Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony and Trish from Walsall, England

Clean hotel in good location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: We liked the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. the roof top jacuzzi and pool and the location
Cons: Strongly recommend that guests check whether the rooms are internally or externally facing.
Location: The hotel is within 10 minutes walk of Placa de Catalunya and La Rambla. Lots of cafes around for breakfast. It cost 30 euros for a taxi from airport.
This is a hotel which is trying to particularly encourage gay visitors. It is also very hetero friendly. The staff were very friendly and were keen to help with local and tourist information including assistance in catching a train out of Barcelona to visit friends. We had booked to stay in a basic room but, on arrival, we were upgraded. Our room was clean and modern with a large, comfortable bed and plenty of room for storage. See comments below concerning the aspects of the rooms. We did not use some of the hotel facilities including the restaurant, spa or bar. We were disappointed that the roof top bar and jacuzzi / swimming pool were not open until the last day of our stay as we were visiting out of season. We were allowed to use the jacuzzi and pool after we had checked out while we waited for our train connection. Although we liked the room it was inwardly facing onto a small courtyard with very little daylight and no direct sunlight. Also, it had a large picture window but no net curtain which meant that it was not possible to open the main curtain and maintain privacy from guests in the rooms opposite. Consequently we had to keep the curtains closed throughout our stay. As this was a dark coloured curtain it felt somewhat claustrophobic during the day. We did not ask to transfer rooms and when we raised the issue of privacy with staff at the end of the stay they were happy to show us other rooms which look out onto the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally Located Comfort

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Clean, friendly hotel. We stayed in an interior room with a king-size bed. Rooms are small, but efficient. In-room safes are provided as well as stock mini-fridges. There's not much storage for more than a couple days worth of clothes however. And unless you're an exhibitionist, you'll leave your curtains drawn closed. Hotel restaurant serves excellent food. The hotel bar is pricey, but also expertly staffed. The hotel itself is a 2-block walk from the Universitat Metro stop, giving you easy access to the rest of the city. It's also in the heart of the "gay" section, so there are tons of gay-friendly bars, clubs, and restaurants within walking distance. We just came back (March), so the roof-top bar was closed; but you can still go up to the roof and enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, and warm spring sun. You're given wifi access code per person, not per device. So if you have more than one device per person, you'll need to ask for more codes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dennis

Nice break in Barcelona

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff.
Cons: Tea and coffee making in bedroom.
Location: Convenient location with plenty of restaurant options nearby and most main attractions within walking distance.
Spent 3 nights at the Axel hotel to celebrate a family 60th birthday. Didn't realise when we booked that the hotel is a gay favourite (We're not gay.) but wasn't really bothered about it and, with the exception of a few bedroom pictures that you might not like a child to ask you about, there was nothing that could cause embarrassment. The hotel's position is convenient about 7/8 minutes walk to the north of Placa Catalunya and we found the hotel clean and well maintained. Rooms were modern but simple and ours had a nice view over the square plus a veranda. the only thing missing was tea/coffee making in the room which wasn't too much of a problem as breakfast was included. Breakfast was a good range of cold choices plus scrambled eggs/bacon - not fancy but perfectly adequate. The best thing about the hotel was the staff. All young, all speaking perfect English and all very willing to be helpful. We'd certainly look at this hotel again if we were returning to Barcelona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pat from los angeles

Just Barcelona!

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: it needs some updating and more room for clothes and such
Location: close to metro, restaurants (all types), bars, near Las Ramblas, shopping.....quite a good location
great hotel location! near the Metro, taxis a plenty, and it seemed always less than 1.2 km from where we wanted to do. beautiful roof top pool and lounging area....room was small, but even on the street side - quiet. bed was comfortable..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel!!!

Posted Feb 9, 2014
This is a very nice gay friendly hotel to stay at. This will be my choice next time I'm in Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel ! Great Service

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Location // room // Service
Cons: Bar should have more activities
Location: Great Location
we were there for 03 days and everything was perfect ! My boss and I had great experience at Axel hotel, My boss is Hotel Owner and his opnion was ! Fantastic !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hendrik from London

New Year at Axel

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a great location but not the best stay, Axel Berlin set a standard that was not met in Barcelona. The room was small and uninspiring, the towels grey and thin(should have been replaced years ago), the shower takes 15 to warm up with thoundsand of liters of water wasted. The breakfast was included but not good at all, bread never fresh, hardly any fruit and just uninspiring. The spa was good but an addition £10 per use is not worth it, as a guest one expect to be able to use it as part of the room. A good stay overall in a great city but a not so memorable stay at Axel. All the potential is their but the management need to be stepped up and with small changes it will be a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Unsure

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The desk service was great. However, I was not informed this was a gay Hotel when Hotels.com book fit for me and was totally uncomfortable in my surroundings especially having naked art of men on the walls.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heavy & Somewhat Graphic Homosexual Theme

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Pros: It was clean & the staff was friendly.
Location: Close to Rambla Street
I think the title of my review says it all! :) It's not a bad hotel, it was quite stylish. My girlfriend booked it on the internet. However, everywhere you turn there is either a naked guy, a half naked guy, or some combination thereof containing multiple guys. Heck, in my room, there was about a 5 foot long picture of a naked guy laying down! haha. She had us booked there for 3 days & by the end of the trip, even she thought it was a little much. Like I said before, it's not a bad hotel, I'm just throwing out a warning that most guys would enjoy. Had we known the above info, we would have stayed elsewhere. If the above doesn't bother you, or actually intrigues you, book away. Everyone was very polite & courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Randy H from Toronto

Great Location

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel but getting a bit frayed along the edges. House keeping so-so, at this level of hotel I would expect the room and halls to be spotless. Very good Breakfast, nice selections of cold foods and a couple of hot ones as well.