Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice central hotel ideal for exploring Barcelona

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Hotel clean and tidy. Excellent location, 5 mins walk from Las Ramblas. Staff all very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice Hotel in great location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Lovely clean and practical small hotel nestled in a great location. The price and facilities were a great value mix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long weekend in Barcelona

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Hotel is clean and modern, I had no complaints apart from the size of the room, it was very small for three people.
Cons: Rooms need to be bigger for three people staying.
Location: Location is perfect, within walking distance of many of the attractions, plus loads of great shops and restaurants.
Spent a four day weekend in the lovely city of Barcelona.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great Location, odd room

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The hotel was in a great central location and all sights were easy to get to on foot and from Universitat metro station. However the room we had, had an inward facing window, subsequently the room was very dark as we had to keep the blinds shut and window shut overall it did not feel very private (we could here lots of people walking around in the morning which was quite disturbing). The air-con wasn't that cool and the fridge in the room was also not very cold. Some rooms are probably better but there are a lot of inward facing rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good placement, clean and tidy hotel.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location was spot on.
Cons: Cleanliness of the breakfast room and cutlery and cups.
Nice welcome most staff were friendly. Breakfast was good although I felt the staff could have been more productive with the cleaning. Plates and dishes were left at the table, which in turn built up, also the floor could have some with a sweep. Our last day we went into the restaurant when it opened at 7.30, and nothing was ready. We switched on the toaster there was not hot food ready, we also noticed our coffee cups were dirty and needed to be swapped. It's sometimes the little details that are the most important.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Nice clean hotel close to all

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Excellent and accommodating multilingual staff - English, French... Rooms are typical European small but perfect for us, very clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast buffet is a must!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good for a late check in

Posted Aug 29, 2014
The man at the front desk was amazing on the phone as well as in person and greeted me with a smile when I arrived from a late flight at 2am. The room itself smelt somewhat of smoke but was clean. The problem however was that it faced onto the reception area. I heard every doorbell, every late night drunk entry and every conversation at reception. Did not add up to a well rested night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saddleworth, UK

Well located modern hotel with good facilities.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!
This was our fourth stay at the Gran Ronda and was to their usual high standards. Staff are friendly and multi-lingual, rooms have pleasant decor and are cleaned daily. The hotel provides each room with a safe, hairdryer, kettle, air-con and free wi-fi access, essential for keeping down costs of communications with home country and information searches. The location is ideal for us, just ten minutes walk from the Ramblas but far enough away to guarantee a quiet nights sleep. There are stations at the top and bottom of the street giving easy access to the metro system as well as numerous cafes and restaurants offering drinks and meals at far more reasonable prices than those near the Ramblas. We would particularly recommend Els Tres Tombs for their menu of the day and tapas located at the bottom of the street and for the best value around, the Cafeteria Restaraunt, just two stops down to Diagonal station which offers a three course lunch for under 10 euros and is very popular with local residents. Getting to the hotel is easy, just take the Aerobus from the airport to the Placa de Universitat and its only a two hundred yard walk down Sant Antoni street. We find the Gran Ronda is reasonably priced and ideal for our needs. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Perfect location! The Metro is just two blocks away. There is a 24-hour supermarket across the street, along with various other 24-hour bars in case you get hungry when other stores are closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Telford UK

Comfy Central Place

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent, very clean roomy rooms with good tea making facilities.Comfortable bed and it was generally quiet. Good wifi service.
Cons: The shower could be better, it was very weak so i chose to have a bath instead ! Also the TV channel selction was very poor.
Location: Location was great. Not far from Metro, La Rambla a short walk down very narrow interesting streets and in the other direction the chinese area.
Pleasant welcome with a very quick check-in and all my booked details on their system as expected. The room was a nice medium size, very clean with a large marble tile effect bathroom containing a stylish wash basin. The shower was ok, it could have been a bit more powerfull though. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was generally quite quiet so it was always easy to get a good sleep. The room was always cleaned and left very tidy by the hotel staff each day.The tea and coffee facilities were handy and the hotel had a good free WIFI service which had a good healthy signal, most hotels say they have this free but you cant get a strong signal,at Gran Ronda it was excellent. The location turned out to be ideal, a 10 minute walk to La Rambla and handy for an all you can eat chinese buffet resteraunt i found nearby in the other direction ! Near Urgell metro called Wok Barcelona, highly recommended at about 15 Euros per person, on La Rambla you`ll pay at least double that ! So this hotel was ideally located, there is also a nice bar just outside which is handy to sit at before going into the hotel at night.