Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Least favorite apartment in Europe I have stayed.

Posted Dec 9, 2012
Overall the place is nice and was a adequate for our needs. Nothing fantastic, but not poor either. Here goes the good and bad... Bedroom - Well furnished, plenty of storage and size is good. Bed is very firm, just a step above sleeping on the floor. No additional pillows or blankets provided. Since it was winter and in the low 40's at night, we had to leave the heat on all night long, which made it very dry and the fan blew on half the bed all night. Living/ Dining Area - Furnished with your standard Ikea furnishings. Nice size. Kitchen - Comes with most everything you need to prepare meals. Coffee maker is the one cup Italian style. Here is the thing that got me. No sponges, paper towels, salt, pepper, sugar, oil... nothing. You have to purchase EVERYTHING. I have stayed in many apartments throughout Europe and this is the first one that came with absolutely nothing. They do not sell singles of paper towels or sponges in the markets there, so you end up spending quite a bit for items you will never use. For the hotel to provide this it would cost very little to nothing for them per room as I know I had to buy a 6 pack of sponges for example and used one, leaving the rest. Staff - Non-existent. We were there a little after 2 to check in and no-one was there. He finally showed up at nearly 4. We stayed for 8 nights and only saw the guy at the front desk once. Check out? Ha. I just left the keys and bailed. Oh, and he only speaks enough English to check you in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Apartment

Posted Mar 24, 2012
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: n/a
Location: good
Superb location and quality,great price and metro 5 minutes away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Great value for the money!

Posted Jun 16, 2011
We had a great apartment on the 4th floor with fully equipped kitchen. Amazing view at Jean Nouvel's building - Torre Agbar. We stayed only 2 nights - they changed our towels and the maid had the dishes done and cleaned the kitchen - which we didn't expect. We felt very safe walking at night in our neighborhood. It was easy to get around - there was a bus stop nearby that took us straight to the Park Guell and La Sagrada Familia was 10 min walk away. The only problem was that the metro closes at midnight and then you have to take a cab to get back. to the apartment, but the ride was pretty cheap since we walked all the way back to the top of La Gracia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kansas city

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peppon from makati

GEM OF A HOTEL

Posted Apr 30, 2011
Great location, safe neighborhood, very comfortable, new and modern apartment. Had all the comforts you'll need for a short stay. Stayed there 4 days with my daughters, prior to our cruise. The apartment is a mere 5 minute walk to the nearest metro stop...or a 15 minute leisurely walk to Sagrada Familia. Easy to miss the entrance of the hotel because there is no signage. Don't arrive before 930 AM though as the front reception opens at 930. The guys manning the reception are all quite friendly and will help you with whatever concerns you have. WiFi is available for a few USD a day. There are stores and supermarkets nearby and a laundromat a block away. Will definitely go back there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Osprey, FL

Modern, Clean Apartment near Sagrada Familia

Posted Sep 29, 2010
Apartments Suites Independencia are modern apartment suites in the Eixample District. There are two metro stops very close to the apartment, lots of shops and restaurants, a huge mall and the Sagrada Familia is a 5 block walk. We had a two bedroom apartment. One room had a king and one twin beds. Very modern kitchen. We were only there two nights so did not really use it so couldn't say if it had everything you might need. Shower had excellent water pressure and lots of hot water. We had a terrace but the view was just the back of other apartment buildings. As mentioned we were barely in the room. We loved the automatic blackout shutters. We had our best night sleep there but they are dangerous if you don't set a clock. I woke at 9:40 and thought it was the middle of the night. There is a flat panel tv but no channels in English. It was the perfect set up for a family traveling with a child.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca

Some fixes needed.

Posted Jul 13, 2010
The rooms was fine, the only thing I did not expect was having to furnish all the kitchen supplies. We had dish soap but had to purchase sponges, paper towels to was the dishes we dirtied. The maid simply threw all the utensils into the dishwasher. When we arrived, the frying pan still had crud from the last (?) guest and was impossible to use without cleaning it. I enjoyed the opportunity to cook for ourselves and stores were close by so shopping was a breeze after figuring out where we were in the neighborhood. The fruit and vegetable stand on the SW corner of the hotel block was fine and quite reasonable. The metro was two blocks away and is very efficient. One tip, we had problems with pickpockets on the metro, they got away empty handed but did attempt to knock my wife to the floor to cause a diversion. KEEP YOUR EYES OPEN. The gal who attempted to gain access to my fanny pack, worn in front stood beside me and reached around her large purse, her partner a guy tried to distract us by pushing my wife down to the floor of the metro. I did catch up with him and shook my finger in his face, he laughed and went about his business to find another victim. Yes I would return to Barcelona and this location was fine and the room fit our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

More than expected

Posted Mar 10, 2010
This is not a regular hotel with a lobby and full time clerk. There's a phone outside the entrance door to call a clerk, who shows up within a few minutes. The clerk was very helpful and went out of his way to accomodate This is an apartment with a fully stocked kitchen (not food) and two bedrooms It must have recently been remodeled and appeared like new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Will definitely stay here again

Posted Jan 27, 2010
The apartment was fabulous! We will stay here again with no hesitation. The apartment was large and well appointed. In a great location just a block away from the metro, and surrounded by many food stores. Our only complaints were that the apartment could have been a little cleaner (the bathroom mostly) and there could have been some basics in the kitchen such as washing up liquid and a bottle opener (but we bought one and left it there). Also, it was a bit of a hassle to get and pay for wifi - which should be available and included in the cost of the apartment. If you want wifi, you have to call reception to arrange to meet someone in the lobby who will give you a pass code that's good for 24 hours and the cost is 4-5 Euros. So we suggest you buy as many 24 hours worth of wifi you'll want to have when you check in so you won't have to go out of your way later. (the pass codes for 24 hours are different and the time only starts when you first use the pass code) As an alternative there is at least one wifi cafe nearby.