Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but.......

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, price
Cons: Communication. Phone that someone could answer. Identification of which entry buzzer to press at the doorway.
Location: Food, la rambla, marina, train station. Short walk to stop for both of the commercial hop on, hop off buses, which are a great way to see the city.
Inexpensive. Located in the heart of barcelona's gothic quarter means easy walking to food, shopping, marina, La Rambla but it also means a very, very noisy alley below the open window which we needed to keep the temperature reasonable. Found the address but had no idea which button to press or where to go inside the building. Shop owner across the street was able to help. Checkin was 3 flights up and room another two. Needless to say, no elevator. Be young, healthy, and with little luggage mi amigo. Room was clean, bed firm but not hard, pillows and towels adequate. Cereal, coffee, juice available in community kitchen. Community bathrooms were clean and adequate. Unable to reach anyone by phone before or when arrived for directions. Overall, probably not much different from any of the many similar rooms in the area.
1 out of 5
by Ram from San Antonio, TX

Not good.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Cleanliness, fix doors, make it more presentable and appealing.
Location: Location was perfect to stroll down la rambla and beach.
Even though in a perfect location, it was a negative experience for us. Don't know when cleaning would take place. Bread crumbs all over kitchen floor. Beds hard to sleep on. Dilapidated door. Room too close to the ally (24 hr. out side noise.
1 out of 5
by TERRIBLE

Horrible stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Horrible service. Had to switch rooms a bunch of times. Rude staff. Dirty rooms and bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice bed and breakfast close to the center & ocean

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The room had character which I appreciated. It was overall a very clean place.
Cons: More information about how to get into the building and where to go once inside.
Location: There was the ocean about a 20 minute walk, and La Rambla and shopping areas were not but 10 minutes away.
This B&B was very close to both the city center and the ocean, best of both worlds. Had trouble figuring out where it actually was though, no directions on how to get into the building on the reservation sheet. Also, if you cannot walk up tons of stairs then I would not recommend staying here.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Balaji from Portland, OR

Small clean place in a medieval setting

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, right amidst the Gothic quarter - very close to the Ramblas, metro-station as well as several other attractions (cathedral, picasso museum etc). The check-in formalities can be handled better - there were lengthy instructions on where to come, what to dial, etc etc; language was a problem at check-in. Once settled in, everything was okay. The common kitchenette even allowed for a home-cooked meal once in a while.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephen from Altea

What can i say

Posted Mar 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean but tired apartment. Needs some tender loving care. Location could not be better. 5 people 3 nights. Breakfast was 2 spanish espresso capsules, 2 dried up croissants. Half a box of nesquick. Bottle of white wine. one third of a bottle of water and a half full opened soyer milk in the fridge. That was 3 days breakfast for 5 people. BIG JOKE. After booking i paid €90,- more than the booking price. After taxes and extra for this, extra for that. NEVER AGAIN!!!
3 out of 5
by elias from Cyprus

Location was good

Posted Mar 7, 2013
The apartment was renovated and in good condition Few things are still missing like towel hangers or light in the bathroom. The only problem I faced was the noise from the alley which started around 12pm and went until the early hours of the morning.people shouting and screaming at each other!! Even with the window closed on the second floor it was impossible to sleep in the bedroom so since I was alone I slept in the living room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Seasoned travellers, the Muirs

most disappointing, isn't accurately portrayed on

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staging of B & B Gabriel on the website does not agree with what they in fact offer. There was basically no food in the kitchen, just a few dry crackers, half a bowl of corn flakes, no table and chairs to sit down, a few chipped dishes. They had a few stools in the middle of the room. When I showed the website description to the woman looking after us she told us we didn't pay enough. We paid what the list price was when we reserved a room with a private bath in January. It does not state that there are five flights of stairs without a lift available to the rooms. We could not get hot water in the bathroom sink, used the hand held shower wand to run water into the sink. We did not use the shower because it did not have a proper catch basin, we were afraid of flooding the room. We had an inside bedroom, so we were concerned about it being a fire hazard because there was no obvious escape route possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lorna K

Great experience and convenient location

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thought BB Gabriel was great - just what we wanted. We stayed in an apartment Carrer Ample so very close to las ramblas and the port. The street looked a bit scruffy on the outside but that is typical of some barrio gothic areas and inside the building was very nice grand. Each of the rooms in the apartment had locks and some had en suite bathrooms. so you share the kitchen and possibly a bathroom with others who you might not know - but that was fine. There was breakfast food & tea/coffee/milk all provided in the kitchen and you could cook in it if you liked. We were lucky that our room had a very high ceiling and a balcony to look out on the street. Free wifi and also a tv in the room. Would definitely go back there again.