily and a supreme breakfast buffet. Sorted out 4 lads with e healthy appetite no problems. All staff were very friendly, especially M'Julie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

We Will Definitely Be Back!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Designated smoking area further away from the pool. Rooms and restaurant are already non-smoking but smoke travels even outdoors. In room DVD player
Location: Shopping in Holetown, Limegrove Mall, Farley Hill, Barbados Wildlife Reserve, Animal Flower Cave and lots more.
Spent just under a week at Sugar Cane in early August. Small, quiet hotel in the beautiful parish of St. Peter. Great staff. General manager was always on site. Loved the fact that it was ADULTS only. I love children but we left ours at home and didn't want to vacation with other people's children.This hotel is not on the beach but the hotel runs a shuttle to a sister resort several times a day so getting to the beach is easy. All inclusive privileges carry over to the sister property. The location in the hills of St. Peter lends itself to a beautiful constant breeze so it was never uncomfortably hot. Beautifully maintained property. Well appointed rooms - full kitchen, great tv, balcony. They do the little things well - umbrellas in every room, lavender mist for your bedding, after sun creams, robes etc. My husband and I were celebrating an anniversary and we got a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and a room upgrade at no extra cost - something we didn't expect or seek out. Gym is small but has everything you need. Great variety at daily breakfast buffet and for dinner buffets they hold 2 - 3 times per week. Portions might not be huge by North American standards but when you're having full buffet breakfasts daily, plus appetizer, meal and dessert for both lunch and dinner it's more than enough food. Not far from Speightstown but recommend heading a little further south for shopping in Holetown or at the Limegrove Mall (luxury brands, eateries, and movie theatre). Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandyfrom Tewkesbury,UK

We love everything about this hotel!

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The great peaceful location, the wonderful welcoming and happy staff, from the General Manager, chefs, waiting staff & gardeners.
Location: Being surrounded by tropical vegetation, green monkeys, birds and all this not far from beautiful beaches and local towns, make an ideal holiday spot
We had a wonderful stay at the SCC. Not only is the setting perfect - lovely buildings in a well-maintained garden - but it is also small enough to enable guests and staff to get to know one another. It was full when we were there. However, with a maximum of 90 guests and no children, it never felt crowded and was always peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kevinfrom kent uk

Nice quiet friendly hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Well laid out hotel. Friendly staff nice pool and plenty of shaded areas to sit. Spa was excellent. Breakfast was an excellent buffet style with freshly cooked omelettes however we booked in for dinner as we were tired after long trip and we're very dissappointed with what we received. Not the culinary delight we were led to expect. That aside everything else good
4 out of 5
by bettyfrom essex

Sugar cane hotel Barbados

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Would not stay there again.
Cons: An update of rooms and public rooms
Location: Not much but again it seemed to suit the quests that came back every year.
The hotel is very tired. Beautiful grounds and well kept. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Could do with an update but seems to suit the quests we saw.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tinkerbellfrom Somerset

Beautiful, relaxing setting, very welcoming

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly, honest staff. Beautiful setting, well-cared for gardens and a gully walk. Lovely apartments to stay in, great pool, relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: More variety in the menu and lighter, cheaper options would've been appreciated. Christmas meal was ok but New Years Eve was expensive as we expected.
Location: Harrisons Cave and and St Nicholas Abbey were must-dos for us. Free swimming with turtles trip provided by the hotel was excellent fun.
Sugar Cane is a set in a peaceful location, a bit of a walk from the beach, but transport is provided as well as sun loungers when you reach the beach. It is worth being away from the coast for a superbly relaxing stay amidst lush and well-cared for gardens. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we forgot to close our safe two days in a row but nothing was touched and we thanked the management for their honest and reliable staff. They were also very good in arranging excellent value car hire before we arrived on the island. Everyone else staying was all-inclusive but that option was not available on the website we booked through unfortunately. We did find it a bit expensive, and the menu was repetitive but having a kitchenette meant we not only had the option of cooking, but that we could sample the (limited) delights of Jordans supermarket in Speightstown. I would certainly like to visit again but Barbados is expensive as most things have to be imported. I would love to stay at Sugar Cane again, it was a beautiful place to unwind and we met some lovely people. We enjoyed having a jeep to see more of the island as it is a very interesting and scenic place and Sugar Cane staff were very good at helping us plan our days out. There are a number of wonderful restaurants to try (like Juma's in Speightstown) and amazing scenery along the east coast. Swimming with turtles is a must and a great free excursion courtesy of the hotel. Thank you Sugar Cane