Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and location

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Staff, beach, location
Cons: The pool was often full of leaves, so that could be improved
Location: Holetown nearby, lots of restaurants, seacat for casual dinner, ramshackle bar for casual lunch or dinner, ju ju beach bar for casual lunch
Very welcoming and accomodating staff, everyone knows your name, beachfront deluxe rooms are lovely and well located for the pool,restaurant, beach, reception, etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jacque from new york

Not a USA 5 Starr hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Stayed in the beach front ocean suite.. Great location nice and quiet plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas. Room came with a butler don't waste your $ only saw her the first day.asked butler to book a massage they never even called me back. Otherwise rest of staff was great.. Wasn't a 5 Starr I would say 3/1 -4 Starr.. No water pressure, expensive cans and food ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EILEENF from SANTA CLARITA, CA

Very, Very Nice resort, good location....

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Location,cleanliness and staff. Beautiful true ocean front resort
Cons: Food was okay no bad not great. Would have preferred a better menu selection
Location: Miles of beach and water activities, water skiing when have you seen that at a ocean resort.... Amazing sunsets....
Very nice experience all together. Right on the beach and a nice beach, clean and great laceration... Staff was outstanding. Everyone we encountered were very, very nice...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tommy from new york ,ny

actual beach front hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: massages were great. The good times catamaran is a must do. Ryan at water sports is such a great guy and will totally take good care of you.
Barbados is beautiful!! All of the staff are extremely friendly and always willing to make you smile. The food was delicious and the beach is great. Snorkeling directly in front of hotel is key. The weather is very hot so to be in the water quickly is very much necessary. The staff again is extremely helpful and friendly...Pierce, Edwin, Kirk,Jamal, Stephen, Joyce, Peter and especially Ryan at water sports as well as so many others were great. The wife and I will most certainly go back again.
1 out of 5
by adam

3 star rather then 5

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Not much to be honest, nothing I can say I liked.
Cons: Staff, quality of service deco.
Location: Excellent location must say west coast near shops and shopping center, lots of places to eat.
Rude and laid back staff, not friendly hotel seemed very dry no atmosphere not welcoming enough to make you feel as if your in a five star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R. B. from California

First part of Barbados Stay

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel delivered as expected. Service is very professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RB from California

Fairmont Royal Pavillion Stay in Barbados

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was as we expected from reading reviews. Service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fay from West Sussex

Perfect!

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: It has been cleverly designed to give all rooms a sea view and the beach is stunning, the pontoon is a nice little touch! Very happy helpful staff.
Location: Well located, a short taxi ride into Holetown or a 25 minute walk if feeling fit, where lots of good restaurants and shops can be found.
From the moment we arrived you can tell this hotel is exceptional. We were greeted and given complimentary cocktails by friendly staff, the General Manager came over and introduced himself. We had a beautiful room overlooking the sea. Breakfast was more than adequate with just about everything you could want and all very fresh, as was lunch and dinner. I can recommend the Gala night, that we attended twice. Again, we were met with complimentary champagne and cocktails and stayed for dinner. There was a large buffet of beautiful food, where you can have as much or as little as you like and the band was great! We were given extra time to vacate our room, even though the cleaners were waiting (thank you cleaners). All the staff are the most polite and friendly I have ever met. Following checkout and paying up, sadly waiting for our taxi, did they throw us out, no, we were offered a drink, with their compliments, and a friendly 'Bon Voyage'. I don't usually like to revisit places but I may have to make an exception, as this is a hard act to follow!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful beach

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Nice hotel and location. Meals are expensive but on the island in general not particular to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Late 20s couple on Honeymoon

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was our first time in Barbados and since we were on our honeymoon we wanted to make sure we stayed at a nice hotel. We were really impressed by the ratings and the Fairmont Royal did not disappoint. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and a joy to work with. Everything was prompt, attention was paid to detail and they made sure our expectations were met and exceeded. The food was overpriced and there are no restaurants or vendors right outside of the hotel, you have to ride into town. There also weren't any other honeymooners that we met and most of the couples were older or traveling with their children. Other than that we were thoroughly pleased.