Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matt from Vancouver

great all inclusive on the beach

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: food, location
Cons: The WiFis. The internet was terrible there likely because they use a satellite provider
Location: The beach in front of waves is amazing. Boatyard, Huntes Garden, Harrison Caves, Bathsheba beach
Waves has has an awesome location on the west coast, in between Sandy Lane and where they're building the new 4 seasons. We took a catamaran tour or last day and one of there stops to show off the west coast was 100m from the hotel. Waves is incredibly relaxing with friendly staff and great food. Proposed to my gf while i was there, we went on a tour of a few attractions on the east coast (harrison caves, huntes garden, bathsheba beach) and the guide was also a photographer. If your looking for a photographer while there ask for David Yearwood
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheila & Al from British Columbia, Canada

A relaxing post-cruise stay

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Beach location, the East restaurant and Spa experience.
Cons: Hospitality training for staff.
Location: The convenient yellow bus service travelling past the hotel between Holetown (Chattel Village) and Bridgetown is an experience not to be missed.
Stayed 5 nights ( 15 to 19 Jan 14) after a Caribbean cruise. The extra paid for our main floor room overlooking the beach and ocean was well worth it. The main restaurant offered varied menus which seemed to suit everyone - however the East restaurant was excellent serving great food in a lovely ambiance. We found the negative reviews we read regarding the road running between the two Waves complexes were unfounded - there was a crosswalk which was well respected by passing vehicles if you signalled your intention to cross. Across the road was more accommodation, a lovely pool, the East restaurant and The Spa. We took advantage of our complimentary spa treatments - the spa staff we found very friendly and professional. On the downside we had no internet connection and very little TV reception during our stay which made it impossible to confirm flight reservations for our trip back to Canada and to check on family. The front desk staff did not seem to realise how important internet connection is to their guests overall comfort. Also an occasional smile and greeting when passing trough the foyer or at the bar would be welcome. Jimmy however in the restaurants was always smiling and helpful - a good example to other staff..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: The ocean view was amazing
Cons: Clock in the room. I didn't like being across the street from the resort.
Location: If you stay at the main building the location is fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad vacation

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: nothing
very bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Washington, DC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia guests second best at this hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Nice ambiance,
Cons: See my comments above
Location: Stayed in hotel whole time
Unfortunately, this hotel does not treat Expedia guests as well as it does their British clientele. We were given the worst room, facing the road and right beside their outdoor "Waves" sign which made it feel like we were sleeping in a disco with flashing lights. Further, Expedia offered three free spa vouchers as a promotion. The hotel gave us a really hard time before finally honouring these. The problem is that the spa technicians do not get paid if a voucher is used so they try to push Expedia guests who have a voucher away. First they told us that they were fully booked had no room for my wife, then they said only one voucher (of the three) could be used and only once they saw my anger did they relent and honour the three vouchers. It felt like a completely unnecessary battle. I hope Expedia reaches out to hotel management to correct this treatment of Expedia customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katrina from Clearwater, FL

Best vacation ever

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Our trip to Barbados was perfect from start to finish. Waves is a great all inclusive resort. The food was good, the rooms clean and nicely decorated, and the beach was gorgeous. Definitely upgrade to an ocean view room. Waking up to that view was amazing. We also got tons of extras added to our stay for free- free massages, free catamaran ride to swim with turtles and $800 Barbados in island cash that you can spend at shops and restaurants and activities. I never wanted to leave!
3 out of 5
by rick from canada

Rude staff and unhappy

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Beach
Cons: Staff
Location: Good
Was not treated good enough staff was rude and un helpful
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Dear Rick, I am sorry to read you had a less than perfect stay. At Waves our goal is to deliver 'Service Excellence' to each and every guest while allowing our guests to relax and enjoy the tranquil environment of Waves. We have received many compliments and comments reflecting the high levels of service experienced and welcome many repeat guests to the resort on an ongoing basis. I apologize you felt a little disappointed and hope we shall have the opportunity to restore your faith in the not to distant future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Toronto

Rainy days but still good vacation.

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: This 3+ stars hotel is located on a sandy beach - neighboring hotels had mostly rocks.Clean hotel, friendly staff and good Italian and East restaurant
Cons: It would be nice if more beach umbrellas were available.
Location: At the hotel there were available free of charge kayaks, snorkeling equipment and small catamaran. All other attractions were at extra charge and away
In the time of the rainy season in Barbados we still had lots of sun and had opportunities to go for the island’s attractions such as Atlantis submarine experience and the Safari trip around the island.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your time in Barbados
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from FLorida

Amazing Time

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Waves is a smaller hotel but has everything we needed for our stay....Staff were very friendly and really went out of their way to provide excellent service. 3 Restaurants, we enjoyed Feast very much......the beach and blue water is exactly what you imagine it would be in Barbados and the sunset spectacular. We had a Spa Room which was not beach front but on the other side of the Road where the Spa and quiet relaxing pool is...Loved it and will go back
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Thank You for your feedback, it is great to hear you had an AMAZING TIME From the Service Team at Waves