Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pools dazzling view

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: View, swimming pools, buffet breakfast
Cons: The hotel rooms
Location: Beach swimming pool
All the swimming pools were fun to play in I liked the infinity pool the best though the big jacuzzi was nice to relax in and the 3 main pools were good for swimming and playing around in. My brother, sister and I loved seeing the fish in the ponds they were bright and colourful though the best thing about them was the size!!!!!!!! The views are amazing though a little scary but you get used to it. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The actual hotel rooms need a bit of TLC but they were fine to sleep in. There were a few stains on the sofas, lampshades, beds ect. The beach was beautiful but wasn't that safe as the waves were huge and could easily drag someone under this means that the parents can't sit down and relax . The lift down to the beach was broken so it was inexsesible for the orderly. The buffet breakfast was really nice and very enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: because is very clean and the people is very nice and helpful
Cons: really nothing
Location: the location is excellent
i have wonderful experience, this hotel is very excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The hotel has something for everyone, the only complaint is while the staff is friendly and looking to help, not all of them will be knowledgeable. The hotel service is good but could be excellent if they paid attention to small details that would only enhance the experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, they will meet, if not exceed your accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

Very disappointed!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Travelers beware! I just got back from a stay at the Crane. I was so disappointed with the resort. They messed up my reservation, wouldn't respond to my calls or emails, room view was partial ocean at best instead of the full ocean view promised. Water constantly leaking into the room thru the windows and roof. Pests constantly in the room had to be chased off. Maid service was a disappointment too as they failed to restock towels, coffee or clean properly. Upon checkout they tried overcharging me on the rate stating they had a higher amount from Expedia. It took almost an hour to straighten out and remove all the erroneous charges!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad

Housekeeping

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds, views, the history.
Cons: As stated above
Location: Beautifully located but not much to do nearby. Advisable to rent a car.
We checked in rather late, perhaps11pm. It is disappointing that a hotel as large as this does not have 24hr room service. In fact even the restaurants themselves were all closed. Thankfully the chef was still around and prepared club sandwiches which were sent to our rooms. We did not find any hand towels in the bathrooms ( actually we were in a suite so in either bathroom). There were no bath robes either. The following day I asked housekeeping for more towels and robes. The towels were there the robes were not and the toiletries were not replenished. Granted I did not specifically request that the toiletries be restocked, but I never do at any hotel, they're just are. I trotted down to the lobby to get robes and bath gel. The following day same issue regarding toiletries however I did not bother any further. I picked up some whist out shopping. Our plunge pool was freezing but that can't be helped. Those issues aside, the suite was spectacular, the grounds beautiful, well kept, views were breathtaking, food at L'Azure OMG!!!!! The staff are friendly ,helpful, professional. Will be back very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad and Tobago

Great Privacy if you book the right room.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Personal pool and privacy.
Cons: Room survive and checking the rooms before guests arrive.
Location: Hotel is far away from the usual haunts but all are within 20-30 minutes. I stayed there to be away from the action.
Booked a room with a plunge pool with a sea view. Got in at 8pm Friday. Check in was typical for hotels, got to room and realised that I was upgraded to a room with a 12ft personal pool on the veranda and sea view but AC wasn't working. It took over a hour for them to find a temporary room and make sure that the amenities were all present. Replacement room was same size but the veranda had a staircase to the roof with a pool, garden, BBQ grill full BBQ station with large table. Though this was a garden view room, the privacy and amenities, I thought, were nicer. Went back to the original room the next day and enjoyed the rest of the weekend (oh I had to ask for towels and a iron and ironing board). Had the buffet breakfast, it was fairly good but the one day that I took room service it took forever. With the size of the property I expected it to be a while but it took really, really (>2hrs) long. I requested a late checkout at 6pm and got it complimentary, due to the earlier AC inconvenience. Overall good experience. Would return without second thought but avoid the room service. Definitely would book the temporary room over my original booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

The Crane is spectacular!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The location, the grounds, the look and feel and the staff.
Cons: The air conditioning is a little lacking but we also realize we are not used to the heat and at home keep our house fairly cool.
Location: The hotel is on the southeast coast so the water is rougher than the west coast but also less crowded than the west coast beaches.
Having never been to Barbados, my husband and I did not know what to expect. You see lovely pictures, read reviews but you are always taking a chance. I have to say the Crane was as beautiful, if not more beautiful, than the website or pictures others have provided. The grounds are a tropical paradise. The staff was over the top helpful, courteous and friendly. In some cases, they could be more informative but it was our understanding there had been some recent changes. All of the restaurants on site were very good and accommodating. We were served quickly and the wait staff were very timely in their responsiveness. We loved the facility so much we are considering the option of a timeshare which is something we have never considered before. The people of the island are extremely friendly as well. We will definitely return soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel had lot of charm and amenities in the suite.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Hotel was in good condition and service was friendly but slow. Great spot if you just went to chill and stay on property and not interested in doing anything on the island outside of the property. Close too airport. Would recommend it for a vacation where you just want to chill in a great environment.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland, USA

Disappointing.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The jacuzzi
Cons: The shutters in my room were broken, the floor was dirty, the bed was always half way made, four nights in a row I had to call for clean towels.
I expected a lot more from the facilities and was disappointed. The bathroom was the best room and the staff was very friendly. There was construction going on and the premises was not as clean as it could.be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Serious of problems

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
There were a couple of problems with our stay. In our reservation notes, I requested an in room couples message. This did not happen. Also, we were not able to check in until after 5 pm. When we got to our room the a/c did not work and spewed water all over the bathroom. The staff was polite, but was did not seem interested in resolving our problems.