Ratings based on 483 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenience for the culture of Barcelona and metro

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The location and confort
Cons: Expected light lunches, drinks etc to be available in a separate cafe arrangement, rather than from the lobby lounge
Location: Within walking distance of all places of interest with the addedbonus of metro close at hand
The Hotel was well suited for our visit to Barcelona (7th visit) to explore and absorb the culture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

4 star hotel, 5 star experience.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, service and our room with large balcony.
Cons: WiFi.
Location: Close to Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. Many good restaurants adjacent.
My title says it all. Although the hotel is only rated 4 stars it had everything that I expect from a 5 star hotel. It is well located just a hop from the Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable experience. The room was modern, well furnished and clean. Breakfast was served buffet style and included a choice of hot and cold dishes, served in a beautiful dining area. My only disappointment was the WiFi speed, which was as slow as a tortoise on crutches!! Thankfully they upgraded their system on our last day but it was too late for us to really experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

Great great location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Traditional hotel in the center of Barcelona, almost At the corner of Gran Via and Paseo de Gracia. Big bathroom and great selection for breakfast (12€). The room key is heavy, need to leave it on reception, could improve that. Good value for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely character

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Lounge area was lovely to sit in and watch the world go by. Bedrooms clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant.
Cons: Breakfast - would be nice if we had fresh fruit.
Location: Location easy for the hop on/off buses. Easy reach of other restaurants - felt safe to meander.
Hotel has old style elegance, rooms very clean, staff pleasant, good location. Only downside was the breakfast - fresh fruit would have been nice - but still ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lola

Location, location, location

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Excellent location, just two steps from paseo de Gracia at Gran Via, taxi, bus and metro station, just there The wifi is terrible , doesn't work at all The bathroom has very bad ventilation The room was very comfortable The breakfast, was included and was very complete
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kev from dubai

great for a three night stopover

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: continue to refurbish the higher floors
Location: great central location
great central location. hotel has enjoyed former glory. the refurb has only reached part way up. as you climb the floors the decor gets more tired. however as a base, it would be hard to beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francesca from London

Nice hotel very central

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: the location was great, we could walk everywhere without taking pubblic transport
Cons: the clean service
Location: 2 min walk from placa catalunya 10 min or less from la rambla e main turist location 3 stops by metro from placa d'espagna or sagrada familia
Great location, only one block away from placa Catalunya where all the shuttles come and go every 6 minutes to/from El Prato airport, also main place where to catch the bus tour. The staff was great, friendly and customer service was excellent. The first night we were given a room where something went wrong with the air-con system and the noise was quite bad, we were moved and upgraded into a better room first thing the following morning and one of the guest was given breakfast for free for the entire staying. Breakfast was amazing! I highly reccomend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pat from england

Hotel avenida palace

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Location was great for sight seeing for tour buses and airport bus about a mile from the beaches
Cons: It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facility in room though there was a mini bar
Location: Location could not have been better next block along from the central square where the airport bus drops you off and where you pick up tour buses
Arrived at hotel very early room was not ready but they were quite happy to lock our luggage away so we could go off sight seeing room was lovely the hotel staff very nice we had not booked breakfast but you could pay 12 euros each a day for the buffet breakfast which was also good would definitely go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter

A very comfortable hotel well situated centrally.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Location in city and comfortable with friendly reception staff.
The hotel is ideal for a city break as it is well situated and access able to open-top bus tours of the city. Breakfasts were good although dining in the evening was limited due to parties occupying the dinning room and were a bit noisy. The bedrooms were comfortable and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from UK

Very well situated, lots of character.

Posted May 19, 2014
Well situated, close to transport systems and an easy walk to Placa Catalunya, Las Ramblas and Gothic Quarter. Older hotel but with bags of character, magnificent lobby. Friendly, helpful staff. Would stay there again.