Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by khurshid

lovely hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
We booked a room for myself ,husband n 5y old daughter via expedia On arrival we were told tht we had to pay 80 euro /night for child's bed.i was not very happy about that as booking was for two adults n a child.I called expedia n hotel didnt charge.but this was mistake which could hve been avoided.expedia needs to make it clearer for customers if thy are travelling wth children.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel pictures are deceiving.......

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Close to Rambla....Port Vell.... has not much to offer on shopping and eating
I have requested before for a higher floor room. $175.00 i paid for the room and i got a room facing the wall of another building. I have to go down at reception to have them change my room with an ocean view just as what Expedia have shown. At first they were hesitant and said i even got an upgraded room....really....i have to emphasize the price i paid for the room, only then they agreed to give us another room. This is no were close to a 5 star hotel, it is a 4. Will not stay in this Hotel again for that price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou from UK

Very clean, good location, spacious room.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
We were very pleased with our choice and happy with the room. The only negatives were that on the Sunday night when we had to be up very early in the morning for the airport we had to listen to a very loud disco on a docked cruise ship which didn't leave until 11.30pm. Also we are both non smokers and had to endure cigarette smoke being pumped into our room constantly which could only have been coming in through a vent, it was horrible. However the room was spotless clean, good facilities and close to everything in Barcelona. I recommend to anyone staying that you request a room around the front as its a better view and a lot less noise from cruise ships. We also had some very good cocktails in the bar late afternoon where they provide a very pleasant area to sit out in the sun. Nothing was ever too much for the staff to the point where they went overboard on the odd occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heather from Scotland

Excellent location, 10 mins walk to la Rambla.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Location, view, balcony
Cons: provide ice machines.
Location: Very close to La Rambla, Don't take the cable car ride to the mountain as expensive and not worth it. Take a taxi!
Fantastic Hotel and Staff! We didn't like the room we were allocated as it had twin beds and a view of the Trade Centre Offices, we asked to be moved and the next day we were moved to a lovely room with double bed and balcony overlooking the city, we loved it! Very comfortable clean room. No bad points except the shower temperature went scalding hot at times and we were charge 5 euro for ice!, Please get ice machines, most 5 ***** hotels have them! Would highly recommend this Hotel.
2 out of 5
by HEATHER from kent, UK

disappointing for 5 star rating

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: nice bathroom
Cons: better quality toiletries, more pillows, choice of beds
Location: it was close to las rambles and close to the subway
requested a twin room but was given a double, the web site states you have a choice of twin or double but at booking in I was told that it was subject to availability and if I had checked in a few hours earlier then a twin room would have been available. To be fair after complaining the manager agreed to change the room the following day and upgrade the room but it was very noisy from boats and cruise ships. The room had a lovely area for making coffee but nowhere to plug in the kettle, you had to plug the kettle in the bathroom or under the bedside table which was very awkward. Worst hotel I've stayed in over the last few years
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by othman from Riyadh

BestLocation

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Best thing that you dont need taxi or a car to reach the best places in barcelana ( la rambla , barcelona de gracia , maremagnum, beach ) plenty of restaurents or shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Wales

Fantastic hotel close to the heart of the city.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
The hotel was a short walk from the metro station which was perfect for our connection with the airport. On arrival we were blown away with the hotel. It was very impressive right on the harbour. The place was spotless. Staff were always very friendly greeting us each time we left and returned. Our room was fabulous with perfect views. We had a slight problem with water dripping from a light fitting in the ceiling but staff moved us to another room straight away - plus this one had a balcony which was a bonus. Rooms were kept clean everyday with clean towels etc. views from the roof were amazing. Unfortunately the pool was closed as it was off season but to be honest it was a little chilly in march anyway! Hotel was in perfect location for everything. The shopping mall 'mare magnum' was a short walk down the harbour with restaurants and nice shops with the aquarium next door. The ramblas was also just down the road, the end of it marked by the statue of Christopher Columbus. The popular bus tours run from directly outside the hotel which take you round the sites of the city. As I mentioned the metro wasn't far and was very easy to use, as with most cities. We managed to find a lidl store 20 Minute walk from the hotel which was great to make a cheap lunch for our day trips. Over all perfect hotel for our first time in Barcelona!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from NI

Wonderfully Located!

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The location, the quality of the room, the care the staff working their took in making our stay a pleasure. An excellent breakfast array and good gym!
Cons: The quality and range of food in the restaurant. Food portions were stingy and over-priced.
Location: Easy walk to La Rambla, right next to buses for those who want to range further. Port Vell minutes away with lots of food and shopping options.
There are a lot things going for this hotel, but foremost among them would be the location. Not only did we have a terrific view over the harbour, but we were just minutes away from some of the most wonderful parts of Barcelona. We were able to enjoy the shopping complex and restaurants of Port Vell (try Martina's - wonderful tapas), in easy walking distance of La Rambla and even close enough to Montjuic hill to walk up and enjoy the sights of Barcelona from its castle. The hotel itself is beautifully apportioned (walking through the corridors, feels appropriately enough like walking to a cabin on a ship) with wonderful staff who are genuinely interested in making your stay a pleasure. Breakfast had a vast and high quality array and there was an excellent gym as well. The only slight negative for us was the quality of food in the restaurant, unfortunately not worth what we were asked to pay. Even there however the service partly made up for it. We thoroughly enjoyed it and hope that others do as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location near to the bottom of the la rambla.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Arrived at the hotel and greeted by very friendly reception staff who could not have been more helpful. They even escorted us to our room. Beautiful large room with view of the sea. Massive bathroom with grear bath/shower. Didnt eat at the hotel but had a drink in the bar which was lovely. Hotel is walking distance from la rambla, el ravel, gothic quarter, barceloneta and el born. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by D from Canadian abroad

Not great for kids

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Nice city view.
Cons: There was a musty smell throughout the hotel, particularly in our floor.
Location: Rent electric bikes and scooters nearby. Great way to see the city.
Pool closed. The location is a bit out of the way if you have kids trailing. There is a public transit bus a short walk and there also is access to the double decker tour buses, however if you are walking it is a bit of an extra walk to the main road. Just be prepared.