Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

The House becomes your home

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Everything, especially the relaxed, elegant atmosphere.
Cons: The pool could have been refurbished (it was missing some tiles), but really, with the Caribbean Sea only 30 feet away, it didn't get a lot of use.
Location: Complimentary water activities, great dinning (The Tides, The Cliff, Daphne's), excursions (Good Times sailing), and close to shopping in Holetown.
The House is unprecedented in its commitment to service, quality and elegance, while never feeling stuffy, stiff, or put-on. The property is beautiful, the location is perfect, the food is wonderful, and the staff is top-notch. We chose the House for our silver wedding anniversary get-away and were pleased all around. The hotel offers plenty of opportunity to be alone and romantic or to mix with other couples in the lounge or on the beach. The House is certainly a destination for couples.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome staff...average facility

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staff was excellent...very attentive and great service
Cons: Facility is worn around the edges...needs to be updated and freshened up. Pool is missing tiles, cushions on beach are worn, rooms are average, etc.
Location: Beach and watersports are great. Some good restaurants nearby
Thanks to all the staff who were there to help with questions, arrangements and great service. Facility should be updated to match the staffs efforts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent Weekend Getaway!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We really enjoyed the cozy feeling of this medium hotel, it felt luxurious without effort. Beautiful grounds, awesome entryway, and fantastic staff.
Cons: Lunch, could use some improvement. The menu options are trying to play to the westerns so pizza, fries, etc are listed but I would steer clear...soggy
Location: Caves, watersports, swimming with sea turtles, beach,
Staff - from the moment you arrive the staff is attentive but not over bearing. They always have a smile and a helpful answer, towel, cold drink, or suggestion at the ready. Hotel - Wow, what a great find! Excellent location for jumping around the island, a few nearby spots to eat, a quiet beachfront and fabulously groomed grounds. While the hotel isn't a big brand name you get the feeling that it easily could give the big boys a run for their money. Food - breakfast included daily, with Champaign was a treat every day. The cook knew exactly how to cook eggs (too often the eggs are overcooked) but the professional level of service extends to the chef and wait staff. Dinner - ask the Ambassadors for suggestions, every spot they recommended was great! Room - garden / ocean / pool view from the ground floor was perfect. We got the best of all worlds room 175! The lobby is a great meeting area for guests, the pool and beach front are perfectly nestled together. Plenty of room for everyone on the beach. Shade and direct sunshine mixtures, with umbrellas, and amazing sunset views!!! I wish I had never left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel great personal attention

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The staff make this hotel something special. They are very attentive to your every need. You really do leave feeling like you've made new friends. We liked the quiet laid back atmophere. We were looking for rest and relaxation and we found it here. The beach is just footsteps away and we hardly found any reason to leave. We would definately return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Enrico Simone from London, UK

Hard to find any complaint. Top marks hotel.

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely nice staff, great location. ask for room 175, ground floor but very quiet. Adults only a god sent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elly Bockley from Wilton

Amazing!!!!

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been to Barbados a few times and love this friendly, safe island. Now we have found the place we will return many times. The House is a gem in Barbados. You are greeted when you arrive and offered a complimentary drink (also when you leave!). Champagne breakfast every day with made to order eggs. As you lounge by the pool or beach, you are brought water, juice, rum punches, fruit salad and ice cream. Someone comes by and cleans your sunglasses too. You are totally pampered!!! Of course all this attention does come with a price. The house is not inexpensive - but if you can afford it - it is a GEM!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cindy from Home Counties UK

Pleasant stay in beautiful setting

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent with lots of restaurants nearby. We were able to walk for an hour with the tide out along the beach. Bed very comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast buffet seemed to be done early (with the exception of eggs) and hot items were not as freshly prepared as they might have been.
Location: Central for lots of other restaurants . Hired a car and saw Plantation House, Botanical Gardens, Kensington oval, the spectacular Atlantic Coast.
We were recommended this hotel by a friend. Our overall impression was very good from the complimentary meet and greet which enabled us to sail through passport control and the friendly greeting upon arrival at The House where our sea view room was ready along with a glass of champagne. The House has a small decked area leading onto the beach and although no 'in house' restaurant a limited menu from Dauphne's next door (just a few steps walk) is always available to eat on the deck. We actually preferred to eat on this area which has a lovely ambiance at night with the sound of the surf only metres away and the area alight with candles. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was not huge but having two bathrooms was a bonus. Probably better for not looking directly over the pool but a nice view between trees overlooking the sea. For anyone who spends their day by the pool or on the beach there are constant supplies of bottled water, ice cream, coconut milk etc. The only downside came on the day we were due to leave and our taxi which we had asked the hotel to book for a certain time failed to materialise. When we eventually got one it meant a long queue at the airport which could have been avoided!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stuart from Chester, UK

Beautiful Hotel, right on the the beach

Posted Dec 16, 2013
3 out of 5
by TheHosed from California

Better service and rooms elsewhere

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: Excellent beach access, very friendly staff (even when handling issues), location is great.
Cons: Staff needs to pay attention to detail. Rooms next to Daphne's should be completely removed. They are unusable.
Location: Complementary non-mechanic watersports, swimming.
This was kind of a disheartening stay. The House appeared lovely on the outside and we were greeted by friendly staff. However, our Room (#162) is placed next to Daphne's kitchen. And the kitchen staff decided to power-wash the kitchen at 2AM two nights in a row. After informing Hotel Management (who was "surprised"), we were moved to Room 271. VERY nice room! ... Complete a with leak in the ceiling. I also have to point out that the advertised "Personal Ambassador services per couple" are 100% false. The Ambassador button on the hotel phone forwards to the Concierge desk. It's the same person. And it's only one person, not multiple. Though staff is very friendly, they lack in attention to detail. Example: putting two people in a room and only giving them 1 set of towels and wash cloths. Every single morning, we had to call Housekeeping to replace removed wash cloths. During peak dinner hours, Concierge/"Ambassadors" were not available. The phone lines would not even be answered. We made ALL of our dining and taxi reservations ourselves. Which was maddening, because a large portion of restaurants in Barbados are closed during off season. The beach was great, the scenery was incredible, the weather great. But the rooms and service were far below expectations and, as we found out later, we paid WAY too much money to stay at the House. Competing resorts are actually cheaper, updated, and offer FAR better service! We also were 1 of 2 couples having problems with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andy from England

Bad start... great time

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Staff, location, food and cocktails.
Cons: In the end nothing.
Location: Really good beach location.
We got off to a bad start when our welcoming drink was spilt over us! From then on everything became better and better. Staff were fantastic. Breakfast always included some local dishes. Champaign was always topped up. Beach was great. The staff recommended trips and organised superb taxi drivers. You must visit the caves. Best holiday ever.