Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stuttgart

Innenstadt

Posted May 18, 2015
Der Aufenthalt in Barcelona war toll, das Hotel bzw. Apartment ist weder gut noch schlecht. Hatte unseren Erwartungen erfüllt. Doch die Rezeption ist sehr begrenzt besetzt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kassem

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sundsvalls kvinnornafrom Bra läge

Bra läge och Bra service

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mycket bra service, bra läge på hotellet. Kanske lite svårt att hitta, ingen bra skylt utanför. Rummet var bra, duschen lite liten och det rann ut vatten på golvet. Men jag rekommenderar det gärna till andra, vi skulle kunna bo där igen. Toppen bra med terassen.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Ana, Hotel Management
Bäste kund, Vi uppskattar din realitetåterkoppling, när du säger att du är i en helt central plats, intill den berömda Ramblas. Tack värden den service som vi erbjöd, försöker vi alltid att erbjuda det bästa till våra kunder. Vi noterar om din uppskattning av duschen, trots att de har en standardstorlek för 1 person. Vi hoppas att vi ses snart igen! Tack så mycket!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Robertfrom Sweden

Sofa is not a bed

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked a stay for 4 people , got 1 bed and a sofa that you Can fould out. Not what we expected
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Ana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, You got the excatly apartment you booked, one bedroom apartament for 4 people, with a double sofa bed in the living room. You needed to open and extend the sofa bed, that is the way to make it a sofa bed. We are sorry if you had some problem, you could had called us, we have a 24 hours service, we could had gone to help you. Thank you very much for your time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

v had a bad time even figuring out where the main

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Cons: should provide more information of the hotel and area and facilities .
that Barcelona hotel turned out to b really shady, in a dodgy red light area costing EUR 160 per day. Really bad, am surprised there weren't any clear warnings abt it to this effect on the expedia system. No lobby, no breakfast, it was an apartment with v poor qlty fittings. & people screaming on the road below till 5 am ..... No response from them to my email below. So, on reaching there at 830pm, v had a bad time even figuring out where the main entrance was, how to get in, where the room keys were, reaching the room...etc etc.... Speaking to the person on the mobile to get these details, could not understand him properly ... the list is endless... V Must hv some way to detect such crappy hotels without needing hours of research on expedia site or the internet or staying in them...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by Ana, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are sorry to know that your experience with us was not positive, but we want to clarify some things. We are not a hotel, we have 45 apartaments located in the best areas of Barcelona. You have a full equipped kitchen, that is why we don´t provide breakfast, and you can see it at the information, we are apartments. Before coming you should had read all then information we provide, where you get every detail. For arrivals after office hours we left the keys in a safebox in the same building, and we provide a code. We are sorry if you didnd´t read all that information. We have people on the phone 24 hours a day, he spkeaks englisg, french, arabish, and spanish, so I can not understand why you didn´t understand him. About the noise, we are sorry if you consider the strett is too noisy, but obviusly as in any other city, if you decide to stay in the main center, that can happen. If you decide to comeback I would be pleased to welcome you and to make sure that you get everything you need. Thank you very much for your time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Bon

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Très correct
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mehdi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GEGEfrom France.

Vraiment rien de spécial.

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mauvais souvenir, rue où il est impossible de stationner même le temps de descendre les bagages, la police est immédiatement là et refuse toute discussion, coût 45 Euros sinon voiture en fourrière. Quartier des prostituées, bruit toute la nuit. Personnel ne parlant pas un mot de français, Equipement de la chambre pour 3 personnes , 2 lis individuels et 1 canapé lit, télé minuscule ( taille d'un écran d'ordinateur) pas de chaînes étrangères, tout le matériel prévu n'existe pas.....Adresse à oublier.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Ana, Hotel Management
Bonjour, Désolé d'entendre que votre expérience ne était pas positif. Ce est une rue où 50 mètres a une aprking où vous pourrez laisser votre voiture et vous pack de téléchargement. Les policiers sont strictes avec le trafic lui-même, mais Citytrip ne peuvent rien faire contre cela. En réception parle espagnol, anglais, néerlandais et français, peut-être quand le vin ne était pas la personne qui parle français, mais se il vous plaît ne oubliez pas que la langue européenne officielle est l'anglais. Vous avez réservé une chambre 1 avec 2 lits simples et un canapé-lit dans le salon, et ce est ce que nous avons offert. Se il vous plaît lire attentivement ces informations avant de prendre une réservation. nous aimerions vous revoir bientôt demsotrarle votre expérience avec nous pouvons être totalement positif. Merci beaucoup pour votre temps
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nirfrom israel

family vacation with kids

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
+ I must say that we were suprise , The service was cooperating ,we didnt had t.v for 2 day but been fix , the apartment was nice . it fit to family with 2 kids until age 12/13 (sleep in the living room in an open sofa). full furnished, very comfortable. the girls in the desk are Awesome and helping as much as they can.5 mint walk from la ramble street .Strongly recommend - need to change the matress in the bedroom, need Kettle for tea/coffee, shower is very narrow but doable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Ana, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are very happy to know that your experience with us was so positive, it is really important for us, thank you. We always try to help and give the best service to our guest. The apartments are fully equipped, ready for spend nice days with all the facilities you could need, and really close to la ramblas, in the main center. We will take note about your comment about the matress and the showe. We have added new coffe machines, so we hope you enjoy it next time you stay with us, we would be pleased to welcome you again. Thank you very much!