Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Great hotel that is RIGHT on the beach!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, location, and accommodations all were great.
Cons: Exterior buildings were slightly dated, but that's stretching to find something.
Location: Walking distance to the Lone Star (great dinner), but otherwise had to get cabs to go anywhere which while easy to do, was pretty expensive.
The location of the Fairmont on the West ("Gold") Coast of Barbados is perfect! It is on the prettiest stretch of beach for at least a couple of miles in each direction! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - many favorites, but Charlene was awesome! The food at the restaurants on site was fantastic, and very convenient not to have to leave the grounds to eat - esp. breakfast and lunch. I have already recommended this place to friends and family and can't wait to come back and stay again. Unless you can justify the multiple times the cost to stay per night and eat at Sandy Lane, the Fairmont is the best choice with little to no compromise. This is the first vacation I can remember taking that was truly free of any disappointments, minor or major, and the Fairmont played a HUGE role in the success of our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

You get what you pay for... in this case a lot!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Great hotel for relaxing. Every detail handled with care. Superb staff. Views and amenities are excellent. Down side; a little isolated. Food, very pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Bit tired

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location, if you dont like the beach and want a good pool then this is the wrong hotel for you.
Cons: Needs a refurbishment, which we were advised is in the planning. My feeling is they will try to add garden rooms which will spoil the hotel.
Location: As I mentioned above a car is a must in my view, it is very expensive to eat and drink and you wont get much change out of 300 GBP a day for a family
Nice 4* hotel, in its day it was probably 5* however it is looking a bit tired and needs a refurbishment. From the perspective of beach location you will not find better, it is straight onto the beach and the water and sand are perfect. When it comes to dining and drinking you are pretty much stuck unless you have a car or are prepared to take taxis. A rental is about 20 pounds per day and well worth it. We found the south of the island much cheaper to eat and drink in, and must do's are the St Nicholas abbey and the Harrison caves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

True beach front living!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: I love how the toilet is in a separate area from the sink and tub. A nightlight in this area would be great as at night you don't want lights.
Location: We rented a car a drove to the Harrison Caves. This was awesome. Also, try Earthworks Pottery. We came home with beautiful mugs.
The hotel was amazing. We had a second floor beach front room with a terrace. It was heaven to wake every morning to the Carribean and palm tress. We chose to order room service every morning and relax with the view. The hotel catered to every need and the staff were so friendly. They are working hard to keep the hotel updated. The food was excellent. As it was off season, I was worried but found there was no need for worry. The music and dancing were truly enjoyable. The sailing, snorkeling, and swimming with the turtles were all complimentary and so much fun! My husband and I loved going to the afternoon tea time. Again, this was complimentary and the teas and treats were excellent. Having my bed turned down and slippers provided at my bedside every night was the end to a perfect day every day! Thank you to all for an unforgettable week!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cokeys

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Toronto, Canada

Awesome property. Never disappoints.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Location and amenities.
Great beach, rooms, service and very friendly staff. Highly recommend. Second visit and will be back for many years to come.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PME from London

Fantastic stay

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is ideally located on the west coast close to holetown. All the rooms have a sea view and are well maintained The staff are all very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liz from london

Pleasurable

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Just back from a most enjoyable week- staff couldn't have been more pleasant - junior suite very comfortable and loved proximity to beach- would definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pat Maher from Dallas, TX

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased with the service, the beach, and the water. While somewhat expensive, we got good value for our money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com