Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Wonderful!!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location, Service, Hospitality, Activities.
Cons: Some maintenance is needed, the air conditioning units seem to need some service.
Location: Beachfront facility, walking distance from a supermarket and a little boutique, not far from the capital and other shopping areas. Great tours and spa
Great little hotel, right on the beach, the staff are warm and friendly. They were always willing to help make our stay as comfortable and as possible. Special mention to both receptionists (Jackie and Katrina), they ensured that we had all we needed and more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice Resort for Couples Looking for Quiet Scene

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Waves is a great small resort. The food is good, beach is beautiful and so close, and the rooms are spacious. My one piece of advice would be this is not the scene for people looking for a 'party' atmosphere. It's very quiet and peaceful. The clientele is generally in 40-60 range. My husband and I are 23 and 24. We very much enjoyed it since it was just the two of us. Had we traveled in a large group, we would have wanted a more active scene. Overall, it is a lovely place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Had a great time at Waves!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: staff, food, facilities, beach
Location: if you want to be in the middle of the party, hence, closer to the Gap, this is not your first choice, Waves is 10 min drive from all the fun.
Loved everything about this hotel. Great beach, complimentary waterspouts equipment provide on the beach as well as loungers, umbrellas and beverages. The hotel has 2 buildings that are separated by the road. One building overlooking the ocean and beach with a pool, bar, reception and 2 restaurants in it. The other one is across the road with spa facilities, beautiful garden and pool feast - asian restaurant which we loved the most. Some people mentioned that road was an issue, we didn't have any issues about it - drivers are friendly and willing to let you cross the street there is a cross walk and the road is really narrow. We stayed 6 days in mid July, they say it's rain season but there was only one rainy day of 6, and it didn't pour all day so we still have the ability to have be at the beach. We booked through Expedia and got a free upgrade to a deluxe ocean view room which was fantastic - spacious, furnished terrace with ocean view, 2 couches in the room, separate vanity area, minibar with gin and rum in a room which was refilled every other day, housekeeping twice a day. We also got 2 spa vouchers for 2 30 min procedures at waves spa facility which we almost forgot to use but the lady from spa called us to remind of using our spa vouchers. The staff was friendly and helpful overall. Food was decent. Breakfast: eggs any style to order, pancakes, croissants and toasts. Lunch - buffet - fish, chicken, beef - cooked to order. Dinner a la carte in one of the 3 rests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice and clean. Beautiful beach.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
At first we felt a little lost and confused about the facility and how things worked and the location of restaurants, pools etc. We had to keep asking questions at reception. Would have been nice to get a personal short tour and explanation of things on arrival. We visited for our honeymoon and the hotel made no effort to acknowledge our special occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wetumpka, AL

Spectacular food and staff!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The staff, the roomy rooms, the ever flowing drinks and fabulous food, nightly entertainment, snorkeling off-shore
Location: Loved Harrison's Cave, Mt. Gay Rum Factory tour, and turtle catamaran trip
Stayed at this hotel last week with my husband. Had a few issues: namely, the air conditioner froze up immediately in our first room, and we had to move twice to get the correct room that we paid for with working air conditioning. Then, thanks to Expedia booking our stay in two separate reservations (4 nights and 1 night, in order to use Reward points since you can't use on a combination hotel/flight package), the hotel never received confirmation of our last night, and I spent a full day worrying about this and trying to reach Expedia to have them confirm the last night with the hotel's staff. But, the hotel and its management was fabulous - and they more than made up for the snafu by comping us a special private dinner anywhere on the hotel grounds, with a private butler, for the final night. The staff also went the extra mile arranging excursions for us. The rooms are all very roomy and comfortable, the beds are great, and the food is FABULOUS. The drinks are plentiful, and they don't skimp on the alcohol in the mixed drinks. Water sports was great, all the staff I interacted with were very friendly and accommodating, and the snorkeling just off shore from the hotel was incredible - spent 2 hours or so a day doing this free activity!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by The Waves Team, Hotel Management
Thank You so much Shannon for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Waves Beach resort in the not to distant future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay, the staff really care

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Great staff, great food
Location: West coast of Barbados, fantastic location
Great food, very friendly and nestled on the beautiful west coast of Barbados.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2014 by The Waves Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star Review. We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Waves when you return to our beautiful Island.
3 out of 5
by Chris from Brooklyn N.Y.

Pleasant for. R&R

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The Hospitable of the Staff
Cons: The false advertising of All inclusive and beach.
Location: A local grocery to get a snack to subdue your hunger . Otherwise nothing's close by.
A nice and clean place to stay for R&R for older couples. The staff were very hospitable! The part of it being all inclusive on the other hand is really not to inclusive with a half a kitchen with two industrial home style stoves too prep part of your meal wasn't what was impressive. After a small amount of time to eat and not much to really choose from was very disappointing Omg! Not too mention a fraud excursions trip to 1 of the area's n town. In the evening of suppose to all u could drink and eat. Not! Only if you call a drink from the drivers van before go to a part of town off the half beach friends suppose to be a Fish fry Ha! I went the same place the next day for a dollar american money or $2.00 native money as oppose too the $80 ripped off!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and friendly staff

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The location on the beach and staff
Cons: physical details of the property could use some improvements.
The view was great and the people very friendly. The food was acceptable and drinks were fantastic.Only detail would be with the refinement of room details.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not respectful

Posted May 24, 2014
It was the worst vacation I ever had , the manager could have been more friendly, my trip was a complete desister but the manager could have made it more better for me and my wife
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by The Waves Team, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to learn you had a less than perfect stay. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service to all of our guests while demonstrating the wonderful Caribbean Hospitality Barbados is so famous for. Again, we are sorry to hear that was not your experience. I hope we might have an opportunity at a future date to restore your faith and show you the service we have become known for and why 90% of our guests return to Waves year after year
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicki from Bedford, NS

Nice hotel great food.

Posted May 20, 2014
I loved the room layout, two level living made this room very spacious. When booking I booked an island view not knowing that this was a view of many homes and some buildings and the main road around the island! I would recommend ocean view for sure. The street was very busy and very noisy, if you are looking for a quiet vacation away from the noise of traffic do not get an island view room. I asked to change and was willing to pay additional however did not receive any satisfaction. The food was great! We dined at Feast which was amazing..I had the best Pad Thai ever!!! We also dined at Seascape..the food was great also but very slow. To serve and eat an appetizer, main course and dessert took over two hours. This is a very small quaint resort and I was surprised that the staff wasn't more hospitable. The maids and the watersports guys were the most happy and friendly of all staff members. I've been to much larger resorts and felt more welcomed than at this resort. No one was rude...just not so welcoming as others places I have stayed. Overall it was good and I would recommend it...Oceanview!!!