Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Barbados is Our "Go To Place to Enjoy the Best!"

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Everything. That is why we return each year! Staff; service, location; beach; beach front rooms; pool! In Barbados everyone is friendly!
Cons: There is a beautiful formal dining area with lovely views, however dining there is not my choice and it is not always available. Other great options!
Location: Best location with broad beach; calm waters; near many fabulous restaurants; shopping at the hotel boutique is fun and easy. I'm there to kick back!
The Fairmont Royal Pavilion in the prime area of St James Parish in Barbados is where we return each year. Every room overlooks a wide, beautiful beach and calm, clear blue ocean water! The staff at the property and in Barbados all want you to enjoy your trip. There is a variety of great restaurants to go to; from super casual to what would please any "foodie". Service at the hotel is friendly and on going; go to the beach and your beach towels appear with extras of course; enjoy a rum punch by the pool or beach around 4pm or have tea! Service for breakfast and lunch is prompt and varied for anyone's taste; staff remembers your name; tiny sugar birds seem to remember you as well. Go enjoy the best of watersports with Ryan! He will take you out in a Hobie Cat; go explore the huge turtles as you snorkel around them you may see a4 or 5 depending on the day. Car services are available from the hotel at extra charge; concierge service is super for dining reservations; your only responsibility is to sit back, relax and enjoy it all! It is the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Beautiful beach, amazing staff

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Staff, location and big rooms.
Cons: Can't think of anything, it is expensive but Barbados is in general.
Location: Perfect, all main West coast restauramts etc are very near.
Exceeded expectatios, lovely big room, amazing view, all rooms do, great quiet beach, really friendly staff. Only had breakfast and lunch so cannot comment on restaurants as room service. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Laguna Beach, CA

Tranquility

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Location, beach, staff, rooms.
Cons: The beach towels are a bit worn. The beach and pool lounge chair mattresses are a bit worn.
Location: Swim, sunbathe, snorkel, paddleboard, sail. Walk to restaurants from dive ( Ju-Ju's beach bar) to upscale ( Lone Star Restaurant), Tennis Courts.
This Barbados hotel is located on a magnificent beach. The staff were very pleasant and always helpful. Concierge Charlene suggested some new places to eat ( This was our sixth trip to the island), that were outstanding. This hotel offers a tranquil environment that is sophisticated but low key. We never had any issues that negatively impacted our stay. Everything was always in order. We plan to return next year. Barbados is a sophisticated, cultured island. There is lots of history. The locals are generally well educated, well traveled and well spoken. There are many outstanding restaurants. This island has no "mega-resorts" (This hotel has around 75 rooms.), thus less hectic. Always a place at the pool or beach without waking at 6AM to secure a spot. Rare to see someone on their cell phone at the pool or a restaurant. While the cruise ships do sail in, few passengers make it as far as the "platinum coast". Peace and quiet. Relaxing. Tranquil.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Florida

The hotel location is excellent. Spacious rooms.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: location, beach
Cons: improved service
Location: Beautiful beach, clear water. Water sports available.
Service at restaurants was terrible. However, the managers did try to please the customer. Food was fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great for a short break

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Availability of water sports equipment, complimentary afternoon tea, great beach.
Cons: Food good but not great.
Location: Location on west coast is about 45 minutes from airport, near Holetown, the second largest town, but on a short break, there is no need to venture out
No need to go anywhere else: most water sports available, tennis, fitness centre, beach, pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

Great hotel that is RIGHT on the beach!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, location, and accommodations all were great.
Cons: Exterior buildings were slightly dated, but that's stretching to find something.
Location: Walking distance to the Lone Star (great dinner), but otherwise had to get cabs to go anywhere which while easy to do, was pretty expensive.
The location of the Fairmont on the West ("Gold") Coast of Barbados is perfect! It is on the prettiest stretch of beach for at least a couple of miles in each direction! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - many favorites, but Charlene was awesome! The food at the restaurants on site was fantastic, and very convenient not to have to leave the grounds to eat - esp. breakfast and lunch. I have already recommended this place to friends and family and can't wait to come back and stay again. Unless you can justify the multiple times the cost to stay per night and eat at Sandy Lane, the Fairmont is the best choice with little to no compromise. This is the first vacation I can remember taking that was truly free of any disappointments, minor or major, and the Fairmont played a HUGE role in the success of our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montreal

You get what you pay for... in this case a lot!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Great hotel for relaxing. Every detail handled with care. Superb staff. Views and amenities are excellent. Down side; a little isolated. Food, very pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Bit tired

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location, if you dont like the beach and want a good pool then this is the wrong hotel for you.
Cons: Needs a refurbishment, which we were advised is in the planning. My feeling is they will try to add garden rooms which will spoil the hotel.
Location: As I mentioned above a car is a must in my view, it is very expensive to eat and drink and you wont get much change out of 300 GBP a day for a family
Nice 4* hotel, in its day it was probably 5* however it is looking a bit tired and needs a refurbishment. From the perspective of beach location you will not find better, it is straight onto the beach and the water and sand are perfect. When it comes to dining and drinking you are pretty much stuck unless you have a car or are prepared to take taxis. A rental is about 20 pounds per day and well worth it. We found the south of the island much cheaper to eat and drink in, and must do's are the St Nicholas abbey and the Harrison caves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

True beach front living!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: I love how the toilet is in a separate area from the sink and tub. A nightlight in this area would be great as at night you don't want lights.
Location: We rented a car a drove to the Harrison Caves. This was awesome. Also, try Earthworks Pottery. We came home with beautiful mugs.
The hotel was amazing. We had a second floor beach front room with a terrace. It was heaven to wake every morning to the Carribean and palm tress. We chose to order room service every morning and relax with the view. The hotel catered to every need and the staff were so friendly. They are working hard to keep the hotel updated. The food was excellent. As it was off season, I was worried but found there was no need for worry. The music and dancing were truly enjoyable. The sailing, snorkeling, and swimming with the turtles were all complimentary and so much fun! My husband and I loved going to the afternoon tea time. Again, this was complimentary and the teas and treats were excellent. Having my bed turned down and slippers provided at my bedside every night was the end to a perfect day every day! Thank you to all for an unforgettable week!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cokeys

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com