Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from Hastings UK

Great Hotel in good location

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Would have been nice if they did evening meals
Location: Great location, within walking distance to some of the main tourist attractions, close to metro and buses for getting out and about
Stayed here for 3 nights, Reception staff on arrival very friendly & welcoming. We chose not to have breakfast as was cheaper eating out. Room lovely very clean, with a comfy bed, facilities very good with a nice pool and jacuzzi and a very nice garden area to relax in. Was very easy to see the city some places of interest within walking distance, with some amazing bars and restaurants in the local area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Liz from Surrey

Excellent location

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
A friend and I had a two night stay to sightsee and shop. The hotel was well placed for both of these. It is modern and clean and once we moved from the rooms we were initially given at street side to the back of the hotel we found it very relaxing. A necessity for me is wifi and this was free of charge for the first three days (perfect for my length of stay, but had I been staying longer that would have been a disappointment). If I return to Barcelona again I will certainly stay at this hotel provided there is no major price rise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very trendy in a good location to many sites

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location was a long walk or short tube ride from many main attractions (Placa de Catalunya, Sagrada Família, the port area, etc.).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Glynn from Cornwall, UK

Clean, good location, helpful staff. But noisy.

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: We liked the location, cleanliness and staff.
Cons: The beds were a bit hard for our liking. The WiFi internet is next to useless. Less noise would be good.
Location: The location is a great central base from which to explore. We walked to almost all the main attractions from the hotel. We do like walking though!
We were offered a room upgrade on the basis that it would give us a view and a 'quieter' room. In hindsight we should have taken more notice of the emphasis on noise! We didn't upgrade and our room suffered from noise at all hours from the corridors, the rooms above, and very noisy plumbing. It sounded like all the waste pipes for the entire hotel passed behind the wall of our room. Our room suffered from 'wear and tear' such as broken tiles and a chipped sink which detracted a little from the experience. But these things are typical of a 'budget' room. However, it was very clean, and the staff were friendly and obliging. The location is *great*. There are some good restaurants close by, and a 24hr corner-shop just down the street. Landmarks such as Placa Catalunya, La Rambla, Casa Batllo, and La Pedrera are within easy (10 min) walking distance, as are a couple of Metro stations, and stops for the popular tour-bus routes. Sagrada Familia is an easy 25min stroll on the flat. We didn't use the restaurant. The biggest disappointment was the Wi-Fi internet, which was a 'must' on our list of requirements. Unfortunately it is run by a third-party and the 'free' service is actually quite limited (web browsing only –expires in 3 days). I upgraded to the paid service but even that is slow, unreliable, and annoyingly requires frequent re-entry of your credentials. If WiFi is important to you Balmes is not for you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
close to centre of town - clean - breakfast choice limited to buffet only which was very expensive- alternative cafes close by
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Osman from Ankara

Perfect location with tinyiest beds!

Posted Oct 22, 2013
This hotel is in a perfect location for visiting Barcelona. lots of nice restaurants,bars and shopping areas are 5 mins by walk. But the biggest drawback of this hotel is that they have the smallest beds i have ever seen!i can not even turned to other side when i was sleeping during my whole stay!room was superior supposedly but i didnt see any difference from standart room so dont spend your money on an upgrade! rooms were clean,hotel was nice and gnereal manager was very kind and he interested on our feedbacks personally,thanks for his efforts.if you are tall,chhose another hotel,if you dont care about bed size then it is a perfect place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bronco from USA

Good Time

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Close to the action. Nice breakfast. Swimming pool area was nice. Friendly staff. Good experience .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Glasgow, Scotland

Very nice hotel in great location.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location, decor and maid service were all great.
Cons: Asking reception to book tickets for La Sagrada Familia would have cost double that of the same tickets from any of the Caixa ATMs.
Location: One street west of Rambla de Catalunya which is itself right next to Passeig del Gracia with Gaudi's famous La Pedrera and Casa Batllo.
For the cost, you would be hard pressed to find a hotel in such a great location. Located one street west of Rambla de Catalunya which joins the famous La Rambla at Placa de Catalunya, this hotel was ideal for our sightseeing week in Barcelona. From the outside the hotel is unassuming, but upon stepping into the foyer you are greeted by a shimmering hallway of bronze and marble that houses part of the hotel's exhibition of African art. The rooms are no disappointment either: ours contained a larger-than-double bed, small table and chairs, dressing table/desk with a TV and mini-bar, and a leather sofa. The décor is contemporary without being cold and the bathroom complete with shower over bath was above standard for a 3 star hotel. My fiancee found the hairdryer a little lacklustre, and the cost of breakfast helped make sure we didn't hang around the hotel every morning but beyond those two minor points this hotel was just what we were looking for.