Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

With the money

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Close to all the sites the private tourist wants and 24 hour breakfast is a winner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location - exactly as described

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Bigger coffee maker in breakfast room would be good.
Location: Walking distance to Picasso gallery, cathedral, Palau Guell, La Boqueria. Easy to get to Sagrada Familia and MirĂ³ too.
Chic and basic. Rooms are small but immaculately clean; comfy bed, good quality towels, shower is a treat. Might be a tight squeeze for two, but medium room very nice for one. Staff are friendly, warm and helpful. It's close to many sights, neighbourhood is safe and little square outside is a hive of activity at night. A great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a unique hotel with great staff

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: location, cleanliness,satff&service, wifi, homey atmosphere...
Cons: maybe if they'll put a shelf for clothes...
Location: next to the rambla. on the universtat, there's a metro station there. in walking distance to the salsa clubs atilla and mojito club. shoping stores.
we've been in Chic&Basic Tallers in sep 2014 and we have only great things to say about it. first, the location is awesome. the hotel is located on the universtat so the bus from the airport dropped us very close the hostel. the hostel is near the rambla. it's really close to many of the shops so it's great for shoping. the metro is right next to the hotel too so u can travel anywhere u want easily. we got a really small room... so if u are a big guy u need to book the biggest room they have and it will be ok. it's really quiet in the room, although it's close to the centre. there's a good wi-fi there and a good air-condition. it's seems that the place was renovated recently, u can smell a bit the new paint, but it's ok. the best thing of the hostel is the service. nikos and luiz are very lovely and helped us whenever we needed something. there's a dining room that u can use for breakfast any time of the day u want. it's really homey, there's a great coffee machine, and small things that makes the difference. next to the dining room there's a computer u can use anytime of the day. it's not a hotel, it's a hostel... but it delivers anything u need (if u're not fussy too much). in general it had a great value for the money we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mielly from Sheffield

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very pleasantly surprised by Chic and Basic, it was great, friendly and all I needed for my stay whilst at a conference nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steven from Atlanta USA

An Excellent Hotel

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is within a very short walk of the Universitat metro station. There are a great number of shops, restaurants, cafes, etc all in a very close area. The hotel is only about a 5 minute walk from Plaza Catalunya, so you are not far at all from Las Ramblas and the major tourist sites. I liked this area because it was just a little off the beaten path, away from the major hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas - however, you are not far at all from that area so you can see and experience everything. The hotel itself is very nice. It is in a building that appears to hold other apartments as the hotel takes up 2 floors of the 5 floor building. The room was comfortable and had nice lighting, a good AC unit, and a nice private bathroom. My only complaint is that all the doors in the hotel are very loud, between doors in the rooms, doors to the floors, and shower doors, it seemed like everything slammed and at times was quite noisy. At the same time, it is an older building and sometimes sound carries in places like that. In general, this is an excellent hotel in an excellent area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John Lovett from Kent England

Close to La Rambla

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Barcelona was very enjoyable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sandra from Los angeles

GOOD STUFF!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: location, price, room.
Cons: breakfast, no vegan options, no soy milk...
Location: everythinG!
Great location (the best i would say), small but cozy room. I will come back with my couple, 101% recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2013
It was great! The staff was super helpful and guided us on cool things to do/how to get around Barcelona.